Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / LG Arena KM900 / LG Arena KM900

LG Arena KM900 - LG Arena KM900

By Sandra Vogel

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

9

That 3D user interface LG is so bullish about isn't as exciting as it sounds. When you press the aforementioned centre button, a cube pops up in the middle of the screen. You finger-scroll through four of its faces which represent four home screens. There is a shortcuts screen for your nine most used apps, a multimedia screen for your photos and music, a contacts screen and a customisable widgets screen.

Tap one of these and it animates up into a full screen. You can flick through the four screens with a finger sweep when they are full screen, too, and I can't really see why you'd ever want to bother with the cube at all.

What I do like are the vertical carousels for scrolling through photos and multimedia, and the photo contacts screen. Also on a vertical carousel, when you pick a contact their photo blows up fairly large and you can call, text or edit contact info by pressing a large on-screen touch button.

When it comes to text entry, you have the choice of a full QWERTY keypad in landscape mode and a standard mobile phone layout in portrait mode. Key presses are registered well enough, though individual keys are a little small and I found I had to slow down a bit on the QWERTY keypad to achieve better accuracy.

The phone is 3G with HSDPA to 7.2Mbps. There is a front camera for two-way video-calling. Web browsing on the large screen was satisfactory with full screen page renders, finger panning and pinch zooming. There was a bit of waiting around for zooming, but in general, performance in this regard was OK.

There is an accelerometer, and this is used well in some apps. For example, in the photo gallery, when you hold the phone in portrait view, picture thumbnails look ordinary enough. Turn the Arena 90 degrees into landscape view and pictures appear in a horizontal carousel. Finger scroll left and right to view one day's shots, up and down to move to another day's.

The phone has TV-out capability and you can plug the lead right into the handset. The cable isn't supplied with the phone, and nor is the cradle I was sent. This holds the phone horizontally and has both power-in and TV-out connectors.

Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

adoniteINK

March 20, 2009, 5:34 am

Great review but cant wait to see a review of samsung's OminaHD. Does this mean we are going to see an App store from LG? Are they planning on releasing an SDK for this phone? anyhow Apple has some serious competition this year from all sides (OS: interface & functionality and hardware) and i dont think the iphone's OS 3.0 is enough to attract that many new customers because i see it only been appreciated by existing users except they can tie the OS upgrade to a new product...iphone2

lifethroughalens

March 20, 2009, 3:18 pm

Anyone know what OS this is based on? Looks a lot slicker the the s60 5th on the 5800!

Runadumb

March 20, 2009, 10:34 pm

Yeah why no mention of the OS? If pinch works then its a capacitative screen which means s60 5th or android? This phone looks really good and my touch dual is begging for the bin. Trying to hold out for the ominiaHD or better yet the Pre

xbrumster

March 20, 2009, 11:32 pm

well, OS for the phone can be updated for instance Apple can design a totally brand new one and push it out through itune, wouldn't it feel like you've got a new phone? Apart from Apple currently, no other has done software update so well. they can certainly make flashy OS but without updates or new twicks, the phone will just be dated sooner or later with new arrivals.

Gnormie

March 21, 2009, 2:10 pm

@xbrumster


Most phones in this category in fact have a better system for updates then itunes called over the air where the owner is told about new firmware they can download + install on the fly with maybe one reset through a prompt or something. Much better then being forced to be tied to iTunes which is imo bloated and unnecessarily locks users into an upgrade cycle.

Ironduke

March 21, 2009, 2:54 pm

apple has placeholders in the sdk for new models this year.





year 1 was the introduction


year 2 was competition


year 3 will be domination of the mobile phone nation for Stevie J

HaggardPete

April 29, 2009, 3:02 am

A very subjective review. Just to pick one count battery life effectively 1 day but is good? Lots of other 'opinions' here but the general feel is of a review based on walking into a store and trying out the phone. This review undermines down Trusted’s usual high standards

Gary 8

May 12, 2009, 11:32 pm

I have had this phone since 9/5/09 and I don't like it. I don't like this phone as you can't connect to a wireless access point, if it's SSID is hidden, as there is no option for this, my wireless router at home's SSID is hidden for security reasons. The phone's functionality is very basic compared to some others that I have tried before. I have tried the Samsung Tocco Ultra Edition and the Nokia 5800 XpressMusic and to be honest, I found the Nokia to be better than both of these, also the Nokia has stereo speakers, so the sound quality is better than both the LG Arena and Samsung Tocco Ultra Edition put together. I also found that the LG Arena and Samsung Tocco Ultra Edition's capacitive screens not very responsive and not very precise. In my opinion, they need to make the icons larger on a capacitive screen for them to work properly.

