Nokia C6 video review

By

Reviewed:

Read the full Nokia C6 review

The C6 is a big improvement over previous mid-range side sliding phones from Nokia. The keyboard is very good, the software is much easier to use and aside from the screen, build quality seems decent. However, while it's made progress the phone still lags behind the competition in many ways and there are few situations where we'd recommend it outright.

More Mobile Phone Videos

Martin Daler

October 4, 2010, 8:57 pm

I thought the industry had finally settled on micro-usb for charging. Sure, the charger design is funky, I hate packing UK plugs in my bags, and this looks like a nice solution. Of course, it would take up even less room in my bags if I didn't need to pack the Nokia charger in the first place, but could rely on just the one, one-size-fits all, micro-USB charger.

Mike Rose

October 4, 2010, 9:28 pm

How annoying is that. No micro usb charger. What is the matter with the phone companies. It's time to move on.

Mattj

October 4, 2010, 10:37 pm

Very odd it doesn't charge over Micro USB, given that other Nokias can (And indeed have it as the sole Data/Power port.

JK

October 5, 2010, 12:47 am

@Edward Chester - I didn't quite understand what you were trying to say regarding the software on this Nokia C6.


In the video review you say that the phone uses "the new S3 version" of Symbian.


In the written review you say "On the software side of things, we see an improved version of Symbian", and the 'Specifications' page says the phone uses Symbian v9.3 S60 rel 5.





But a quick visit to nokia.co.uk would suggest that the C6 (with a slideout keyboard) uses Symbian v9.4 S60 5th edition. This version of Symbian was released in October 2008 (so two years ago now) and was first found on Nokia's first touchscreen phone, the 5800 Xpress Music that TR reviewed in February 2009, which you yourself made a video review for.





So I don't see how this version of Symbian could be new or improved. Maybe they've improved the UI, but the OS seems to be the same as on previous touchscreen phones from Nokia.


The truly new Symbian OS, Symbian^3, was released last week when Nokia started shipping the N8. Other models with Symbian^3 will be the upcoming E7, C7 and C6, all of which were revealed at Nokia World three weeks ago.





NOTE: The C6 model that Nokia revealed three weeks ago, is NOT the same as the one reviewed here. Check Nokia's website and you'll find two different models named C6.


Why Nokia chose to give the same name to two different models with only a few months separating them, is beyond me.

Ed

October 5, 2010, 1:40 am

@JK: Argh, forgot I'd made that mistake when shooting the video. I'll correct it during our next shoot on Wednesday.

swift11

October 5, 2010, 2:24 pm

The Nokia C6-01 is the new (recommended) Symbian^3 model ;-)

Ed

October 8, 2010, 7:09 pm

Video now fixed.

JK

October 9, 2010, 10:13 pm

@Ed - Good man.

comments powered by Disqus