Iomega ScreenPlay Director HD Media Player - Format Support

By Hugo Jobling

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

Overall Score

8

Scores In Detail

  • Value 8

jokerjoe

March 17, 2010, 12:02 pm

You can get an Acer Revo for £130 at the moment, with the added flexibility I'm not sure why you'd would get one of these instead.

Chris2510

March 17, 2010, 1:31 pm

This looked interesting until I noticed the mention of only a 10/100 ethernet port. As well as streaming restrictions, this makes transferring files on to the drive painfully slow. The price differential of putting a gigabit port on there can't be *that* great, can it?

x5115x

March 17, 2010, 6:36 pm

Probably a stupid question, but does the inclusion of Composite cables and connectors imply that I can plug this into a standard CRT TV? So even if I'm watching a 1080p MKV, it will scale it and display ok on a non-HD tv?

hankb6d

March 18, 2010, 1:01 am

For the love of god PLEASE PLEASE can we have some screenies, it is massively important, more important that the shell, especially as some media players appear to still be using DOS 2.1.

HDRE

March 18, 2010, 5:35 pm

@Hugo/TR Please take note of hank's comment as it's very justified especially when you appear to provide screen shots for other Media Players reviewed. Consistency is in the review format is important to us your avid readers for comparing like for like. Even the poor ViewSonic VMP30 got at least 1 screen shot, and the Western Digital WD TV HD Media Player got it's own Vid Review.





I personally would happy see more of these as they are a perfect method of delivering a brief summary of the product highs and lows and can be used to get across the joy or lack of in using the products UI. Pictures and Vid highlights provide the reader with the ability to make their own mind up rather than having to rely on a very limited coverage of the user interface as was the case here.

Ed

March 18, 2010, 7:19 pm

Hi guys. Sorry screenshots weren't included in this review. We normally do try and include them but it seems they were missed from this one. We will certainly make a point of including them from now on. Unfortunately, this particular model has now gone back to the manufacturer so we can't provide them. Best, Ed.

Technology changes, and so sho

March 19, 2010, 1:10 am

I have a TV with a YouTube client built in. I bought a Revo 3610 because it allows me to stream video from my NAS and searches of YouTube through a proper web browser yield significantly different results from those of mobile devices and embedded devices.


Which category does this player fit in? Does it find all videos available on YouTube, or only a nobbled selection?


Also, how easy is it to enter searches? On my TV it was painfully slow.

Ian 22

March 21, 2010, 4:26 pm

Having just bought one of these my observations :


- The interface is a fairly boring text/icon based menu. standard up/down/left/right navigation, but functional.


- The 10/100 ethernet is a limitation. It takes 10 minutes to copy a DVD to the device, so I bypass the network and use the USB. (I think using a wireless USB will resolve this)


- The remote is very directional. You need to point it directly at the device.


- Many of my ripped DVDs (I own the originals), play on my PC, but not on the device, so it looks like its codecs support is limited.





Iomega should consider some sort of 'codec update utility' , to allow the device to obtain the latest codecs from the internet.

tumble

April 11, 2010, 12:32 am

Can you use this to record off sky + and if so is it easy ?

john 63

September 8, 2010, 12:37 am

I bought one of these 2 days ago, the picture quality of the blue rays was exelent. I thought as good as the PS3. The main problem is that it doesn't play DTS audio, which is proably the most common audio around at the moment. If anyone knows of a HD Media Converter With the picture as good as this one and also has AC3 and DTS audio playback capabilitys I would love to know where I can get one.


I dont think it can be used to record from sky+ tumble, Atleast I haven't seen any record button on mine.

Guardinner

September 30, 2010, 11:27 pm

The main gripe I have is that if I copy my DVDs to this it pauses between each section rather than playing the film as a single file. The only other option I can think of is using DivX or similar to create a single file, something I'd rather not do. Other than that it fulfils my basic needs of not having to get off my rear end to pick a film to watch when the TV/Sky is uninspiring...

Blunderfoot

December 14, 2010, 1:37 am

I am sorry but I have to disagree with your review, it is supposed to connect to You tube, but it disconnects when you choose a channel. You are supposed to be able to watch DVD from the IFO file, but you cannot, you have to convert DVD to iso to play it as a single file. Most movies freeze up three or four times requiring a reboot. Even the Boot up time is obscene. This is a horrible devise for streaming from your PC to TV. May be usefull as a external HD though.

anuj2212

January 26, 2011, 8:27 pm

Hi,


I also feel that the codec support is not exhaustive as the review suggests. It certainly does not play wmv files. Is this something which is available in a upgrade ??





It does hang / freeze quite a lot where u need to disconnect power and reboot. Reboot is slow.





Someone asked about using a CRT TV, yes, u can. Just use the Yellow (Composite) video cable (and Red and White audio cables) to play it directly on TV. I have also used the HDMI cable to connect to the Home theater.


Anuj

sacha

August 31, 2011, 7:09 am

is there any easy way of putting movies from your laptop onto the media player. i find my laptop doesnt read the usb cable. is there something u have to do first????

Mauro Anderson

March 10, 2013, 12:38 am

the screen play director is best

boombangabang

November 3, 2013, 1:18 pm

I have one of these media drives, the 1TB version, very slow to boot up, about 2 minutes with 500gb of files on it, remote has to be pointed directly at the unit, so much so you have to actually aim it, even slighty off the thing wont work, never had a remote this fussy about aim at the machine, , the director software on pc never worked and would not find the drive when it was connected so had to open it via my computer like a regualr drive and copy files on it that way, , now it wont work on the sony tv it has been working on for a year, seems like it wont come out of pc mode, so i am now using it as a backup dirve on my pc as is no good as a media drive, i read a mix of reports before buying one, should have listened to the bad ones as i got just what they were moaning about, ....a very poor show from a trusted brand like iomega,,,,

comments powered by Disqus