Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

Speaking of the battery, the camera has a new long life rechargeable Lithium Ion battery, which Nikon claims offer approximately 500 shots before needing recharging. I certainly found this estimate to be reliable, and managed more shots, though high flash use would reduce this figure.

A host of in-camera editing facilities are included in the D60s menu system, including in-camera Raw processing. Chosen Raw images can be adjusted via the LCD screen and navigation pad, either colour, or some special effects, Active D-Lighting and so on can be added, with the resulting image saved as a new JPEG file, leaving your original intact. This image can then be printed direct from the camera for example or quickly emailed without the need to open a PC based Raw conversion application.

The D60 is small but perfectly formed, sitting comfortably in the hand and offering a pleasant and easy user experience. The buttons are minimal, leaving little for newbies to worry about, while more advanced controls are situated in the menus. For more experienced photographers who make a lot of changes as they shoot this can be quite annoying, and my preference is for lots of buttons on the outside of the camera. However this can be intimidating to the newcomer, so it makes sense to keep the camera as simple as possible.

One area of concern though is the AF performance; the lens based AF drive is slower than dual systems and at times the auto focus hunted rather slowly before locking onto the subject. This is particularly frustrating when shooting fast moving subjects such as sports, especially when combined with continuous shooting, when the AF can easily lose the subject, resulting in fewer successful sequential images. It may be an entry-level model, but other cameras, such as the Canon EOS 400D have more AF points and faster focussing.

The interface is fun to use and play with and nice and bright, though the LCD could be bigger, 2.5" is quite small by 2008 standards, but I suppose it keeps the camera small.

Previous page
Next page


June 10, 2008, 4:50 pm

Don't understand how you could give the D60 so low marks. The camera is an advancement over the D40X which was rated a 10, and has more features. Sure it doesn't have live view but that is not perfected yet. As far as taking pictures, it's quality is up there with the best. Think you should re-evaluate your review. Featuers should at least be an 8 and Value a 9 as the price is really good now.

Solarize uk

July 6, 2008, 6:13 pm

I agree with the previous comment. This review seems very negative compared to the review for the D40x, which is now retailing for over 𧴜 more on The D60 is selling for 𧸾, which seems good to me, and unless there is evidence that the features and image quality have deteriorated compared to the D40/D40x, then surely it should also get top marks?

Sabyasachi Bose

July 18, 2008, 9:30 am

In bright lighting condition (like, in a bright cloudy day) the back LCD panel of D60 doesn't show up any info (remains black) even if the '+' button is pressed. It may be a defect of the model. Can any body suggest anything?

Layby lad

August 10, 2008, 2:24 pm

I totally agree with the marks given for this camera - and therefore disagree with the commments made about. To have no live view and no in-built image stabilisation surely must detract from the cameras funtunality within this price sector. As a first time buyer of a D-SLR, you are directed to the Nikons and Canons - to find these features lacking is quite disappointing. While these may not be important to experienced photographers, to beginners like me they are important.


August 21, 2008, 8:35 pm

Layby .. I think if you read the article above, they state that Nikon doesn't put image stabilization in their cameras. They put them in the lens. At least that's the way it reads. So the D40 doesn't have it either.

Also, honestly how can any camera (D40x) receive so many 10's. Leave some wiggle room. GG


September 9, 2008, 3:43 pm

This is about the 10th review I have read about the Nikon D60. This is the only one to give a poor rating, very puzzling. I am now in doubt about making a purchase.To be rated lower than the D40 and D40x seems to suggest that Nikon are taking a step back, surely a first for them.


