Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / LG Renoir KC910

LG Renoir KC910 review

By

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR

1 of 8

LG Renoir KC910
  • LG Renoir KC910
  • LG Renoir KC910
  • LG Renoir KC910
  • LG Renoir KC910
  • LG Renoir KC910
  • LG Renoir KC910
  • LG Renoir KC910
  • LG Renoir KC910

Summary

Our Score:

9

As Gordon pointed out a few weeks ago 8-megapixel cameraphones are like buses. You wait ages to see one, and then three come along at the same time.

Well, I've already seen Samsung's i8510. Its camera took some good photos, but had some issues too. Read the review for the full low-down, but the shortened version is that the i8510 came out with a TrustedReviews Recommended award for which the camera was just one constituent part.

Now I have the second of the flotilla of three 8-megapixel cameraphones in my hands - the LG Renoir KC910. This is a 3G handset with HSDPA to 7.2Mbps, a front-facing camera for video-calling and Wi-Fi as well as Bluetooth among its non-camera treats. There is about 100MB of internal memory and micro SDHC card support. The phone didn't baulk at my 16GB microSD card.

In order to differentiate it from the current pack of 8-megapixellers (all three of ‘em), LG says the Renoir KC910 is the slimmest one on the market.

The LG Renoir (I'm going to call it that as it is so much more evocative than simply KC910), measures pretty much 107.8mm tall, 55.9mm wide and 13.95mm thick. (Don't you love how hundredths of a millimetre have suddenly become important to phone measurements?) It weighs 110g. Samsung's i8510 (also known as the INNOV8), comes in at 106.5mm x 53.9mm x 17.2mm and 136g. This boils down to the fact that the Renoir is taller and fatter than the i8510 but thinner and lighter. Really, there's not enough in it to worry about.

There are three buttons beneath the screen. The End call button doubles as the on/off switch, there is a Call button, and between them is what LG calls the ‘multitasking key'. Hit this and you can switch between running apps. They pop up on screen in an icon based menu and you tap the one you want. A second, tabbed screen gives you access to a grid of nine favourite shortcuts.

Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

Tim Sutton

November 7, 2008, 5:10 pm

Sandra, thanks for the review.





You mentioned a lack of a 3.5 headphone jack, do LG include an adaptor to use standard headphones? How does the bundled headset connect?





Thanks.

Andy C

November 7, 2008, 9:26 pm

@ Tim - as far as i know they do. other sites have commented on this

Martin Daler

November 8, 2008, 12:12 am

good grief, a phone that Sandra likes! At least she can't be accused of dishing out the point too readily.

Midnight-Alchemist

November 8, 2008, 12:23 am

"I'd go as far as to say this is the best touch interface I've seen on a handset" - uh oh....Apple fanboy alarms going off...cant wait for their comments...hehe





Anyway, don't you think the buttons on the front look very cheap and toy-like?? Also, does it have any office applications? Whats the internet browser like?

m memmory

November 8, 2008, 1:50 am

I'd also be interested on what the web browser is like but also on things like what the GPS on it is like and how quick/easy the rest of the operating system is like. Looks like one of the first touch screen phones that I could be really interested in (something that's not going to break my bank balence but is usable - I've tried getting to grips with the iPhone/iPod Touch keyboard and found it nigh on impossible to use although I was only using it for about an hour)

jonesdude

November 8, 2008, 6:02 pm

There's a few problems with this phone. Needs an update from LG to fix. Video camera shoots out of sync audio/video in all resolution modes except 400x240. Plays some but not all divx/xvid files. They have to be encoded in a certain way to play, haven't worked out exactly how yet, but not in ac3 audio and must be under 640x400. Can't read emails in landscape format. So reading a long mail requires a lot of scrolling down the narrow portrait view. Google Maps does not support the gps feature on this phone yet. Lg headphone adapter sticks out the side of phone, which makes it tricky to rest the phone tilted on a flat surface whilst watching a movie.





Good features but not perfect. 18 months to go till upgrade....

Clozz

November 18, 2008, 1:30 am

I Think I Might Get This Phone For Christmas, I Was Wondering If Anyone Knew Of A Better Touch Screen Phone ? Thanks A Lot =}

Notsosporty

January 13, 2009, 9:42 pm

Had this great mobile for a month now. As said above touch screen is very good and camera best around. Low light performance is good if you select highest ISO speed. Music sound very good with Dolby. My problems are minor, but annoying. Silly little seperate stylus needed a parking slot in the phone. Screen protector needed replacing after a week and not many spares available yet. Typing text needs a highlighting, copying and pasting facility. Difficulty in downloading all web BBC videos because my IP address from O2 is in in UK, but I am in UK. BBC say they only download to UK IP addresses. O2 is owned by Telefonics!! BBC iPlayer will not run. Lots of file formats will not run. I think some of this could be put right in a software update from LG!


