LG BL40 Chocolate - Sample Photos

By Edward Chester

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

Overall Score

8

Scores In Detail

  • Value 8
  • Usability 6
  • Features 8
  • Design 10
Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

jacko

November 16, 2009, 3:34 pm

"However, unless you're a patient person, the cumbersome software will frustrate to distraction"





So, it's a cumbersome, slow and frustrating handset to use, yet it scores 8 out of 10!!!





I think I'm losing confidence in your scores.





The user experience has become an item at the very top of the agenda and will continue to be something that a phone needs to excel at, so how does this phone get such a high rating when it sounds like it'll drive you nuts after five minutes!

Ed

November 16, 2009, 3:57 pm

I'd totally agree, were this a smartphone. However, if you just want a phone to do the basics then it's still perfectly adequate. Add in the superb build quality and design and it's definitly worth considering.

jacko

November 16, 2009, 5:07 pm

I would say that this is certainly more than 'just a phone doing the basics', which means the user experience should be high on the agenda. (Ask LG if this is 'just a phone to do the basics ' and see what they say!)





The fact that it fails in that respect yet still scores 8 out of 10, I find quite amazing.





Actually, any phone or device, smart or not should be user friendly and not frustrating and cumbersome to use. Anything else in this day and age should be marked down appropriately.

Keithe6e

November 16, 2009, 5:56 pm

@throws up an 'out of memory' error when trying to view the TrustedReviews home page.





LOL, Hardly surprising, I understand TR needs to fund itself with advertising, but do you not think it's a bit OTT?. On my Q9400 TR's website is taking about 5% CPU, please please try and think about converting some of these Flash(CPU killing) adverts to Animate Gif's, and at the same time you'll be helping to save the planet.

Jay4d0

November 16, 2009, 7:47 pm

trustedreviews is fine on a desktop but it is a tad unwieldy on a mobile ie. you should make a mobile site with just text and small pictures then we can get our fix on the move and also faster due to the slow network speeds.

Ed

November 16, 2009, 8:23 pm

jacko, Keith,





A more streamlined (i.e. fewer but better placed) advert scheme and a mobile version are both things the editorial team would certainly like to see but it's something that's just not on the cards/possible at the moment. It's something that will hopefully be addressed in the not too distant future, though.





Also, please note I've amended the review to hopefully better explain in what way this phone's user experience is disappointing or not.

jacko

November 16, 2009, 9:31 pm

Ed.





Thanks for your comments and for the slight amendments to the article.





I still think that given the limitations that this phone has, it does not deserve the 8 out of 10 mark you gave it for either the value (£400 handset!!!) or for the overall performance.

Zero

December 5, 2009, 3:54 am

I could imagine this running android!!! But the user interface loooks good enough.

iloverschocolate

March 30, 2010, 11:31 pm

If you want to know about this phone for my personal review, I can tell you. This a great looking phone, and I get compliments about the phone all the time, however the software is disappointing. I've only had this phone for a few months, and I've encountered power problems. They told me that it is a common problem in LG BL40 mobile phones, because the original LG software version was NOT GOOD. I had to get it repair and update the software. I'm pretty sure that I wasn't the only one who'd encountered this problem. For the video quality, it's not so good.

disqus_UXgd1yTD9n

January 22, 2013, 5:54 am

where i buy the battery of lg bl40 in phillipines

comments powered by Disqus