Logitech G500 Laser Gaming Mouse pictures

1 of

Logitech G500 Laser Gaming Mouse
  • Logitech G500 Laser Gaming Mouse
  • Logitech G500 Laser Gaming Mouse
  • Logitech G500 Laser Gaming Mouse
  • Logitech G500 Laser Gaming Mouse
  • Logitech G500 Laser Gaming Mouse
  • Logitech G500 Laser Gaming Mouse
  • Logitech G500 Laser Gaming Mouse
  • Logitech G500 Laser Gaming Mouse
  • Logitech G500 Laser Gaming Mouse
  • G500 Mouse - Laser Wired (USB - Scroll Wheel - 10 x Button)

stranded

April 20, 2010, 8:18 am

Not a good mouse as almost all Logitech mice. Shape and handling is below average and buttons have not good feeling. Better though than G9 which is one of the worst mice.


Gaming companies need to upgrade their seriousness status immediately. So much crap coming out constantly...

Retset

April 20, 2010, 1:17 pm

I have an MX518 to game at home and to pair with my gaming laptop I have .... another MX518! I find them great VFM gaming mice. They are very comfortable and accurate and I don't have to worry how many grams to stuff inside them. Looking at this new mouse, I think the side buttons on mine are much less muddled. I never bother with set point: Mine does 400, 800 & 1600dpi (IIRC) without software. Couple this with in game adjustments and it is more than enough.

TechVegan

April 20, 2010, 1:35 pm

@stranded:


Ermm, obviously most of us here at TR would disagree with you. Quite a few of us have been using Logitech rodents for our gaming for years.





In fact, I've only ever met one gamer who didn't like the MX500/G5/7/500 shape, as Retset is yet another testament to. Have you actually tried the G500? And if so what would you classify as a good mouse shape? Also out of interest, are you a palm or claw gamer?





I can see you might not like the G9's shape, but the buttons on both the G500 and G9 are responsive and offer a positive click; I fail to see what is bad about this?





@Retset:


Ah, the good old MX518! A timeless classic (hence why we gave it 9/10 http://www.trustedreviews.com/....





Though as I mention in my review the three side buttons do lead to the occasional rare mistake, I'd rather have the third button - albeit ideally implemented slightly differently. Best of all, if it bothers you you can always set it to do nothing, essentially 'turning it off' :)





As to DPI, I must admit higher maximum settings than 1,600 do help me personally to perform better in games, but for most titles it's certainly adequate.

Runadumb

April 20, 2010, 1:56 pm

Right im really in the market for a new Keyboard and mouse. I tolerate my mx3200 and nothing more. I think I will buy the Sidewinder X4 as I can live with a wired keyboard but the mouse really must be wireless. What would be, in your humble/expert opinion, the best wireless gaming mouse? I wouldn't want to go over £60 though. Cheers

Malderon

April 20, 2010, 2:08 pm

I have had many logitech gaming mice and have always actually found durability a problem. My MX500 and its MX518 replacement both developed faults in a shorter time than I would expect their lifespan to be, as did the MX700 that was part of my Wireless Desktop MX. I never made the move to the G5 partly because the weights thing always looked a little baffling to me, because I dont really know how heavy/light I would want it. It would constantly be in the back of my mind that I should change the weight to achieve perfection!





My current two mice are the Razer Deathadder, and the mouse I am most delighted with the Sidewinder X8 - which I think is worth a look for anyone looking for a quality gaming mouse. The Wired/Wireless system is awesome, build quality is top notch and button placement is ideal for me.

TechVegan

April 20, 2010, 2:54 pm

@Runadumb:


In our humble opinion, the X8 would fit your bill perfectly, and its price has now gone down to £50! (http://www.trustedreviews.com/.... Malderon seems to agree :)





@Malderon:


Ouch, sorry to hear that. Must admit the only issue I've had with Logitech mice is the finish on the grips of my G9 wearing away after less than a year (but I just applied my own finish, which I prefer anyway).

