Home / Computing / Peripheral / Kingston SSDNow V Series 64GB / Kingston SSDNow V Series 64GB

Kingston SSDNow V Series 64GB - Kingston SSDNow V Series 64GB

By Edward Chester

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

User Score:

Next we installed Windows on the drive and ran the hard drive tests from PCMark Vantage. This application does tend to favour SSDs over normal hard drives so is of limited use when comparing them to HDDs but it gives a good indication of performance differences between SSDs.

Here we can see that the V Series is a consistent if rather slow performer. As mentioned earlier, though, the raw read and write speed is only of so much importance. So long as this drive still exhibits the snappy response that you expect from an SSD, has sufficient read/write performance, and doesn't suffer too much from stuttering it will be worth considering.

Next we ran our gaming test whereby we perform one run through of our standard Crysis time demo and time how long it takes. Graphical settings and resolution are kept to a minimum to ensure as much time as possible is spent loading and unloading the game.

The V Series puts in an impressive display here, beating the very fast OCZ Vertex drive and clearly proving it's not all about statistics when it comes to real world performance. That said, the VelociRaptor and Intel SSD are still markedly ahead.

For our penultimate test we record how long it takes to bootup, restart, and shutdown our test system. Once again, we see that the V Series holds its own against the competition even beating all before it in the reboot run.

Finally we simply used the system for a while to get a feel of how it responded and we found it to have all the speed and snappiness that we'd expect of an SSD. Smaller programs open almost instantly (large programs like games still take some time) and you can open or close hundreds of files in a flash. Obviously it's not quite at the level of the enthusiast or performance drives like Intel's models or the OCZ Vertex but for around £100 it provides all the performance we'd expect.

Verdict

The Kingston SSDNow V Series 64GB isn't the fastest drive on the market and compared to hard drives it's still expensive for its capacity. However, it does provide adequate performance and for around £100 is an absolute bargain compared to many SSDs.

Keldon

September 3, 2009, 5:52 am

Seems like a gereat bargain in the current market, I would definatly consider it for a netbook.





Im waiting for 64gig drives to drop to half this price before even considering one in my desktop machine though!

Beaky69

September 3, 2009, 3:17 pm

Reading around the reviews, the JMicron controllers seem to have a fairly bad track record as far as performance is concerned. Anyone looking into buying a SSD at this price level might do better to consider the Crucial M225 64Gb drive, which based on the superior Indilinx 'Barefoot' controller, and is about £115, I think.

GaryRW

September 3, 2009, 11:40 pm

I'd agree with Beaky69 - based on the reviews the Crucial is a much better choice. The indilinx controller is used in the OCZ Vertex, and is much better with random reads and writes which helps eliminate the stuttering. One thing to remember though is that with SSD's, often the lower capacity drives are slower. The crucial is a good example - the 64gb drive is about 50mb/s slower than the 128 and 256 gig drives (I think on both reads and writes).





There are a few very, very good articles over at Anandtech about SSD's. I wouldn't normally mention other sites in comments, but the SSD articles are extremely good. They deal with about the underlying technology and its problems in detail, but are still easy to understand.

Kanu

September 4, 2009, 1:57 am

Anyone looking at this drive should keep their money in their pocket. It may be "cheaper" but "cheaper" doesnt mean that it is worth it. SSD is not yet for the mainstream because the few SSD products like this one that dip down to mainstream prices are JUNK.





Either buy the superior Intel or Apex Vertex drives or just wait another 6-9 months. And if you want to read proper reviews of SSDs that dont recommend cheap useless brand name junk, then have a look at Anandtech and you'll learn a lot more about how to spend your money on an SSD - or NOT spend it, as the case may be.

Ed

September 4, 2009, 9:15 pm

Hi guys,





Thanks for the comments. I'll admit, I hadn't come across the Crucial M225 when doing price comparisons. It would certainly seem that, with it using the indilinx controller, it is likely to perform better than this drive so on average could be the better bet.





Nevertheless, I stand by the point that this would make a great upgrade for a laptop and could be a good desktop boot drive for some users. It's not lightning fast and suffers with large file writes and random writes but these issues are not going to be a huge problem for many users in everyday use.





Anandtech has indeed written some highly informative articles on the subject and for the most part I would stand by the conclusions they come to. However, looking at worst case scenarios only tells you so much. As well as running set tests, we actually used this drive as a desktop boot drive and it performed as we'd hope, boot times were fast, programs loaded quickly, there was no stuttering, etc. This is what most people want from their computer day to day.





As I say, now that I'm aware of the Crucial M225, I shall get one in for testing and if it proves to be notably faster and its price remains the same we shall adjust the scores on this review accordingly. I hope you understand that we can't just change the scores on this review without actually testing the other drive, though.

GaryRW

September 4, 2009, 11:22 pm

I wouldn't expect you to change the scores without testing for yourself. After all, we're just random bods on the internet :-)





I think you're right about the anandtech and the stuttering issues - I've seen lots of people say they've used the jmicron drives with no issues. I guess it depends how much you thrash them and what you've got running in the background. As an SSD is all about performance, i'd be reluctant to take the chance though.





With the indilinx controller though, they seem to have got over the stuttering issues completely and the crucial 64gb doesn't seem much of a premium over the review drive. I know which i'd go for, and personally the crucial 64 gb drive is the first SSD i've seriously considered buying. Just waiting to see how TRIM support shakes things up.





Anyway, keep up the reviews of the smaller drives! loads of sites only seem to review the bigger drives. I think there's lots of us wanting to jump on the SSD bandwagon asap at the cheapest entry point we can.

Kanu

September 10, 2009, 4:23 pm

If you were going to buy a Kingston SSD, this (Kinsgton M series) would be more like it:


http://www.kingston.com/ukroot...





That is basically a rebadged Intel and not cheap, but certainly worth the money. The Kingston "V" series is their cheap junk line.

Jamie Kitson

June 23, 2010, 7:41 pm

It's not very fair comparing a 64 gig drive with 120 gig drives, after all, with SSD the bigger the drive the faster it will be.

Jamie Kitson

June 23, 2010, 7:45 pm

Also, you'd want the v+ now.

comments powered by Disqus