Medion Akoya P36888 Multimedia Center PC with Blu-ray - Medion Akoya P36888

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers



Our Score:


So is this the system for you? As already mentioned, it's pretty darn powerful in every regard except graphics. The 2.4GHz Intel Quad Core Q6600 with 8MB cache is an especially competent performer at this price point, and 3GB of RAM is as much as the 32-bit version of Windows Vista Home Premium will ever need. In fact, this would make a pretty great gaming system, were it not for the aforementioned 9300GS. Though it handles HD video decoding with ease, keeping CPU usage under 30 per cent when playing a Blu-ray, this graphics card is rather underpowered when it comes to more demanding forms of entertainment.

To give you an indication, we ran our TrackMania Nations Forever benchmark, something we usually reserve for notebook graphics. Resolution was set to 1,920 x 1,200, since for a Blu-ray equipped PC you'll want nothing less for your monitor. At high detail, the GeForce 9300GS managed a paltry 8.26FPS. And if this is how it does with something like TMNF, just imagine Call of Duty 4, because that's about all this PC will be able to do.

So serious gamers will most likely want to upgrade the video card and possibly power supply, but for other home users the Medion Akoya P36888 will power through anything you choose to throw at it. And then there's that stunning price tag: quite frankly, getting this kind of specification for under £500 is amazing. Just buy a £5 adapter to make the DVI HDMI, a £20 sound card to give you digital audio out, and you have your fully-fledged home theatre PC right there. Everything else is already present: a small, quiet, powerful and attractive system with Blu-ray, TV-tuner and remote.

In terms of software, we get the usual Google Desktop to waste resources on, a full version of Microsoft Works 9 and a 60-day trial version of Office 2007. Nero Express takes care of multimedia including such tasks as burning photos to DVD, while PowerDVD is on hand to play back those Blu-rays.

Overall, though, and despite the limitations imposed by the small case and a few omissions like digital audio out or decent peripherals, Medion has put together a very attractive package for an excellent price.


With the Akoya P36888, Medion delivers a PC with Blu-ray drive, Quad core Intel processor and a terabyte of hard drive space wrapped up in an attractive small tower case for just under £500, making its flaws easy to forgive.


December 5, 2008, 12:57 pm

there's no doubt about it. that's the same case as my old advent t11. that also happened to be the most horrible case to work with, the same blower fan and shroud around the cpu (at the time, an old P4) meant it was a huge dust magnet.

Martin Daler

December 5, 2008, 1:01 pm

so where do I buy one?


December 5, 2008, 2:39 pm

@ilovethemonkeyhead: That's interesting, though since the case has zero fans pulling air in and not too many openings, I wonder how much more dust it collects than any other case. I'd be interested to know what you are comparing it with?

@Martin Daler: Sorry about that. Medion PCs are occasionally available from Aldi supermarkets, but this specific model can be found at Tesco.


December 5, 2008, 3:55 pm

@Ardjuna, Well I've had a Medion PC & my cousin had one too, and I'd have to agree with ilovethemonkeyhead that they do tend to collect a lot of dust, I'm comparing to say an Antec 900. I'd suggest investing in a can of Air and take the sides of every couple of months :). I assume because of the single fan it's easer for the dust to settle.

But you do get a lot for your money, and it's not the easiest case to work in like ilove said, but I did manage to get a Geforce 8800GTX in one.. :)

The other thing worth mentioning if you do upgrade your GFX card in these, you will find you will loose some of those connections as there tightly integrated.


December 5, 2008, 4:12 pm

@Keith: Lol, I used to own a Medion as well - a faithful little beast that never had any real problems, but being a P4 with 256MB of RAM is now getting somewhat long in the tooth and is only used as backup word-processor by my parents.

And yes, it was a dust magnet :D, but it actually had an air intake without dust filter, so that was inevitable.

As to losing connectors, good point. On the Akoya P36888 you could lose two SATAs depending on the card.


December 5, 2008, 4:34 pm

@As to losing connectors, good point. On the Akoya P36888 you could lose two SATAs depending on the card.

I'm not sure on the P36888, but on my old Medion it had an ATI 700 series graphics card, and they was a kind of custom patch panel that integrated into the Graphics card & M/B etc, this gave you the SVideo/Composite/Scart connections etc, unfortunately the GeForce never had the same connections, so lost the SVideo/Composite/Scart etc basically making the ports redundant.

Martin Daler

December 6, 2008, 1:05 am

the only thing I can see at Tesco that looks like this (they don't seem to use the Medion model names) costs 𧴜 more. Would that affect your value rating? (Seems to be out of stock anyway)

Martin Daler

December 6, 2008, 1:12 am

...unless you buy it with bundled 22" monitor, when the price goes down by ٟ compared to the base unit alone. Go figure. Still not actually available to buy anyway, so I suppose they could call it any price they wanted. Come to that TR could give it any rating they wanted - it doesn't exist. Sorry, I'm rambling.


December 15, 2008, 4:20 pm

@Martin Daler: It was available and in stock at the stated price when the review went live. However, you're right; Tesco doesn't seem to offer it anymore. Would anyone like to comment if they DID manage to get hold of one?

Mark 14

December 19, 2008, 2:14 am

Got one of these from my local Tesco on 11/12/08, they had 5 in stock at the time. Also was only 𧺠 as got 2.5% VAT back.

Andy Cuthbert

December 29, 2008, 2:29 pm

I bought one this weekend from Tesco Kingston in Milton Keynes and they had plenty - around 20 at least. All seems very good and having owned a Medion previously I am looking forward to years of good service. Just trying to find a decent monitor to pair up with it now. Also bought a very smart and slim Medion USB keyboard and optical mouse in Aldi for 㾺. Suggestions on Monitors would be welcome


January 20, 2009, 4:34 am

1) I am hoping to upgrade my main office PC soon. I intend to get into video editing. Would this be a good choice? (I'm assuming that with the quad core CPU and 3GB RAM it would be a beast! Is that so?)

2) Does this have onboard wifi?


September 8, 2009, 2:43 am

hey, i bought this computer a couple of days ago. brand new from a tesco that doesn't sell this model any more, £216! it is indeed a brilliant PC, a total bargain even for the RRP, but the amount i got it for it robbery xD

it doesn't have onboard wifi, or at least mine didn't seem to find networks but i chucked a belkin thing in the back and it works fine

i put it through a small sony bravia TV (which i got also from tesco as a discontinued product down from 250 to 16) and it looks really good and i picked up a logitech wireless keyboard and mouse for about a tenner at tesco (it was half price and got staff discount cus my brother works there)

really happy with my setup and it only came to about 250 total =}

Terry Collingwood

July 22, 2013, 6:46 pm

can i put a voodoo2 card on it?

comments powered by Disqus