Home » Mobile » Mobile Phone » Nokia E52 » Nokia E52

Nokia E52 - Nokia E52

Niall Magennis

By Niall Magennis


  • Recommended by TR
Nokia E52


Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

The EU wants all smartphones in the future to standardise on micro-USB ports for charging to avoid millions of phone chargers going to landfill every year. The E52 obliges as the micro-USB port handles both syncing and charging duties.

Most of the E series handsets have been very impressive performers when it comes to battery life and thankfully the E52 doesn't change this trend. Nokia quotes a talk-time of eight hours and standby time of up to 23 days, which seemed pretty conservative in comparison to what it achieved during our test period. We used a range of features such as the GPS, Wi-Fi and HSPDA downloads over a few days and found that it managed to keep running for three days before it needed a recharge. With most smartphones you're luckily if you get a day or a day and a half from their batteries, so the E52's performance in this regard is highly impressive.

What's more, the phone's call quality is also first rate, but then with Nokia phones you kind of expect that. However, the E52 actually includes noise-cancelling technology that tries to cut down on background noise picked up by the mic while you're on a call. It works really well, although obviously there's the odd squelchiness that can be heard every now and again when there's a real racket going on around you and the noise-cancelling is working over time.


The E52 doesn't exactly break new ground. It's got a pretty standard candy bar layout and uses a normal mobile phone keypad for text entry, but perhaps that's the point. This is a smartphone for those people who don't really want a smartphone, but need some of the extra features they provide like good email support and the ability to view and edit work documents on the go. The fact that it does this while still offering great battery life and brilliant call quality is just a bonus.

Scores In Detail


Our Score


User Score

Previous page
Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut


October 28, 2009, 6:57 am

Is the gold version actually available anywhere yet?


October 28, 2009, 12:29 pm

AFAIK nope. There is a black version in Europe which I suggest getting as the letters printed on the keypad are clearer.

Anyway great phone this. I have a E55, which is basically the same phone with different keypad. Brilliant device, and likely to be the best candybar device I have used this year.


October 28, 2009, 1:46 pm

Yeah, I love the compactness of it. In a sort of "awwww, look at the cute widdle Nokia wid da big processaaaaar". Wouldn't make a sensible upgrade for me as I think I'm too used to the E71's Qwerty KB, but I'd get it a flash if I had the spare cash.


October 28, 2009, 3:38 pm

As the owner of this handsets predecessor the E51 i was particularly interested in this. However after looking at the images above the ergonomics seems to have regressed rather than to have improved. The navigational keys share the same sharp edges that leave the tips of your thumbs sore after even moderate use and are now encircled by a set of soft and call keys that are visibly harder to hit than the excellent set on the earlier model. It may seem trivial but these keys are used the most often so have to be the most comfortable and yet seem the least.


October 28, 2009, 4:22 pm

I too owned a E51 for more than a year and I have no problems with sharp edges or sore thumbs, so I am not too sure if this is just an isolated issue for you. The E52/E55's new layout does take some getting used to, but it is well worth the relearning process IMO. The phone is just quick. The only downside is the E52/E55 does not feel as robust as the E51, which is probably bomb proof.

Ajay Bhadresa

October 28, 2009, 5:08 pm

I recently purchased this phone and was at first really impressed with it. The battery life and the form factor of this phone are excellent. However, after using it for a week or so it became obvious that the call quality was quite poor. I struggled to make out what people were saying even in quiet locations and thus had to send it back and revert back to my trusty Nokia N95 which is a shame...


October 30, 2009, 2:35 am

Maybe we have received a faulty batch of E52's here in Poland but every sample I have tried creaked when lightly squeezed and felt very flimsy. The front panel around the bottom of the keyboard is coming off and the button inside the D-pad looks like it's going to drop out of the keyboard... The front panel is supposed to be metal but it looks like a plastic covered with silver paint to me.

Compared to the E51 and some other metal Nokia phones (e.g. 6300) E52 feels like plasticky little toy... I'm very disappointed, because it was the phone I was waiting for. Now I have to wait for something else...