Still well worth owning - its a real head turner!

danman

January 15, 2009, 6:22 am

the worst phone i have ever used. if you get a sms while making one it throws the phone into mental mode. the t9 plays up when it happens, it sends sms s to the wrong people and more- if you get a sms while writing one you have to shut it down and start again. the software for the pc is very very poor making pic transfer hard and tiresome to transfer or use. the call register is very poor and not really for the serious. the camera is very poor and the old sony errics of 2 mp were better, there is a lot of time between taking pics making it frustrating if you want to take more, and even most disspointing when you see the results on the pc. saying that the video mode is good is a straight out lie and the n95 is far better. thew touch screen is fine even for big fingers but needs a lot more thinking from lg to be good- trying to get a phone number out of the adress book and calling is a frustrating experiance and saves you money as you just dont want to call anyone. overall- i had mine for 2 weeks and it shid off the car roof to a fitting end, there is a god and thats where my phone is now, i just hope it dont hit anyone when he throws it out as well. overall rating from someone who has used a lot of phones. 1 out of 10.... DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PHONE... i will try lg again in another 20 years, maybe they can get it right then.

Maxximum

January 16, 2009, 11:10 pm

Thought I was just having 'new phone' syndrome, but after a month this really is a poor phone - it's just very difficult to say why! It's a jack of all trades, but slow and annoying at everything. I don't want to see 'LOADING' for (literally) 3 minutes every time I try to play music - but the sound is great, I want to be able to take a 2nd photo straight after the first - but the pics are OK. If you have used an iPhone and smiled you will loathe the touchscreen - but Apple have the patent on the capacitative sensing screen. There are bugs in the firmware, and the LG update doesn't. No increasing ring on the <<ALARM>>, missed calls reply to the wrong person, occasional unrecoverable crashes, appalling phonebook, GPS is pointless, web browsing awkward... I am actually keeping this as a spare and going back to my Sony Ericsson K850i. Maybe with V2.0 firmware..

Coops

January 17, 2009, 11:45 pm

I'm looking to upgrade from my N95 as its just about had it but i'm having trouble finding a new phone that has the features i use/need. A specific feature i really like about my N95 is that it displays calendar events on the home page/wallpaper (or whatever its called) as well as sync-ing well with Outlook taking across all the info; for example not limiting the title of an event to 15 characters. I've just got the Pixon but going to send it back as it isn't able to do the above. Given how similar the two phones are I wondered if anyone could tell me if the KC910 has the ability to do the above?


Thanks in advance.

Bagpuss515

February 4, 2009, 1:59 am

I upgraded from an N95 to this phone and am very happy with it. Though there was one great feature the N95 camera had the Renoir doesn't....time lapse photos ( take a picture every "X" seconds ). However the Renoir does have some additional video features I don't think you mentioned, it can shoot at both slow-mo and sped-up.

hol24

February 4, 2009, 10:37 pm

Would some please be able to give me honest non-bias advise between the LG Renoir and Samsung Tocco, as at the moment i am unsure of which one to go for. i like the look of the Tocco better but the LG seems like a better phone?


Im not entirely Sure.


Could someone please help me. Thanks.

CB

March 22, 2009, 12:57 am

I'm having real trouble with this phone unlocking itself in my pocket. The other day it rang everyone under 'E' in my contacts list...slightly annoying! Does anyone know a way of locking it a bit more securely than the stupid little button on the side?

GEE4bd

April 1, 2009, 8:27 am

Up for an upgrade soon and have seen the Sony Ericcson Iduo 12 megapixel on display. There's no release date yet but it doesn't look like soon so I have been looking at the Sony Ericsson c905 camera phone. I seen the review and basically Sandra said it wasn't as good as the LG Renoir.


A friend of mine already has the Sony Ericsson c905 and loves it to death, she had enough with the LG Prada, they simply don't work. I had the LG chocolate when I first started my contract and within a week I went back to using my older Sony Ericcson k570i. So I have been very skeptical of LG phones and was wondering what was so great about the Renoir.


Everything was promising with the review, the camera for me being the best feature. It is a nice looking phone and with it being slimmer than the SE c905 is a plus. However looking at other online critic reviews I don't think its as good as Sandra thinks. Its a great phone with it receiving scores of 79%, 75% but the was a score of 3.5 out of 5. Not only that, reading the user comments section is a put off. It seems there are many owners having these minor problems which can be annoying for me, with some having major problems with it. Its as if Sandra has the only working LG Renoir phone.





