Medion Akoya S5610 15.4in Notebook PC - Medion Akoya S5610

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers



  • Recommended by TR
Medion Akoya S5610 15.4in Notebook PC


Our Score:


So far, excellent externals belie the Medion's humble price. But is its beauty more than skin deep? The specifications are certainly impressive. An Intel Core 2 Duo P7350 may run at 'only' 2.0GHz, but features a 1,066MHz FSB and should handle any task the average person would throw at it with ease while consuming a frugal 25W maximum. This is backed by 3GBs of DDR2 RAM, which is all the 32-bit version of Windows Vista can handle. A 320GB hard drive, meanwhile, is as much permanent storage as you're likely to find on any single-drive notebook and leaves ample space for videos, photos, music and plenty else besides.

Wireless is competently taken care of by Bluetooth and Wireless Draft-N, courtesy of Intel's 5100AGN Wi-Fi module. Another nice touch in this regard is that the keyboard has separate on/off shortcuts for both of these, with corresponding LEDs in the transparent trim at the Medion's front.

Graphics are also a cut above what you might expect. An ATI Mobility Radeon 3470 with 256MB of dedicated RAM might not make for a true gaming machine, but it still managed a very playable 27FPS in Trackmania Nations Forever on medium quality at the screen's native 1,280 x 800 resolution.

Which brings us to the Akoya S5610's display, one of the more important aspects of any notebook since it's what you spend most of your time looking at. Thankfully, we have another very good performance, though like with the keyboard there is a rather large flaw - in this case concerning very poor vertical viewing angles.

While this is preferable to poor horizontal ones, which aren't too bad, it does mean you'll have to put the display at just the right angle to enjoy its otherwise decent performance. This includes reasonable greyscale differentiation for a notebook screen, no clear signs of backlight bleed, present but barely noticeable banding and razor-sharp text. Indeed, the only distinctly mediocre aspect of this Medion was its speakers, which lacked punch, volume and body thanks to a complete lack of bass that left things sounding unbearably tinny.

Battery life is reasonable but not outstanding, with the six-cell model that comes as standard on the Akoya S5610 managing just under two and three quarter hours of multitasking, only slightly less than the HP Pavilion dv5-1011ea and even pulling ahead the HP in our DVD playback test, managing two hours and fourteen minutes. Another handy and rare feature is a beeping low battery signal, which is far more effective than a visual indicator alone - if a little annoying!

A last note of praise goes to the clean Windows install, with zero bloatware upon boot-up. In terms of competition, meanwhile, there are very few laptops available around £500 that can match the Medion Akoya S5610 for features. Certain ones like the Samsung R510 might beat it in specific departments (in this case a superior screen), but as an overall package the Medion wins hands down and offers truly astounding value for money for a fully specified Centrino 2 notebook.


With the Akoya S5610, Medion has put together a machine that's difficult to resist for the price. Though it has its flaws, if you can look past these you'll get a laptop loaded with features, including some rare but incredibly useful surprises, such as a full number pad, that make it ideal for students, families and anyone who appreciates great value. In times like these, that'll be everyone.


October 30, 2008, 4:40 am

Please review the Akoya P6612.

The best spec notebook for the money at the moment at 𧻻.99.


October 30, 2008, 11:47 pm

I don't think you've done the medion justice! Why the low scores on design when its only real flaw is a bad Fn key. I think this shouldve been a 9/10 overall based on the words in the review. Its got my attention though I was thinking about the Samsung Q310 but his looks much better.

Martin Daler

October 31, 2008, 1:54 am

further to darkspark88's comment, I would welcome reviews on Aldi's Medion PCs and laptops, and why not their satnavs, as often as they come. Aldi seem to do these great value tech products every now and then, they are on the shelves for a week, and by the time you've found someone who has got one to see if they are as good as they seem, well - they're gone.

Andy Vandervell

October 31, 2008, 1:58 am

@DangerousQ: It's a 7/10 for design because it's solid but unremarkable. That doesn't mean it's bad, but there's nothing particularly unusual or eye-catching, it's just tidy and simple.

@Martin Daler: As regards to other Medion products, specifically those sold at Aldi, what you mention is precisely why we can't review many of those products, including the one mentioned in comments above - most of those offers are just that and never last long enough to be reviewed at those super attractive prices.

Martin Daler

October 31, 2008, 2:14 am

Andy - I take your point that it's not easy to review Aldi's stuff, but hey, if it was easy what would we all need TR for? But I suppose if it's too difficult we could just go to places like this:

OK, just goading you a little, their review isn't a patch on yours, in fact there is almost nothing in their review to even suggest they did any more than turn the spec list into prose.