November 16, 2009, 4:37 pm

Funny how every single review from every review website has given the Nokia E52 thumbs up for: call quality, build quality, ergonomics, GPS, and yet look at Nokia's forums and you'll find a very, very different story. Hardware and firmware problems galore. Call quality varies and in some cases the phone is just unusable, GPS frequently crashes the phone, build quality after a short time is terrible. I returned the first E52 I recieved due to the colour scheme: white lettering on light grey background, as it was virtually unreadable except from directly in line with your eyes, any slight off angle or lighting and the writing just disappeared into the light grey. Shouldn't reviewers at LEAST check what the forums are reporting about any new phone. Many, many people have major problems with the Nokia E52, and this review belies that fact.

graciela cuaresma

December 3, 2009, 11:19 am

i was in love at first sight with this phone!!

just to share the story behind owning this perfect phone (for me!)..i had a Nokia N90 phone before (which i also liked so much despite its bulkiness). unfortunately i had to buy a new one since my N90 accidentally dived with me in the sea (during my camiguin island fieldwork)...and thanks to that event i had to check out for a new phone the soonest.. i had a hard time in choosing a good phone that will suite my lifestyle..i originally wanted another Nseries actually, either the N82 or the N96..but a friend (who knows much about phones) told me to get an ESeries instead..so i looked at ESeries phones, which the models i first saw i didnt like at all! not because of their features but due to their handy laptop-look-alike appearance hehe it's a good thing i was able to notice one which looked (really looked) like a cellphone!! i read on it's features and i was "okay! i'll get this!"

as i came to using it already..it is so cool!! it looks so trendy..slim--so fashionable. i love the screen, texting can be a habit with its nice keypad..and calls are clear..

with E52, its like im always in front of my laptop. i can work on papers anywhere at anytime.plus i can go online and play songs while im on the go! and to top all-- its storage is so maximized! saving my pictures, documents and music in one!

to cut it short, it is perfect for my "wants" on a phone..very much suits my lifestyle :) with it, i can work and play ^_^

Kevin Murphy

May 15, 2010, 12:49 pm

I bought this model on the recommendation of the manager at Carphone Warehouse as a high performance business phone, but my E52 does not fit that description. Why does Nokia forget that the primary function of a mobile phone is to make and receive calls. My E52 is undoubtedly the worst phone I have had as I can't depend on the flaky reception. Bad clarity and dropped calls are frequent. It's been back to the retailer for repair under warranty (1 month old), but Nokia can't fix it.They said they replaced a "hardware component" and upgraded the software, but now my sim card contacts can't be accessed from the phone, so they want it back again:(

My wife bought a Samsung Tocca Lite for an eight of the price of this "smart" phone, and it has no such problems. I thought it was just me, but everyone I meet with an E52 has reception complaints. Maybe there's a faulty batch, or is there something they're not telling me?? I can't continue to go outside every time I get a call, so back to my battered six year old Nokia. At least that still does what i bought it for!!!!!!!!

I have had over 25 Nokia phones since 1988, but this will be my last!!

Buyer beware!!! I suspect that many reviewers are not independent as clearly this phone has a basic design fault............. Buy one and see!!!!


July 21, 2010, 7:32 pm

Author Niall Magennis and Trusted Reviews needs to respond to this comment. I believe that this review is not independant and completely ignores the build quality and errors experienced by many purchasers of this phone. It is now more than six months since the launch of this phone, and still there are many users buying brand new E52's that fail to make calls, access contacts, or just completely die. How can this review and many other so called independant reviews stand behind good reviews of a phone like this. Answers please! I won't be trusting this website for reviews agains. Obviously no research was done into this phone, except theoretical via the specification, and either play or nokia have paid to have a good review of a substandard phone. You should be ashamed of yourselves.


July 22, 2010, 1:32 pm

@Luap: Despite great temptation, I won't sink to trading insults with you. I shall merely state that we are independent and we have nothing to be ashamed about.

This review was written six months ago, soon after the phone came out, and when all these problems were not known. We only have a relatively short period of time to assess a phone (a week or two) so every now and then we do miss long term problems like this. Most of the time this isn't a problem but now and again things do slip through the net. Besides which, there are clearly other customers that are quite happy with this phone so the issue isn't perhaps as severe as you make out.


September 14, 2010, 11:32 pm

@Ed/Niall Magennis: The first problems with the E52 appear in Nokia's forums in July 2009, as of August 2009 they are more regular, by September they are coming thick and fast. Almost all of the problems that you call "long term" have been on the Nokia forums well BEFORE you wrote this review. I stand by my analysis of your review. It is either incomplete there not a proper assessment of this phone for potential buyers, or it is biased. Either way when someone purchases a phone on the basis of your review, they have a right to be mighty angry with you for mis-representing the phone's quality.

Annaji Sekhar

December 24, 2010, 4:01 pm

This is the worst mobile I am using for the last 10 years. As a Nokia fan it is very disgusting to comment on the phone. I feel its a one of the best piece for one week and found its just opposite later. The call suddenly drop without any signal cut. The screen go wild when we using any application and we have to restart the phone again to use it. When enquired with the Nokia service centre I came to know that this phone have problems with motherboard and they changed the same...but in vein my problems still continuing. Probably I have to change this ASAP.

comments powered by Disqus