Gordon394

May 13, 2009, 4:03 am

@Gary - "I also found that the LG Arena and Samsung Tocco Ultra Edition's capacitive screens not very responsive and not very precise" - that's because they are resistive not capacitive screens Gary.





The ONLY phones currently on the market with capacitive screens are the iPhone, T-Mobile G1 & Magic. The Pre will also have one. Personally I wouldn't buy any resistive touchscreen phone at this point in time, the technology simply isn't responsive enough yet.

lukealexander

June 12, 2009, 6:51 am

The LG Arena has a capacitive touchscreen according to everything I have read.

Martin 14

October 27, 2009, 7:14 pm

I have this phone, and after using the LG Viewty (KU990) which i found to be excellent this LG Arena is a terribly frustrating disappointment. yes there are features galore but there are severe issues with call management, touch screen abilities and the backlight , all of which make the phone very frustrating to use, i have missed calls due to being unable to unlock the phone while it's ringing, it has a tendancy to randomly reboot when writing standard text messages and often the touchscreen buttons are unresponsive and the phone OS is slow, pressing a button, nothing happening and then repeating and then finding its acted on both presses.





This phone has a large array of small and frustrating niggles and failings that really bring it down. It feels like its production started well but at the end the software interface has been rushed and very poorly tested. After the satisfaction of the Viewty this is a bitter shame considering how new it is.





The only plus side is the large amount of memory space for keeping/playing mp3s.

quentin

November 16, 2009, 12:11 pm

I have just got this phone. It has quite a few faults. The CPU is too slow, you are constantly waiting for things like the screen to rotate or you have to press a button 3 times before anything happens. this is quite annoying and considerably slows the typing of SMS messages and adding contacts etc. I have not been able to get the GPS to work at all with google maps. The screen is considerably smaller than that of the iPhone although it is very high resolution so you get a very clear crisp interface. The camera is pretty low quality and every second picture will be blurred. However it is possible to take good photos with a steady hand and good light conditions. Sometimes certain windows will stop working and pressing buttons will do nothing. It has a tenancy to automatically capitalize the first letter of passwords you enter (e.g. when setting up an email account) which suggests the operating system has not had much testing. This phone is cheaper than the iPhone but in this case you get what you pay for.

Anjeneya

November 30, 2009, 6:11 pm

For the first time i switched from Nokia and i am disappointed from the performace of LG arena. It fails in providing the basic functionalities. It should "NOT" have released without proper testing. It has given a very bad impression. I cannot think of LG again.


Here goes "some" of the issues i faced.


1. When I get a call, most of the times I will not be able to receive the call and the back light is off. we dont know who is calling!!


2. If we call or receive the call we will not be able to disconnect because of the backlight is off.


3. tried sending some message, it does not go. and if i close the message editor, it prompts to save but never saves.


4. it has 8 GB internal memory and god knows for what reason the No of messages are limited ( i think it is 300!!)


5. Capturing an image/video is a nightmare


6. Some times it stucks so badly that the only option to restart is to open the back cover and remove the battery. the restart button will not work "attimes".


7. Battery go too low fast if you capture some images/videos.

gaurav

December 27, 2010, 12:08 am

Hi,


I purchased the handset and was very happy to have a good iPhone replica with better features. Unfortunately I could not hold my excitement and started playing with the handset during the charging. The piece started playing tricks. Got it replaced for a new one in first 12 hours of purchase.Went really well after that a took some awesome videos and images of excellent quality. Suddenly the handset would blackout if I got a phone call, leaving me in a embarrassing situation. finally got it repaired and the whole PCB was changed. The problem now was auto restart, poor image quality with too many grains, lot slow response. No the phone again went for service centre and again some corrections. Finally the phone is with a service centre for last 2 months and I am claiming for cash back after 1 year of purchase. Though excellent handset with really great features like lock screen during a video playback( so that you can lay down and watch it without rotating it and touching any function on screen), Dolby mobile, Anti theft(it sent me more thAN 50 msgs as the service centre guy tried to put another sim). But really poor OS and maybe Hardware and yes the GPS too. Awfull battery life. Highly disappointed and shattered.

comments powered by Disqus