Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / Nokia C3-01 Touch and Type

Nokia C3-01 Touch and Type review

Niall Magennis

By

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

7

User Score:

Pros

  • Classy design
  • Easy to use features
  • Good battery life

Cons

  • Slow Nokia web browser
  • Poor headphones
  • Resistive touchscreen

Key Features

  • 2.4inch touchscreen
  • Micro-USB port
  • Mini Nokia charging port
  • 5-megapixel camera
  • Bluetooth 2.1
  • Manufacturer: Nokia
  • Review Price: free/subscription

Nokia may be struggling to re-establish itself in the smartphone market with handsets like the N8, but the company still knows its onions when it comes to creating simple and reliable phones for the mass market, which is obviously the target for the C3 Touch and Type.

At first glance, the C3 Touch and Type, or C3-01 as it’s also known, looks very similar to the likes of the Nokia 6300 and 6700 Classic, thanks to its traditional layout, with a standard keypad at the bottom and a portrait screen at the top. Like those models, it also has a brushed metal finish with real metal used on the battery covered while the rest of the handset is plastic with a metallic paint job. Nevertheless, the phone feels remarkably solid to hold and looks quite classy for this type of phone.

The keypad is very large by Nokia standards and the buttons feel responsive and give a noticeable click when pressed, so tactile feedback is quite good. At the top of the key pad, there are two call control buttons, but unlike most Nokia’s, there’s no central menu button. There’s a good reason for this and that’s because the ‘Touch’ in the name refers to the fact that this phone uses a touchscreen – but more on that later. The left-hand side of the phone is completely free of buttons, whereas the right side houses the volume rocker switch, lock button and a dedicated camera key.

As with many of today’s mid-range Nokias, the handset has both a micro-USB port and a mini Nokia charging port. The phone can actually be charged using either, but the mini charging port charges the phone faster and so Nokia supplies this type of charger in the box. Nestled between these two ports is a standard headphone jack and Nokia supplies a pair of ear bud headphones (including an inline mic) with the phone. The rear battery cover slides off to give you access to the SIM card slot and microSD card slot. The latter accepts cards of up to 32GB in size giving you plenty of room to store photos, videos and music tracks.

At 2.4in, the touchscreen isn’t large by smartphone standards, but it’s good for a traditional candybar shaped phone. It has a resolution of 240 x 320 pixels, which means that it can display quite a lot of text on a single screen. The display uses resistive rather than capacitive touch technology, but it actually feels responsive when selecting most items in the menus, although the fact that Nokia has made all the selectable icons and options quite large helps in this regard.

When scrolling through longer lists it doesn’t work quite as well, as you have to consciously press a bit harder on the display rather than perform the light, capacitive screen grazing action. One minor annoyance is that pressing on the screen causes ripples to appear under your finger and slightly distorts the colours around that area. You get used to it, but it is a bit disconcerting at first and makes you wonder how robust the display will be over the longer term.

Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

Steve

December 8, 2010, 2:32 pm

I saw this phone a few weeks ago. It’s a pretty good lower mid-range handset although it’s a shame Nokia dropped auto-focus from the camera module.





The 6300 & 6700c had an alert light to let you know if you had a SMS/missed call, does this phone have this feature?

Stelph

December 8, 2010, 3:48 pm

Are we playing spot the dingo with this article? If so I found him, page 1, last paragraph


"When you have to scroll through longer lists it doesn’t work quite as well as you have to consciously press a bit harder on the display rather than just dingo the light graze action that you tend to do if you’re used to capacitive screens."





Id love this phone to do well, and also perhaps for Nokia to release a "mid-range" version to come out (by that I mean running Symbian v60 for more smartphone functions, bigger battery, possibly capacative screen, better camera, GPS). Im still very much sold on having a keypad for texting, but like touchscreens and I dont think im alone, so until someone finally brings out that folding LCD screen and makes a clamshell phone with an external screen and keypad for texting and a foldable LCD touchscreen inside for web browsing, this is the next best option.

Alan Edwards47c

December 8, 2010, 6:32 pm

Here's what I've found having had my C3-01 for a few weeks:





It's light and thin, and does the basic phone stuff well. Opera Mini works well.





The antennas are at the bottom of the phone, so holding it on one hand whilst using it with the other covers them up. This slaughters both the WiFi and cellular signal.





Sensitivity on the FM radio is rubbish, it only gets Radio 2 in the office and that's a bit weak.





Sound quality on headphones is OK, but over Bluetooth it's bass-light and there's some odd distortion that sounds a bit like something is starting to clip.