Caleb9ce

April 20, 2010, 3:57 pm

Recently got this mouse and initially hated it. Coming from G5 which is very similar in shape, this was a bit unexpected. My accuracy in Quake Live (which is my benchmark) took a nose dive in the beginning. I realised that this was due to it being super responsive. Gave it some time and soon I got accustomed to the new feel and my accuracy actually increased (although not dramatically).





The only other thing I can think of is that with the G5 you could increase the sensitivity in values of 50 where as with G500 the value is 100.





I agree with the review and recommend this mouse to any hardcore gamer or pc enthusiast!





PS: Maximum DPI values imo are overrated like megapixels. I play most twitch shooters at a 700 DPI. Most pro gamers use even less (around 20 cm to complete a full 360 turn).

Caleb9ce

April 20, 2010, 4:01 pm

@ Runadumb





Your best bet is Razer Mamba. Its a hybrid wired/wireless gaming mouse. Its expensive at around £90 but there are not many options in that category.

Malderon

April 20, 2010, 6:21 pm

@Runadumb: The mouse I mentioned above the Microsoft X8 is perfect for you. Not only will it "go" with the X4, it is also wireless and in your price range. The best bit of all, when the charge starts to run down, you can use it as a wired mouse while it charges.





TR review here, which found it as I found it - awesome!


http://www.trustedreviews.com/...

Runadumb

April 20, 2010, 6:42 pm

Thanks for the advance guys. Buying the mx3200 was a mistake and ive lived with it for far to long. Time for a change me thinks

Chris

April 20, 2010, 9:27 pm

@Ardjuna: Same problem with the G9. I bought a couple of extra grips for it from Logitech's 'spare parts' store, at a fiver each. They took about 2 months to arrive (literally!), but at least my mouse will stay good as new for the foreseeable future.





As an MX518/G5/G9/MX Revolution/Performance MX owner, I can say that I quite like Logitech mice. My problems have been the surface on the G9 and the microswitches in the G5.

Kaiser202

April 21, 2010, 3:40 am

I have a G5 and 1 month out of warranty the wheel developed this weird thing where it moves without going over the bump. Most annoying thing ever cos in games like supcom it just moves all by itself sometimes. I have to press it down really hard repeatedly till it goes back, but it always fouls up again after a brief period of okayness.


I really do need a new mouse, maybe I'll take a look at a G500 or something similar, cos I could use the extra button on the thumb.

stranded

April 21, 2010, 8:32 am

@Ardjuna and any other


Yes, i have tried G500 and MX518 many times and for long gaming or not sessions. Never liked them.


I agree more with Malderon. Logitech mice have durability problems and Razer and Microsoft make more serious mice.


There isn't a gaming mouse in the market i really like. This is not my idea of having a good gaming or working time.

Ed

April 21, 2010, 3:25 pm

@stranded:





Out of interest, have you tried, or seen, the Steel Series Xai? By design, it's very much the serious gaming mouse you seem to be referring to. http://www.trustedreviews.com/...

stranded

April 21, 2010, 7:03 pm

@Ed


Have noticed this mouse but not tried it yet. I have tried 2 other Steel Series mice highly rated in reviews but were a disappointment. Also tried 2-3 SS super pro mouse pads and...no.


I have many doubts about the "performance" of Xai. I hope i will be able to check it someday.


.....think i wrote the story of my life.....maybe gone a bit far.....

Kaiser202

May 7, 2010, 7:19 pm

Okay, I bought this mouse because I trusted this review, and TR hasn't steered me wrong before. The limitations you mention mean nothing to me, they are actually pretty nitpicking.


However, here's the rub. This mouse is very uncomfortable to use, and the feel makes it almost like a cheap toy. the mousewheel is terrible for a gaming mouse, as it has no feedback at all and just slides under your finger, even with the clicker set on it still feels poor show compared to my old G5. The software is seperate to the old setpoint software which means I need to have 2 of them running so I can have my Logitech Wave keyboard macros on. Honestly, I don't even know if I trust that you used this mouse before you gave a verdict.

comments powered by Disqus