Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / Nokia C3-01 Touch and Type / OS, Connectivity and Multimedia

Nokia C3-01 Touch and Type - OS, Connectivity and Multimedia

Niall Magennis

By Niall Magennis

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

7

The phone runs the Series 40 operating system rather than the more advanced Series 60 version found on most of Nokia’s smarter handsets. The Series 40 interface has obviously been tweaked to make it more touch-friendly, with larger icons not only in the main menu, but also in the scrollable sub-menus. The result is a phone that’s a good deal faster to navigate around than older models without touchscreens as you no longer have to fiddle around with a d-pad to select the item you want - you just reach out and touch it.

Another area that’s greatly improved by the touchscreen is web browsing. Although Nokia’s web browser is pretty slow and cumbersome to use, you can load up the Opera Mini browser instead, which is a revelation. It’s very speedy to load pages and navigating and zooming (double tap only as there’s no multi-touch support) with the touchscreen is a joy, making this one of the best traditionally shaped handset we’ve come across for web use.

The web browsing experience is also boosted by the fact that not only does the phone have HSDPA support (at speeds of up to 10.2Mbps), but it also has Wi-Fi onboard, which is ideal for use around the home or office. Naturally, there’s also Bluetooth 2.1 onboard so you can pair it with other phones or use it with a set of Bluetooth stereo headphones. As with most Nokia’s the call quality was first rate with the earpiece and mic delivering crisp and clear audio. One of the key selling points for this style of phone over a more feature-rich smartphone is battery life and here it doesn’t disappoint. We got around three and a half days from it before it needed a recharge.

The phone uses the standard Series 40 music player, which looks a little bit dated but is easy to use. Music is sorted into the usual artist, album, genre and playlist categories so it’s very straightforward to find the tracks you want to play. You can create playlists on the go and there’s a five-band graphics equaliser to give you a bit of control over the audio output. The audio quality from the standard 3.5mm jack is good, but the supplied headphones are rather poor with their weedy bass response and scratchy mid-range frequencies. As with most Nokia handsets, there's an FM tuner that is accessed via the same Music menu as the audio player.

Unfortunately, the camera isn’t all that impressive. Although it has a 5-megapixel resolution, shots are lacking in sharpness and detail - we’ve seen quite a few 3-megapixel snappers on phones from other manufacturers that outperformed it in terms of overall picture quality. It does have a flash to help it out when it’s working indoors, but this is a simple LED one that lends an unnatural blue-ish tone to photos.

Verdict

The C3-01 Touch and Type is a good-looking handset that will appeal to those who want easy to use features and longish battery life in a traditionally styled candybar phone. However, with Android handsets starting to hit the £100 mark on Pay as you Go, it’s difficult to recommend it to more adventurous souls.

Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

Steve

December 8, 2010, 2:32 pm

I saw this phone a few weeks ago. It’s a pretty good lower mid-range handset although it’s a shame Nokia dropped auto-focus from the camera module.





The 6300 & 6700c had an alert light to let you know if you had a SMS/missed call, does this phone have this feature?

Stelph

December 8, 2010, 3:48 pm

Are we playing spot the dingo with this article? If so I found him, page 1, last paragraph


"When you have to scroll through longer lists it doesn’t work quite as well as you have to consciously press a bit harder on the display rather than just dingo the light graze action that you tend to do if you’re used to capacitive screens."





Id love this phone to do well, and also perhaps for Nokia to release a "mid-range" version to come out (by that I mean running Symbian v60 for more smartphone functions, bigger battery, possibly capacative screen, better camera, GPS). Im still very much sold on having a keypad for texting, but like touchscreens and I dont think im alone, so until someone finally brings out that folding LCD screen and makes a clamshell phone with an external screen and keypad for texting and a foldable LCD touchscreen inside for web browsing, this is the next best option.

Alan Edwards47c

December 8, 2010, 6:32 pm

Here's what I've found having had my C3-01 for a few weeks:





It's light and thin, and does the basic phone stuff well. Opera Mini works well.





The antennas are at the bottom of the phone, so holding it on one hand whilst using it with the other covers them up. This slaughters both the WiFi and cellular signal.





Sensitivity on the FM radio is rubbish, it only gets Radio 2 in the office and that's a bit weak.





Sound quality on headphones is OK, but over Bluetooth it's bass-light and there's some odd distortion that sounds a bit like something is starting to clip.