I got frustrated trying to use the touch screen with my finger too, so I got one of those plectrum styluses for 2 quid off eBay. Works very well.

1960sgirl

December 29, 2010, 11:09 pm

I've been looking for the right smart phone for me for many months. I wanted a phone that was small enough to fit into girl sized pockets, robust enough to stand up to being bumped around inside a briefcase or handbag, but which had access to the internet and e-mail should I need it. Looked at the i-phone, Samsungs and Blackberrys, with the Blackberry Pearl being top of my list until I saw the Nokia C3-01. Got this phone yesterday. Am totally impressed. Call quality is good. Texting is easy. Internet function/e-mail is easy to use - I set this up in no time. Admittedly I still prefer to deal with my e-mails whilst sat at a laptop so I'm not going to be a big user of the internet facilities, but it is useful to have it there. My main reason for buying this phone though was its absolutely gorgeous design. It's small, but not teeny weeny, is beautifully made and feels like a quality phone. It's small enough to slip into a pocket easily and looks robust enough to survive being bashed around inside my handbag or briefcase. The touch screen sensitivity seems perfect to me, and I'm certainly not blessed with small fingers. The radio is, as a previous commenter has noted, not good - I too can only connect to one channel.





To add to the good feeling about this phone it was free on my very modest contract, came with a £25 Debenhams store voucher and I was given a 10% line rental discount for being a good customer!





However, I'm really pleased I got this phone.

tellsam48

October 3, 2011, 2:47 pm

Thank God I got this phone as an upgrade and I didn't have to pay for it. The camera is nowhere near as good as the smaller 3.5mp camera on the 6303i, ( no auto focus ) pictures are rubbish. The touchscreen is too sensitive, when I try to scroll through lists, It keeps going into items on the list I don't want. If you want to buy this phone, my advice- don't.

neptune

August 13, 2012, 1:58 am

The worst phone that I've ever had, the touch screen mutes itself when making calls as it presses against your ear. The buttons on the touch screen dont work. Often I couldn't get access to the phone menu & when I could the menu wouldn't open. Press the left hand buttons & they open the central buttons press the central buttons & they open the right hand buttons. The left hand buttons don't work at all.Nokia wouldn't replace it but they "repaired" it by "zapping" (their word not mine) it resulting in the phone losing every factory setting so I had no ring tones, no short cuts to things like answer phone etc, everything I had saved on the phone was deleted. The phone had a mind of it's own & I would urge nobody to buy or even take a free model For me it has been a total disaster almost from day one. I am having to use a 7 year old Sony which works like a dream compared to the nokia. DO NOT BUY

Druid

January 7, 2013, 12:33 pm

I completely agree - poor camera with an obliterating flash and the equivalent of a toy touchscreen which is generally inaccurate and often just does not work. My long love affair with Nokia is coming to an end.

ben

January 19, 2013, 5:02 pm

worst phone I ever had, constantly unlocks itself in your pocket and calls people by itself and connects to the internet. This is both annoying and costs money. I would not recommend this phone to anyone.

Christine Woodruff

February 5, 2013, 10:57 am

This is the best phone that I have ever had I love the Nokia format and this phone is very user friendly...mine has broken so am about to buy another.

disqus_JreHOjaw1s

February 13, 2013, 4:27 pm

This phone has got to be the worse phone I've ever had the misfortune to own. Other older Nokia phones worked really well for me but this one is a complete disaster. The touch screen is diabolical and simply doesn't work. Presently I am having great difficulty even using the phone because of the faulty touch screen. The camera is as bad as the touch screen. Worse photos I have ever seen on a camera phone. I was offered a Nokia Lumina for an upgrade, but am declining as I am switching from Nokia to Samsung. The Galaxy S3 is my next phone on contract. I don't trust Nokia any more...especially any phone of theirs which has a touch screen because of my horrible experience with this crap phone. WARNING:- Stay as far away from this piece of hell as you possible can. When I get my new phone I plan to smash this one (Nokia C3-01) off a stone wall...about 10 times too!

pelirroja

March 8, 2013, 10:26 am

Worst Nokia phone I've ever had. Frequently hangs itself up so that I have to rewrite texts all over again, poor quality of fotos taken with its camera, touchscreen too sensitive so that items open up that shouldn't have and even worse I can hardly hear people on the phone!!! I used to be a big Nokia fan but this phone is a total failure. Can't recommend it at all. Stay away from it!

comments powered by Disqus