Andy Vandervell

October 31, 2008, 2:30 am

Well, I asked this morning and they said no - can't do much more than that.


October 31, 2008, 5:39 pm

@ Martin Daler and Andy: Tried the Totteham Aldi store on Friday morning, hoping they would have some left, but apparently the store was only allocated 5 and they were gone in the first 5 minutes of the store opening. (Akoya P6612)


November 30, 2008, 2:27 pm

Thanks Ardjuna for the reiew. I actually got to see in this review some close up photos of the laptop which medionshop have not even bothered to provide. It looks really good for the money. The problem is, after reading the review of the Samsung NC10 (The moment I saw the photos of the netbook months ago, I knew that it was going to b a quality above the rest)I am now seriously confused, whether I should go for a notebook (the Medion S5610) or take the jump, (or pluge depending how you look at it) and go for the NC10. Any further advice will be highly appreciated.


January 22, 2009, 7:41 am

Although I've just ordered the Samsung R560, I came extremely close to choosing the Medion instead. The one thing that really made the decision for me was that the Medion seemed to be better value... until I found that it's now 㿞 more expensive than when reviewed, presumably due to the currency fluctuations that are being blamed for the recent price hikes throughout the market? In any case, the Samsung has meanwhile got slightly cheaper since review, so the price difference between the models is now down to 䀆.

Having said that, it was still a very hard decision, since there are areas where the Medion seems better... I'd have preferred the less shiny finish of the Medion's casing and the same applies to the monitor, plus it has a larger hard drive. A shame the two machines couldn't have been somehow spliced together making the ideal 𧼐 laptop :)


February 9, 2009, 3:40 pm

Had my eyes on this one since it came out. As it was such good value at 𧺫 imagine my surprise when i wandered into my local Sainsbury's to enquire about it and found it had been reduced to 𧷣!!! Needless to say, i snapped it up and even then with the VAT changes the final price was 𧷜. An absolute steal and a great laptop.


February 12, 2009, 5:42 pm

@ TechPastor: Sorry for the late reply. If you haven't already made the decision, they're really quite different machines for different purposes. If you want a something that will do everything a desktop can (with the exception of playing high-end games), the Medion Notebook's the one to go for. It will run Vista and other memory or CPU-hungry software without problems,has a DVD-rewriter, offers a bigger, higher resolution screen, etc.

The NC10 is a netbook, which for most people we'd only recommend as a secondary portable PC. If all you want it for is typing, surfing the net, sending emails and games like Peggle or Solitaire, it'll do just fine. But it won't cope with high-definition video (not even 720p), doesn't have an optical drive, digital monitor output, etc.

@jeffgrist: Thanks for that useful tip! At that price, I'd say you'd have to be mad NOT to buy one! In fact - {rushes off to Sainsbury's}


February 13, 2009, 11:04 pm

after reading this excellent article, i took jeffgrist's advice and phoned and ordered one from Sainsbury's Kiln Lane at 𧷣.99 (less the VAT change)which was reserved for me with my name on it AND CONFIRMED AT THAT PRICE..went in yesterday and PHIL WILMOTT refused to honour the price as it had now gone up to 𧼏.99, despite being 'discontinued stock'.''try something new today''well i tried to obtain a little customer service, but sadly failed..i hope your one is working well!

Luke 2

October 11, 2009, 6:19 pm

seems like a good computer and has it where it counts, but theres no getting past the terribly generic looks, despite a few defining features.


January 20, 2010, 4:45 pm

This has turned out to be the noisiest laptop I have ever had. Believe me, you can't use the inbuilt microphone to chat because the noise from cooling fan is so loud. It whistles and hums like a grinder. The problem was there right from the beginning. I thought I could cope with it, but it has got worse and worse. I finally decided to report it. My laptop is just 4 weeks out of the 1 yr warranty period and Medion are demanding £100 + VAT to fix the problem.

William Smith

February 17, 2010, 11:27 pm

Surely that's your fault then if you noticed the problem from the beginning but left it until outside the warranty period to do anything about it?! We've got one and its been fine, runs quickly and quietly and still very well speccd


April 19, 2010, 2:10 am

Sadly there are far too many in my position. I googled the other day and found out that the highest number of complaints about Medion laptops is the noise. Kind of reassuring to know that I am not the only one. I should have known it though. The reason ultra slim laptops from the likes of HP and Sony cost so much is because they have to use a sophisticated cooling mechanism which Medion appeared to have ignored judging by the amount of complaints online

comments powered by Disqus