Home » TVs & Audio » TV » LG 15EL9500 » Feature Table

LG 15EL9500 - Feature Table

John Archer

By John Archer


Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

Scores In Detail

Image Quality
Sound Quality

Our Score

Previous page


August 26, 2010, 12:34 pm

Now if they could just get the screens up to 32 inches and maintain that price I could justify one to myself.

Justifying it to Mrs Castalan would be a whole different story :( Dam you John Lewis and your range of beguiling homeware...


August 26, 2010, 2:25 pm

I just wonder if, by the time 32"+ OLED screens are viable, whether LED-backlit LCDs will have caught up to some degree. Or whether it's a genuine leap beyond what any future LED screen could achieve. (Also small mistake in feature table - shouldn't native res be lower?).


August 26, 2010, 2:44 pm

Are the over-saturation issues seen on OLED phones particular to those screens then and not OLED as a technology?


August 26, 2010, 5:22 pm

Er, guys, the resolution on the spec page says 1920 x 1080 - isn't its resolution 1,366 x 768?

I get a free one of these for spotting that, right?... Right?!


the near side

August 26, 2010, 5:23 pm

I wish they would invest in providing good sound. What is the point of the screen being so thin when the base is so thick, or am I missing something? When scaled up to 40", how thick will the backplate have to be to stop the screen from warping? OK, you guessed, I can't afford one.

Sam JB

August 26, 2010, 5:24 pm

Loving the irony in the supplier's name


August 26, 2010, 5:48 pm

@Pbryanw: You know, I remember reading a prediction to that effect a few years ago; LCD screens would improve, OLED would become instantly obsolete. Thing is, it just hasn't happened. I'm constantly frustrated when looking at LCD sets, even high end ones, and finding myself disappointed with their black levels, grey clouding, shadow detail and processing artefacts. It makes me want to return to my old CRT, (at least, until I realise it's not HD).

Plasma next for me, I think.


August 26, 2010, 5:58 pm


Hahaha, hadn't noticed that - rather :D

Jon McGovern

August 26, 2010, 7:11 pm

This is the kind of writing that makes TR far more interesting to read than other review websites

Chris Beach

August 26, 2010, 9:03 pm

@the_near_side, sorry but you'd be daft to get a TV like this and use it's speakers, in fact you'd be daft to get any mid->high-end tv and use the built ins. Get a amp, a htib or a soundbar (in that order!) Surround sound really makes a difference to the experience.


August 27, 2010, 1:13 am

" the finest pictures we've seen on any television, period. "

Period - full stop you mean ?

Is this an American site ?


August 27, 2010, 6:50 pm


I think someone's on their full stop.

Chris Mumford

August 27, 2010, 9:52 pm

I know the picture might be good but then again even old style 15" portables looked pretty good and certainly didn't cost the same as my 52" full hd sony. Quite ridiculous price.


August 27, 2010, 11:12 pm

@Goldenguy - no just proof checking going down the pan and less fussy readers on the web ...

Geoff Richards

August 28, 2010, 12:15 am

@Cliche - I don't see that it's anything to do with proof checking. One could argue the cross-polination of American slang / language into modern Britain, but it's surely nit-picking to complain about the use of &quot;period&quot; vs &quot;full stop&quot; when used in this way.<br />

<br />

We're a UK-based site but we're read in over 230 countries every month.

@Golden Guy: nice one :)


August 28, 2010, 5:58 pm

yet to find anyone who says period in the UK. Anyway nice reply Geoff *rollseyes*


September 2, 2010, 8:32 am

Is it unreasonable to expect a 65" version in 5 years time for around 2000 pounds ($3000)?

We just bought a 63" plasma and paid for a 5yr warranty, so by then a large OLED would be the logical upgrade.

Arctic Fox

October 5, 2010, 10:03 pm


Yep, my thoughts exactly. We bit on the bullet and upgraded to a 55 inch Sammy about 6 months ago - cost us 1500 smackers (I still go crosseyed that we actually did that!). An upgrade to a full grown version of the above in 4 - 5 years would be just about right. Its not often that TR gives anything 10/10 and TV with image quality so good that it gets that rating has got to be worth consideration. Be nice if someone marketed one without speakers - these inbuilt jobs are all crap. Let us be honest who buys a major viewing surface without having a proper sound-system?

comments powered by Disqus