Medion Akoya P36888 Multimedia Center PC with Blu-ray pictures

1 of 10 pictures

Medion Akoya P36888 Multimedia Center PC with Blu-ray
Medion Akoya P36888 Multimedia Center PC with Blu-ray

10 Pictures - Medion Akoya P36888 Multimedia Center PC with Blu-ray

  • Medion Akoya P36888 Multimedia Center PC with Blu-ray
  • Medion Akoya P36888 Multimedia Center PC with Blu-ray
  • Medion Akoya P36888 Multimedia Center PC with Blu-ray
  • Medion Akoya P36888 Multimedia Center PC with Blu-ray
  • Medion Akoya P36888 Multimedia Center PC with Blu-ray
  • Medion Akoya P36888 Multimedia Center PC with Blu-ray
  • Medion Akoya P36888 Multimedia Center PC with Blu-ray
  • Medion Akoya P36888 Multimedia Center PC with Blu-ray
  • Medion Akoya P36888 Multimedia Center PC with Blu-ray
  • Medion Akoya P36888 Multimedia Center PC with Blu-ray

ilovethemonkeyhead

December 5, 2008, 12:57 pm

there's no doubt about it. that's the same case as my old advent t11. that also happened to be the most horrible case to work with, the same blower fan and shroud around the cpu (at the time, an old P4) meant it was a huge dust magnet.

Martin Daler

December 5, 2008, 1:01 pm

so where do I buy one?

TechVegan

December 5, 2008, 2:39 pm

@ilovethemonkeyhead: That's interesting, though since the case has zero fans pulling air in and not too many openings, I wonder how much more dust it collects than any other case. I'd be interested to know what you are comparing it with?





@Martin Daler: Sorry about that. Medion PCs are occasionally available from Aldi supermarkets, but this specific model can be found at Tesco.

Keithe6e

December 5, 2008, 3:55 pm

@Ardjuna, Well I've had a Medion PC & my cousin had one too, and I'd have to agree with ilovethemonkeyhead that they do tend to collect a lot of dust, I'm comparing to say an Antec 900. I'd suggest investing in a can of Air and take the sides of every couple of months :). I assume because of the single fan it's easer for the dust to settle.





But you do get a lot for your money, and it's not the easiest case to work in like ilove said, but I did manage to get a Geforce 8800GTX in one.. :)





The other thing worth mentioning if you do upgrade your GFX card in these, you will find you will loose some of those connections as there tightly integrated.

TechVegan

December 5, 2008, 4:12 pm

@Keith: Lol, I used to own a Medion as well - a faithful little beast that never had any real problems, but being a P4 with 256MB of RAM is now getting somewhat long in the tooth and is only used as backup word-processor by my parents.


And yes, it was a dust magnet :D, but it actually had an air intake without dust filter, so that was inevitable.





As to losing connectors, good point. On the Akoya P36888 you could lose two SATAs depending on the card.

Keithe6e

December 5, 2008, 4:34 pm

@As to losing connectors, good point. On the Akoya P36888 you could lose two SATAs depending on the card.





I'm not sure on the P36888, but on my old Medion it had an ATI 700 series graphics card, and they was a kind of custom patch panel that integrated into the Graphics card & M/B etc, this gave you the SVideo/Composite/Scart connections etc, unfortunately the GeForce never had the same connections, so lost the SVideo/Composite/Scart etc basically making the ports redundant.

Martin Daler

December 6, 2008, 1:05 am

the only thing I can see at Tesco that looks like this (they don't seem to use the Medion model names) costs 𧴜 more. Would that affect your value rating? (Seems to be out of stock anyway)

Martin Daler

December 6, 2008, 1:12 am

...unless you buy it with bundled 22" monitor, when the price goes down by ٟ compared to the base unit alone. Go figure. Still not actually available to buy anyway, so I suppose they could call it any price they wanted. Come to that TR could give it any rating they wanted - it doesn't exist. Sorry, I'm rambling.

TechVegan

December 15, 2008, 4:20 pm

@Martin Daler: It was available and in stock at the stated price when the review went live. However, you're right; Tesco doesn't seem to offer it anymore. Would anyone like to comment if they DID manage to get hold of one?

Mark 14

December 19, 2008, 2:14 am

Got one of these from my local Tesco on 11/12/08, they had 5 in stock at the time. Also was only 𧺠 as got 2.5% VAT back.

Andy Cuthbert

December 29, 2008, 2:29 pm

I bought one this weekend from Tesco Kingston in Milton Keynes and they had plenty - around 20 at least. All seems very good and having owned a Medion previously I am looking forward to years of good service. Just trying to find a decent monitor to pair up with it now. Also bought a very smart and slim Medion USB keyboard and optical mouse in Aldi for 㾺. Suggestions on Monitors would be welcome

McPlopp

January 20, 2009, 4:34 am

1) I am hoping to upgrade my main office PC soon. I intend to get into video editing. Would this be a good choice? (I'm assuming that with the quad core CPU and 3GB RAM it would be a beast! Is that so?)





2) Does this have onboard wifi?

Skeej

September 8, 2009, 2:43 am

hey, i bought this computer a couple of days ago. brand new from a tesco that doesn't sell this model any more, £216! it is indeed a brilliant PC, a total bargain even for the RRP, but the amount i got it for it robbery xD





it doesn't have onboard wifi, or at least mine didn't seem to find networks but i chucked a belkin thing in the back and it works fine





i put it through a small sony bravia TV (which i got also from tesco as a discontinued product down from 250 to 16) and it looks really good and i picked up a logitech wireless keyboard and mouse for about a tenner at tesco (it was half price and got staff discount cus my brother works there)





really happy with my setup and it only came to about 250 total =}

Terry Collingwood

July 22, 2013, 6:46 pm

can i put a voodoo2 card on it?

comments powered by Disqus