I got frustrated trying to use the touch screen with my finger too, so I got one of those plectrum styluses for 2 quid off eBay. Works very well.

1960sgirl

December 29, 2010, 11:09 pm

I've been looking for the right smart phone for me for many months. I wanted a phone that was small enough to fit into girl sized pockets, robust enough to stand up to being bumped around inside a briefcase or handbag, but which had access to the internet and e-mail should I need it. Looked at the i-phone, Samsungs and Blackberrys, with the Blackberry Pearl being top of my list until I saw the Nokia C3-01. Got this phone yesterday. Am totally impressed. Call quality is good. Texting is easy. Internet function/e-mail is easy to use - I set this up in no time. Admittedly I still prefer to deal with my e-mails whilst sat at a laptop so I'm not going to be a big user of the internet facilities, but it is useful to have it there. My main reason for buying this phone though was its absolutely gorgeous design. It's small, but not teeny weeny, is beautifully made and feels like a quality phone. It's small enough to slip into a pocket easily and looks robust enough to survive being bashed around inside my handbag or briefcase. The touch screen sensitivity seems perfect to me, and I'm certainly not blessed with small fingers. The radio is, as a previous commenter has noted, not good - I too can only connect to one channel.





To add to the good feeling about this phone it was free on my very modest contract, came with a £25 Debenhams store voucher and I was given a 10% line rental discount for being a good customer!





However, I'm really pleased I got this phone.

tellsam48

October 3, 2011, 2:47 pm

Thank God I got this phone as an upgrade and I didn't have to pay for it. The camera is nowhere near as good as the smaller 3.5mp camera on the 6303i, ( no auto focus ) pictures are rubbish. The touchscreen is too sensitive, when I try to scroll through lists, It keeps going into items on the list I don't want. If you want to buy this phone, my advice- don't.

neptune

August 13, 2012, 1:58 am

The worst phone that I've ever had, the touch screen mutes itself when making calls as it presses against your ear. The buttons on the touch screen dont work. Often I couldn't get access to the phone menu & when I could the menu wouldn't open. Press the left hand buttons & they open the central buttons press the central buttons & they open the right hand buttons. The left hand buttons don't work at all.Nokia wouldn't replace it but they "repaired" it by "zapping" (their word not mine) it resulting in the phone losing every factory setting so I had no ring tones, no short cuts to things like answer phone etc, everything I had saved on the phone was deleted. The phone had a mind of it's own & I would urge nobody to buy or even take a free model For me it has been a total disaster almost from day one. I am having to use a 7 year old Sony which works like a dream compared to the nokia. DO NOT BUY

Druid

January 7, 2013, 12:33 pm

I completely agree - poor camera with an obliterating flash and the equivalent of a toy touchscreen which is generally inaccurate and often just does not work. My long love affair with Nokia is coming to an end.

ben

January 19, 2013, 5:02 pm

worst phone I ever had, constantly unlocks itself in your pocket and calls people by itself and connects to the internet. This is both annoying and costs money. I would not recommend this phone to anyone.

Christine Woodruff

February 5, 2013, 10:57 am

This is the best phone that I have ever had I love the Nokia format and this phone is very user friendly...mine has broken so am about to buy another.

disqus_JreHOjaw1s

February 13, 2013, 4:27 pm

This phone has got to be the worse phone I've ever had the misfortune to own. Other older Nokia phones worked really well for me but this one is a complete disaster. The touch screen is diabolical and simply doesn't work. Presently I am having great difficulty even using the phone because of the faulty touch screen. The camera is as bad as the touch screen. Worse photos I have ever seen on a camera phone. I was offered a Nokia Lumina for an upgrade, but am declining as I am switching from Nokia to Samsung. The Galaxy S3 is my next phone on contract. I don't trust Nokia any more...especially any phone of theirs which has a touch screen because of my horrible experience with this crap phone. WARNING:- Stay as far away from this piece of hell as you possible can. When I get my new phone I plan to smash this one (Nokia C3-01) off a stone wall...about 10 times too!

pelirroja

March 8, 2013, 10:26 am

Worst Nokia phone I've ever had. Frequently hangs itself up so that I have to rewrite texts all over again, poor quality of fotos taken with its camera, touchscreen too sensitive so that items open up that shouldn't have and even worse I can hardly hear people on the phone!!! I used to be a big Nokia fan but this phone is a total failure. Can't recommend it at all. Stay away from it!

comments powered by Disqus