September 9, 2008, 11:31 pm

I just bought the d60 with the vibration reduction lenses and my first test out of the box was to take a picture of the stamen of a flower backlit by strong sunlight - I figured this was an extreme test - I used the spot focus and spot metering - in other words, just 2 extra steps beyond a point and shoot, and the result was fantastic - really nice depth of field, sharp auto focus in low light (the flower was in shadow), exposure was nearly perfect - the stamen itself was in sharp focus, some of the pollen particles were not - but this was with the 18-55 mm lens and no tripod. Those of us who are graduating up from a film - based SLR don't mind having to look through a viewfinder. I thought I would need to spend hours learning the features of this camera to be able to take nice pictures, but I was pleasantly surprised at how intuitive everything is. If you are used to using old SLRs, this model is a dream come true.

neal roleston

October 3, 2008, 6:29 pm

I disagree with the score as well. I got mine a few days ago and I love it. I sold my new Olympus E510 as I did not like it at all, I hated the strobing flash. Photos with the D60 are fresh and clear and razor sharp. It is a breeze to use. True the lenses are more expensive but something to save for I guess. I would give this a 9 out of 10.

Cameron K. Fong

December 29, 2008, 6:22 pm

I cannot comprehend how you have come up with these scores. Give this camera to Cliff Smith for a second opinion. The D60 may not have a 3in screen or Liveview, but these features are extraneous and only detract from the most idea of a DSLR (Digital Single Lens Reflex - ie you are MEANT TO look through the lens, not at a screen). Not having an AF-Drive motor, this is an non issue as this camera is designed for beginners (ie having no legacy issues) and AF-S being slower than so called dual systems (AF-S runs independently on my D300 that has a screwdriver unit), the 'kit' af-s lenses on a D60 still zip along faster than my AF-D lenses on my D300. Not having enough AF points? Can I ask how many do you really use? Centre and Right and then there is always focus and reframe. These are only my comments to address the 'faults' that have been highlighted, this article is worth less than the webspace that it resides on, telling us that the batter is a 'new long life rechargeable Lithium Ion battery' it is the SAME EN-EL9 that is found in the Nikon D40 and D40x, also can you please explain these 'dual systems' that run faster than the lens mounted AF?

To top it off, I cannot see the reasoning for the low scores that you have given this camera. Especially for Value and Image Quality.

For the record I HAVE USED THIS CAMERA and the D40x, and have found the D60 to be an improvement.

PS: For the moderator, if you disagree with this comment then feel free to ignore the anomaly in the review quality. I deplore you to let someone who actually knows a little more about the camera technology to write reviews on DSLRs in future. If you want a full list of anomalies in this review then feel free to contact me and I'll happily compile a list for you.

Mark 6

January 8, 2009, 10:19 pm

My girlfriend bought a D60 in January for 𧷚 if you include the Nikon cash back offer. I already own a Canon EOS450 so it has been interesting to make the comparisons. Initially we were disappointed with the pictures which were taken on the automatic settings. The colours seemed to lack punch and seemed flat in comparison the Canon. After altering the settings and increasing colour saturation there was a noticeable improvement although still not quite as good as the Canon. However, we have been particularly impressed with internal shots take ISO800. Here the camera outperforms the Canon with more detail and better colour reproduction. In general the camera is light and easy to use and the lens that Nikon provide is certainly better than the standard lens offered on both the Canon EOS450 and ESO1000. For a beginners camera not a bad choice particularly as it is getting cheaper. However, I will go back to my old mantra – these basic level SLR’s still don’t produce the standard of prints that I can get from my Nikon F55 (that only cost me 𧴺 new!).


January 22, 2009, 5:50 pm

FRIENDS...i have taken more than one month researching which D-SLR to buy..

NIKON D60,D40X,D40,CANON 400D,450D,1000D,SONY ALPHA 350 ...

THERE was close race between nikon d60 and d40x...but NIKON D40X is unmatched by picture quality some miles ahead of even d60.NIKON d60 picture qlty is little soft and slight grainy and moire is visible in straight lines,whereas nikon d40x pictures are flawless...even most experienced eyes cannot detect difference between D40X photos or the high end models of nikon d3,d300 or canon 50d.NIKON D40X WAS EATING INTO THE SALES OF ITS HIGH END MODELS ESP D80...WHY THE STOPPED IT MID WAY...D60 IS GOOD BUY NEVER BETTER THAN D40X..frills and features alone cannot make good is the picture quality which counts...and here NIKON D40X EXCELS.THANKS TRUSTED REVIEW for the keen eye on picture quality.YES NIKON D40X DESERVES A PERFECT 10....AND D60 7.