Lookingat the SE c905 reviews there are also high ones too with 4/5 and one site saying this is the best camera phone giving it 88% and they give the renoir 79%.





Based off from the reviews I've seen, the commets made about the Renoir, the style, camera quality and already familiar with the Sony Ericsson brand, overall it would have to be the SE c905. I think that would be a better phone for me and in all honesty, Sandra has givin the Renoir a higher score than it deserves, 8/10 would be more realistic.

Rach

April 4, 2009, 7:36 am

ok Ive got a upgrade on the 13th of this month.. torn between 3 fones.


I want a decent fone this time they normal jus try n give me shit so im guna say wa i want this time!... torn between 3 fones this 1 renoir kc910. samsung pixon M8800 and sony ericsson c905 bit put of this 1 tho i av seen reli bad reviews. cud sum1 email me tellin me the truth about these fones. which 1s beta wat goes wrong wv dem... n all tha kinda stuff.. thank u! my email is crazy_gurl_101@hotmail.co.uk x

ACW1i

April 10, 2009, 6:59 pm

This phone is a great phone, 8 megapixel is super impressive and enjoying this phone very much.

Vera

April 10, 2009, 7:59 pm

DO NOT GET THE RENOIR!!! It is absolute garbage. I 'upgraded' from a Nokia N95 and I have gone back to it within a day. The e-mail is impossible to understand and you can't delete them (it just crosses the out) meaning you have to scroll through a million messages. The browser is useless. Their own sites (I'm talking about 3 here) are fine, but as soon as you venture on the the real internet you're wasting your time. An example: Google is fine. It's clear and you can read it as it resizes itself to fit the screen. Click on any of the results from your search, however, and the phone just doesn't want to know. The WHOLE of the web page squashes on to your screen, making it impossible to read. Of course, you can zoom in, but then you are constantly scrolling left to right, and back to left again, then down a bit, then off to the right again in order to read it. The other major problem is switching bwtween wi-fi access and your service provider can't be done without exiting the browser completely, trawling through the settings, activating the wi-fi and then re-starting the browser and trying to find where you were on the internet again. Waste of time. If you're thinking of this as an 'upgrade' from your N95 you will be absolutley gutted.


Good points? It looks nice. Camera is OK. (But the 'Smile' feature doesn't work either).

Gordon394

April 10, 2009, 9:45 pm

@Vera - to be fair, I'm not the biggest fan of the Renoir in the world but you judged it "within in a day". I couldn't type fluently on an iPhone for a week but persistence brought the phone to life for me.





Comparing apples of oranges? Sure, but the point still stands.

Vera

April 11, 2009, 6:26 am

Gordon...it's up to you, fella. I'm glad you're enjoying your i-phone. Have you tried the Renoir? I would suggest you would get violent towards it within the hour! All I know is that you can't get used to something that is useless. It is simply not fit for purpose. What is the point of a web browser, if you can't browse the web? I'm not talking about getting used to the phone, I just believe it's no good. Admittedly, I was fuming when I wrote the review, and reading back, my tone may have been a little negative, but I totally stand by the points I made about the features...especially the completely useless web browser. I will still tell anyone who asks for advice to avoid it at all costs, and that's what these message boards are all about...people who have tried it, giving their opinion. There are much better handsets available for a lot less money.





All this, of course, is my opinion...you can make your own minds up.





Enjoy your weekend. :-)

jackanakanory

April 14, 2009, 8:05 pm

This or the LG Arena? My wife wants a touchscreen with a decent camera, my mum has the M8800 and we are not that impressed, I have an Iphone which she likes but wants a good camera, it seems to be this phone or the arena..

Gordon394

April 14, 2009, 8:07 pm

@jackanakanory - I'm personally not that impressed with either to be honest. Only the Cybershot line tends to have decent cameras, but it isn't touchscreen. Dedicated compact camera and an iPhone still the way to go (beware June launch for new model) - compromise isn't there yet.

jackanakanory

April 14, 2009, 8:44 pm

@ Gordon...I have a Panasonic Luminx and an Iphone thanks to this website but she wants it all in the one package, the most important thing really is the camera if I'm honest.

Gordon394

April 14, 2009, 8:53 pm

@jackanakanory - Glad to hear it! The all in one package isn't quite ready yet. The Sony Ericsson Cybershot C905 leads the way as a cameraphone, but it isn't that brilliant a phone...

jackanakanory

April 15, 2009, 4:19 pm

I am rather confused as your video reviews state this phone is excellent.


She wants this or the Arena...which one is better?

comments powered by Disqus