Read the full INQ Mini 3G review

The INQ Mini 3G won't be for everyone; it's far too low on features for those that want a true mobile web experience and it's a bit complicated for those that just want a simple cheap phone. However if you can't afford the former and just want to make sure you're never out of the social loop then you should definitely consider this phone.

More Mobile Phone Videos


September 28, 2009, 12:51 pm

If the software is the same as the INQ1, then this deserves to (and will) fail ....

The INQ1 has loads of usability issues (even with the latest firmware)- connects slowly to any web service, then disconnects you, phone shuts down frequently, poor customer support, etc

Don't take my word for it - check google for INQ1 issues.

Save your money and buy a toy phone from a toy shop - at least everything will work (a bit harsh, but not far from the truth).


September 28, 2009, 4:06 pm

@Prem - I'm afraid you're making the cardinal reviews error: assumptions about a product before actually seeing it and trying it yourself. The Mini 3G has new software compared to the INQ1 (which I still think is an excellent little handset) and for £59.99 on pre-pay there's simply nothing to compare to its software functionality.


September 28, 2009, 4:28 pm

I can confirm that we had no issues of the sort mentioned by Prem.


September 28, 2009, 6:49 pm

I beg to differ with Gordon's comments, whether a product fails or succeeds can have little to do with actually how good it is. I myself have read many horror stories from dissatisfied INQ customers, which to be honest, stopped me buying one. It only has to plant that little seed of doubt in your brain to make a huge impact.

In my opinion the INQ concept is absolutely fantastic, and as an ex-3 customer (I have nothing against 3 BTW - just switched to Vodafone for work purposes) but it was built down to a price and as such was quite badly executed. So I saved up and bought an iPhone - you do get what you pay for.


September 29, 2009, 1:55 am

I bought an INQ1 pretty much just for the sake of it and mainly based on the TR coverage. It's not my main phone but I do think it's great. For the money the functionality is amazing. It even does some things better than my Hero. Maybe if it was my main phone I'd think differently but I think it's great.


September 29, 2009, 2:50 am

@Bartolli - I'm sorry, you cannot disagree if you haven't actually tried one. It's a shame users have run into problems, but we haven't seen any in either of our two reviews. Scepticism is fine, but judgement cannot be done blindly.


September 29, 2009, 12:33 pm

@Gordon - I actually spent a good 20 minutes playing with one in a shop, was pretty close to buying it based solely on your preview if I remember correctly, as the full review wasn't out. But there was a bit of a lag on the handset and it made me hesitate, and I am glad. The 'Appreciation Society' on Facebook makes for pretty grim reading. It seems the INQ1 just doesn't work in real life, and I think a judgement based on that information is just fine.


September 29, 2009, 5:07 pm

I've had my INQ since launch (when it was much cheaper! 79.99) and the facts are, its a well built phone, the phone has a nice weight and no creaks anywhere.

The software is again pretty good, but the phone is very sluggish. There are "second" waits everywhere when navigating. Which soon add up when browsing on the phone. Pictures have 5 second waits to load, and the camera is appalling.

Without the slow menus I would be very content considering this isn't a smartphone, I mean free skype. 600 free texts and 200mb free internet when you top up £10 is something rarely matched.

My next phone will be an iPhone, but as a bridge phone INQ offers a lot that will be missed when I leave 3, whose network isn't the best of the big names.


November 27, 2009, 5:51 pm

The phone is now £39.99 direct from 3, plus if you use the cashback site Quidco (ggogle it) you get £18 cashback so the phone only actually costs you £21.99. Not bad for facebook, twitter, skype and more on the go!

comments powered by Disqus