January 31, 2009, 4:53 pm

The 7 is too low Ravi I don't really think I can see a difference - I've used D40 D40x and now bought my own D60. It works well that's all I care about. If you're thinking of buying a D60 you will not be disappointed and the sensor cleaning system is a valuable improvement as is the VR lens you're likely to buy with a kit. Its less than 𧷤 with cashback offer, it's good and it's a bargain. This reviewer needs a bit more practice at objective writing.

Joe Dirt

February 7, 2009, 6:56 am

In my opinion, the D60 was rated way to low compared to the 40x. I had the 40x, and when the D60 came, I bought it, and gave the 40x to my wife. Its almost the same camera, and you cannot tell any diffence in the picture quality. Every other review I have seen has rated this camera better than the d40 and d40x. Sorry, but I dont think I "trust" this review.



February 7, 2009, 7:07 pm

RESPECTED Keith...we generally expect new models far better in every aspect...and for camera, the quality od image is the most important...features afterwards or are addons.

No doubt d60 got a vr lens and dust reduction but the image is less contrast and less smooth and not so pleasing as d40x.IMAGES PRODUCED BY D40X IS FLAWLESS and just a bit lesser to nikon d300...D40X is commanding premium now !!!


February 7, 2009, 7:14 pm

NIKON D60 is yet to win a award apart from diwa which d40x also won.

D40X won eisa, pop photo and many awards. FLICKR IS full of best photos from d40x.

SEE PninaN's photo taken fron nikon d40x on FLICKR.....AND decide.


February 10, 2009, 6:10 am

Hi, I really think J. Harrison has been very severe to give such a poor mark to the Nikon D 60. I've already the great D 300, as a Photography enthusiat, and am able to judge a very effective camera. Well, I can seriously maintain that the Nikon D 60 is really a pleasant and reliable camera. If I were a photograph critic, I surely give it a lovely and full 8. Sure, it has not the Live View, but how many times do people use it when taking the photos? Maybe once over 100 photos or 300 ones. You say that it has only three focus points; it's true, but I can assure you Nikon D 60 takes superb, sharp and vivid images which other cameras seldom take. And then, people have the possibility to retouch the photos without the PC (what a fun), make action films with the taken photos. And other new possibilities. Above all, the possibility to use and test the processor Exceed, already well tested with the master D 300. What else can people wish by a small, effective and amusing camera? I'm using it as a second or backup camera and, to tell the truth, I'm beginning to forget my D 300 because it looks so like the master that I do not miss it. So, I really think J. Harrison has been very severe with that mark. Believe me, if you like, Nikon D 60 is worth 8/10. Without any doubt.


March 27, 2009, 2:20 pm

Hi, I can't understand how Jamie Harrison can award the Nikon D60 7/10 here yet award it 85% on his review at here:


How can there be such a disparity. I bought the D60 as my first foray into digital SLR photography after owning a Canon 1000F film SLR for many years and then a FujiFilm 6900Z. The intuitive display, the better ergonomics and the significantly robust feel to the camera convinced me to buy the Nikon over the Canon 450D and face being unable to use the Canon lenses. However, I have no regrets. Anybody want to buy a 75-300mm Canon zoom lens?


May 27, 2009, 10:02 pm

Compared to the rivals that are around the same price as the D60, I feel it’s just not as good value for money.

I’ve got a D40 and love it, I wanted to upgrade to a D60 but after reading this and other reviews I feel it’s just not worth it.

I have search the web and found a few reviews that think the D60’s a bit of a let down and it looks like Nikon may have come to the same conclusion and released the D5000 to compensate for its less endowed sibling.

The D5000 kind of makes sense, it’s like a D90 for idiots (ill be buying this one then). But the D60 just does not gel with me.


February 8, 2011, 11:02 pm

I just bought it second hand , it is a very nice dlsr with "bridge camera"looks. the nikon D60 i bought was only 150 euro and that is a steal price , for so much fun to use model . i am very happy i found one not too heavy used and a light weight addition to my other gear

comments powered by Disqus