Home / Computing / Peripheral / Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard / Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard

Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard - Logitech G19 Gaming Keyboard

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

The G19's high-profile keys have more directional give than most, meaning they 'tilt' a bit in the direction you push them. However, they're by no means loose, and indeed feedback is quite soft. Despite this you're never in doubt as to when you've pressed a key, thanks to a positive, audible click.

Though they lack a rubberised coating, keys have a relatively soft feel to them that combines with their slightly concave surface to provide excellent grip. In general their slightly narrow top surface compared to many other keyboards (even from Logitech itself) is not a problem, with one exception: due to the large distance between keys I found it more difficult to accurately hit the shift key in the midst of FPS shootouts than on most other keyboards I've used. It's a minor niggle, though, and something you get used to over time.

Build quality of the keyboard itself is excellent, with the tiltable LCD screen attached not to a plastic hinge but a thick metal bar and protected from wear, tear and scratches by a clear plastic shield. The only cause for concern is the detachable wrist-rest. It is held on by relatively flimsy plastic clips, similar to ones which have broken on previous Logitech keyboards I've owned.

As already mentioned there are 12 fully programmable G-keys, arranged in a two-by-two grid and raised higher than the typing keys to avoid mistakes. When combined with the M1 to M3 keys, this gives you a total of 36 different keys to which you can assign keystrokes, macros, shortcuts or even your own scripts using Logitech's G-series Key Profiler. As with the G13, this is easily accomplished thanks to a visual map of the keys where you only need to click on one to assign it a function. You can also record macros on the fly using the MR (Macro Record) key.

However, after using the G13 the G-keys on the G19 come across as a bit of a disappointment, since they're not quite as easy to use or as well laid out. Of course, you do have all the standard keyboard keys, but I can't help wishing Logitech had taken a page from Razer's design manual and made all the keys programmable.

A set of custom profiles for each of your games can be assigned to a limitless number of profiles, and as with the http://www.trustedreviews.com/peripherals/review/2007/11/26/Logitech-G9-Laser-Mouse/p1G9 and G13, the G19 has its own on-board storage so you can take your settings with you to LAN-parties and the like. As with the G13, the G-keys are also very useful for work as well as play, allowing you to automate tedious key combinations and assign profiles to each program you use.

Steve Austin

April 29, 2009, 1:28 pm

Sounds excellent. But definitely not worthy of the near 𧴜 premium over the G15 currently... Hell, you could almost buy a new computer* for the price of this 'Keyboard'. Insanity.








*Admittedly not a great one ;-)

Simon

April 29, 2009, 3:01 pm

No keyboard is worth 𧵇.75

Keithe6e

April 29, 2009, 3:06 pm

A separate power adapter is a shame, I know it's not logitech's fault as the USB power is stupidly low, at the expense of cable width been a little wider, I wish USB2 had increased this, I've lost count of the number of USB devices I've got that need a separate power adapter.

TechVegan

April 29, 2009, 3:13 pm

@Steve Austin:


I agree Steve, which is why it only received a 6 for value. Keep in mind though that the G19's price is RRP and will likely be lower when it's actually available here.





*A pretty darn rubbish one ;-)

dustofnations

April 29, 2009, 6:03 pm

I must say you do seem to be exceptionally generous with your gradings (maybe hardware manufacturers would send less kit if you were 'harsh'?), but even 60% would seem like generosity (where 50% is surely "not too bad?").

AaronF

April 29, 2009, 7:08 pm

True dustofnations, but in this case in particular it is aimed at enthusiasts and all Logitech wants is high numbers for Design, Features and Performance, then people like me will buy ;-)

stranded

April 29, 2009, 8:56 pm

Is this "the most advanced gaming keyboard money can buy"? No gaming or keyboard at all i would say.

TechVegan

April 29, 2009, 9:10 pm

dustofnations:


"maybe hardware manufacturers would send less kit if you were 'harsh'?" That would be tough for them, we give products what we feel they deserve, not what manufacturers want us to give them.


As an example of a recent Logitech product that didn't do so well, take a look at their brand-new {http://www.trustedreviews.com/...}, or for a more extreme example {http://www.trustedreviews.com/...}.


It just so happens the G19 is an excellent, if expensive product, and like AaronF said, aimed at those who are willing to spend serious money on PC-gaming.

Xiphias

April 29, 2009, 11:52 pm

When you say the keys are clicky do you mean they have an actual click in the travel or just that they're decently precise? If it's the former and logitech are actually using mechanical keyswitches then that'll really raise the interest in the keyboard among some people.





Logitech do seem to be trying to create their own market as they go along, since the heavy typists and serious gamers who usually buy money no object keyboards won't be interested in this (assuming it uses the same keys as the G11/G15). It's rather a brave move for them, although perhaps not that risky given how well other bling products have been selling.

TheVoice

May 2, 2009, 5:11 pm

It's worth noting that the inclusion of the power adapter does at least mean that the USB ports on the G19 are fully powered, so they can be used with portable hard-drives and other devices that are likely to draw power (for charging etc), which makes them a bit more useful.

TechVegan

May 5, 2009, 10:42 pm

@Xiphias:


In the G19 Logitech has used membrane, which it claims is just as efficient. I would be more inclined to dismiss this statement if it weren't for the fact that the company's Illuminated Keyboard apparently uses mechanical switches, so there seems little reason not to use it in its premium keyboard if it was still so markedly superior.





@TheVoice:


Indeed, as mentioned in the review it's the single advantage of having the power adapter (aside from obviously running the screen + OS).

Janne

February 27, 2015, 7:02 am

Here is my review of this keyboard:
It is a good keyboard with at least 12 macro keyes. It has a nice small screen that you can use e.g. as a clock.
You can change the color of the buttons.
I myself have found a couple issues:
1. It sometimes doesn't work no matter how long I try to restart my computer. Then I am just lucky if it starts working. Sometimes I need to look for a solution from internet. (NOTE: This is extremely rare to happen).
2. The USB ports in the keyboard are a bit too tight. It is hard to get the USB stick or wire out of there.

Overall this is a great keyboard and I totaly recommend it to everyone!

9/10

Daniel O. Danielsen

December 7, 2015, 10:54 am

I can't believe it's been nearly 7 years since I replaced my G15 with this one. It's easily the best keyboard I've ever had, it's rarely giving me any problems (and then it's Logitech Gaming Software at fault), and it's still as solid as when I bought it. 10/10, would buy again.

comments powered by Disqus