Home / Computing / Peripheral / Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave Pro / Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave Pro

Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave Pro - Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave Pro

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers



  • Recommended by TR
Logitech Cordless Desktop Wave Pro


Our Score:


In terms of looks, the Cordless Desktop Wave Pro is a very attractive set, sporting a stylish combination of silvers, greys and matte/glossy blacks. The MX1100 mouse is ergonomically shaped to accommodate right-handers only -- the Cordless Desktop Wave (without the 'Pro') has the same keyboard but comes with a cheaper, ambidextrous mouse.

Being shaped for one hand only does mean the MX1100 is very comfortable, though. On the left is a large thumb-rest coated with soft-touch rubber, while the right side has similar support for the ring and pinky fingers. Overall, the curvaceous contours of the mouse places all your digits comfortably and easily where they need to be. Likewise the wheel and buttons are all very easy to reach, with the one exception being the forward thumb button, which can be difficult to press without inadvertently pressing the back one.

As with all Logitech mice I've ever tried, button feedback is excellent. The four-way micro-gear 'freewheel' scroll wheel also makes a welcome return, meaning you can scroll through the longest document with just a flick of the finger. You can switch between this and notched scrolling (for games) with a button conveniently located just below the wheel -- unlike the G9, where you had to turn the peripheral upside-down to get at it.

Speaking of the G9, I also prefer the MX1100's implementation of DPI switching. That's right, for perhaps the first time in a non-gaming mouse Logitech has provided hardware sensitivity adjustment. A two-way rocker just to the right of your index finger chooses between two presets which you can set between 400 to 1600 DPI. All of this combined with the lag-free 2.4GHz wireless connection makes the MX1100 more suitable than most wireless bundled mice for gaming, but the DPI switching is handy for work as well as play.

Francesco Mastellone

January 24, 2009, 5:09 pm

I currently own a first-gen wireless Wave, but I don't like it half as much as you did. One thing is particularly terrible: the feel of the keys. It' s not uncommon for them to stick when pressed in a direction that's even a few degrees off perpendicular to their surface. They come back up without a problem, but this completely disrupts both my touch typing and the original intent of ergonomics. They're not even silent either. I'm not sure after how much time these problems presented, or whether mine is a faulted exemplar, but they're something to keep an eye out for.


January 24, 2009, 11:05 pm

Yet again, lefties are left out..

Lon Bailey

January 24, 2009, 11:41 pm

The key layout is also a bit unusual: function keys are grouped in 3s instead of in usual 4s and the Home/End/ Page up/ Page down keys are also not like standard keyboards. these might be good for your hands, but wrecked some minor havoc with productivity! Agree with Francesco about the noisy keyboard.


January 25, 2009, 5:07 am

"Home/End/ Page up/ Page down keys are also not like standard keyboards" - i don't like that either.


January 26, 2009, 6:18 am

First the Reviewer forgot to mention the extra button under your thumb under the rubber surface below the forward/back buttons. If you didnt read the box you would not know it is there. The mouse definately has a nice feel.

Second I have 3 logitech wave keyboards and they are all great! The keys are smooth and quiet and don't stick at all unlike the previous microsoft wave keyboards I used to own, that were very loud and clunky. and keys on all old keyboards would stick when trying to push them down.

This logitech keyboard mouse combo is very nice. I would definately recomend to all.


January 26, 2009, 4:35 pm

Is that really an MX1100 mouse? According to their website the MX1100 has two batteries, is not rechargeable and does not have a USB cable connection.



January 29, 2009, 2:43 pm

@Seiuchi: Good point about that 'hidden' button; that's definitely something I should have mentioned. Apologies.

@filey: As an ex-lefty myself, I understand your frustration. As mentioned in the review though, the non-Pro Cordless Desktop Wave comes with an ambidextrous mouse.

@Francesco & Lon Bailey: Peripherals will always be a personal experience to some extent, but I must say that neither of the Wave keyboards in the office are noisy - aside from the spacebar.

@Spider: I agree, but one gets used to it after a while.

@simbloke: Good point. It appears to be a highly modified version of the MX1100.

Matthew Bunton

February 6, 2009, 11:11 pm

Received mine today pretty pleased with it overall however the mouse is lagging under normal windows Vista 64x conditions. From past experience with Logitech products and software I actually uninstalled the Setpoint software and suprise, suprise the problem vanished.

I had the same problem a few years ago with their Setpoint software and it seems it still hasn't been sorted. I don't know why TR regards it as a good piece of software as many others have had similar problems.


February 10, 2009, 7:57 pm

@Matthew Bunton: Having reviewed many Logitech wireless sets in addition to owning one personally (and another two Logitech wireless mice), I can honestly say that since version 4 of SetPoint the software has never had detrimental effects upon my mousing experience.

No-one in the TR office has had trouble with recent Setpoint iterations either. The problem with computers is that not only the hardware but software too (never mind individuals' usage and setup models) differ so greatly it can be almost impossible to recreate conditions under which users are having problems.

comments powered by Disqus