Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / LG KS360

LG KS360 review

By

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

6

User Score:

LG has been quite busy with its mobile phone launches of late. We’ve had the KC550 bringing 5-megapixels to pay as you go, the touch-control toting KF510, and who can forget the sometimes fully touchscreened Secret KF750?

Each of these handsets offers something different, and the KS360 I have in my hands right now is different again. It will be available initially on Orange and later on O2, on both contract and prepay. Final pricing wasn’t confirmed as I wrote this review, though.

The black and blue front fascia and disjointed D-Pad made up of five round buttons is different enough to be eye catching. Two more round buttons map to the softmeus. All of these buttons are quite small but their raised shaping meant I had no trouble using them.

Two raised pressure pads give you Call and End features, while two more provide a Cancel function and link to a dial pad. These are smaller again than the buttons, but their icons make them easy to find and hit accurately.

The dial pad is interesting. Once called up, the screen suddenly becomes touch sensitive complete with haptic feedback. It works really well, but the screen is only touch sensitive for this one application.

Nestled away inside the phone and ready to pop out of the right long edge when required is a keyboard with a full qwerty pad of keys.

Now, I am more than used to seeing keyboards which slide out like this, but they tend to come on higher end handsets sporting Windows Mobile and aimed at the professional or semi-professional user. The KS360 certainly isn’t in that camp being more of a handset for consumers looking for something mid-range.

The keyboard carries on the blue theme from the front fascia but where it was subtly used there, it is the main colour here for both keys and backplate. The embedded number pad keys sit against a grey background as does a diamond-shaped arrangement of embedded cursor keys. The OK and softmenu keys are grey, the Fn key golden, but the remainder of the keys are blue.

When you slide the keyboard out the screen flips into wide format and you are ready to type.

Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

Wackywavinginflateablearmflail

September 12, 2008, 6:40 am

Sure you didn't check out that Dating Direct link Sandra! ;)

Gordon394

September 12, 2008, 4:21 pm

Have to say I really liked this handset when I got the chance to try it out at an LG launch. I feel a little sorry for it!

xbrumster

September 25, 2008, 4:30 pm

... remind me of Tmobile G1 android truly


well at least it's 5mp

maz

October 1, 2008, 4:09 pm

I have this phone, and its the best phone ive had so far. I have had the new LG KF600 and this one is better by far. The battery life is a lot better, I can type well on it (but I do work on keyboards for a living so its an easy use). Yes the internet is a little slow but the words are clear, also the camara is good ive took great pictures, the only down fall is it doesnt have a light and make sure you dont shake too much when taking the photo. You cant get many accessories for this phone, as I am finding it hard to get a case for it. Its a bargen for the price I got it for on the orange website for 㿨. I would recomend it to anyone who is a big texter like me.

Stacey - Louise

October 27, 2008, 12:56 am

I have this phone..


And the music player DOES have repeat and shuffle functions.

EnVii

January 27, 2009, 12:52 pm

can someone please tell me if the case comes off? i want to know so if i buy it, i can change it from red to pink- for example.

BtWigwan

June 26, 2009, 10:49 pm

here, you can also use the touch pad for texting,


just press the button that doesnt have a number on it on the touch screen and there you have it

Linniemac

November 2, 2009, 4:36 am

I have this phone and have since christmas 2008 and it sucks, it turns itself off in the middle of texts, when its sending messages when i'm listening to th music player, so i have to listen to the songs individually. I've literally just charged it till it's full and its nearly flat again.


My phone reset itself! I use my phone as an alarm and nearly missed an important lecture, it has its days when it's brilliant but most o the time its more of a burden, like i cant find the pic i took for my boyfriend, yet its my display picture!!!


either mines faulty or there's something wrong with this phone, and i'm not the only one whose found this with the KS360

Luke

January 7, 2010, 2:38 am

This phone Is crap I say don't get it I have had it for about 1week and it keeps turning it self off freezeing up will not charge deletes all up contacts and after a while it will stay on the lg logo and not start back up and it has been back 3 three time 2. Time the sent it back for repair 1time a new phone and the same happened again it is in repair not and all my friend have had the same problem all nine of my friend trust me don't get it save money get a different phone and all the other lgs iv had has done the same just don't get it :@ my phone is in repair :@might just get a nokia I can relie on them

comments powered by Disqus