Home » Computing » Peripheral » High Tech Health Circulation Booster » High Tech Health Circulation Booster

High Tech Health Circulation Booster - High Tech Health Circulation Booster

By Edward Chester


Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

All the buttons on the Circulation Booster are large, responsive and clearly labelled, and the simple red LED display is very easy to read so we can't anticipate anyone getting confused trying to operate the device. However, as it always starts off with the intensity level set to 0 and some experimentation is needed to find the right level for your needs, it's handy to find that a remote is included to control things without having to constantly bend down. It's not quite so easy to interpret as the main device itself with its 'play/pause' button seeming particularly out of place. That said, this is a simple device so there aren't too many ways you can go wrong.

When in operation the dark strip running between the two foot pads is illuminated by a rising and falling strip of LEDs that's supposed to indicate the varying intensity levels. It's really just a bit of eye-candy, though.

Talking of varying intensity levels, the Circulation Booster doesn't just tense and relax your muscles in a constant rhythm. Instead, it applies a variety of different patterns of intensity ranging from a light and fast quiver to a deep and slow tensing. At first it can be quite unnerving but as you get used to it, the gentle stimulation soon feels perfectly natural.

As well as using the Circulation Booster on your feet, you can also use it to treat individual muscles on other parts of your body using the supplied electrodes. You simply stick the patches either end of the area you want to treat - for example, one at your elbow and one at your shoulder to activate the biceps brachii - then plug the other ends of the cables into the sockets on the front of the Circulation Booster. You can then control the electrodes and foot pads independently in order to treat both parts of your body at the same time. In fact, by using the electrodes and turning the intensity level up you can use the Circulation Booster to tone muscles. So if you've always wanted a six-pack but never liked sit ups, this could help you on your way.

As for the effectiveness of the Circulation Booster, I found it worked as prescribed, though I can't help but wonder if that's partly down to the placebo effect. Nevertheless, regularly using it once in the mid-afternoon (which is when I feel my most sluggish) I felt it helped with my overall alertness and helped improve circulation to my feet and hands, which can quite often get cold.

So, the Circulation Booster certainly works, at least in my opinion, but is it worth your hard earned cash? Well, if you're mostly fit and healthy and, like me, merely find you sometimes grow weary sitting at a desk all day, you'd probably be better off just getting up and going for a brisk walk. That way you also get some fresh air and escape the office for a while. However, if you're incapacitated, or are in some way less mobile, then it could be worth considering, especially if you find the 'foot rest design' appealing. However, at around £200 it's not cheap and there are other electro-muscle stimulators available for less.


If you suffer from poor circulation, spend too much time sat down at a desk all day, or are in some way immobile, then you might want to consider investing in the High Tech Health Circulation Booster. It provides an easy to use way of improving circulation and muscle tone, and relieving aches and pains. However, whether you're willing to part with £200 is another matter.

Our Score

Previous page


February 7, 2009, 8:07 am

I'm happy to see TR branch out and review some things not found on the typical tech site. Please guys, can you add a gadget section this year?


February 7, 2009, 2:54 pm

Agreed, I'd love to see it too


February 7, 2009, 6:28 pm

What evidence do they supply to prove that it actually does increase circulation and by how much?

I suspect getting up off your chair every now and then and going for a walk, even if its just to the toilet or tea-machine would be far more effective at boosting circulation.


February 7, 2009, 7:44 pm

Yep I thirdiddd that!

The electrode bit looks line the TENS unit I have for back and such problems - Gives you variable electric stimulus to the aching parts ( NO ont there sicko!)- Works very well and drug free of course.

As Ohmz said, nice to see more divergent reviews appearing..


February 8, 2009, 2:15 am

What Ohmz said. Agreed x4.


February 8, 2009, 2:18 am

what I would love to see is some reviews for kit to make using your desktop PC easier. My shoulder is killing me from mouse RSI.

Mário F

February 9, 2009, 5:46 pm

Nice review. add gadgets section? :D


March 8, 2009, 9:25 pm

we all laughed when my mum bought one of these a little while ago, and basicasic is most probably correct about exercise being more effective, but I have to write in support of this wonderful machine because I'm severely disabled (so I couldn't walk to the coffee machine even if I hadn't had to give up my IT career through illness LOL). I can literally 'see' the effect on my circulation turning my toes from blue to 'normal'. After regular use I also noticed that I suffered fewer cramps (waking up to cramp in your shins, calves and thighs in both legs at once is difficult to ignore!). A friend of mine ( a teacher who has had to give up work due to injury) was told this week that her lack of sensation in her feet was permanent due to untreated spinal compression. She tried this machine yesterday and her feet were warm to the touch for the first time in 18 months. It got rid of the 'crawling' sensation that she suffers due to spinal compression and also provided respite from her 'restless legs syndrome'.

In no way should my comments be taken as a medical recommendation but when you can't work and have to exist on benefits you think hard before spending 𧶀. We've both ordered this machine.


July 9, 2009, 7:11 pm

I have to agree with Daska and endorse everything he says. This is a fantastic machine and is worth every penny. I am also disabled (through MS) and the circulation booster has dealt with my poor circulation, swollen ankles and lack of muscle tone. It actualy lifts your ankles up from the footplates - thus simulating the walking movement!

Definitely the best equipment I have bought - and you can get VAT relief if you're disabled or have a chronic medcal condition.


August 8, 2009, 6:05 pm

Have read the article and comments with interest and am giving this Gadget some thought. However, I just felt I had to say something about DVT's I had a DVT about 10 years ago brought on by sitting a computer for too long. Not something I would like again but my right leg has never been the same again and do have continual pain and discomfort due to damaged valves. Long haul flights seem to get the blame but any inactivity from sitting too long and impairement to circulation can bring on a DVT. A few years back I felt quite strongly about this and felt that the Government were not not doing enough to warn people of the dangers especially as more and more of us are sitting far too long at our computers. And at the time a 14 year old boy hit the news headlines as he'd had a DVT from sitting playing computer games. So I wrote the the HSE and relevant government departments pointing this out and got the usual whitewash back - they really didn't want to know and felt that there wasn't sufficient evidence to show that DVT's could be caused by the situations I have outlined. I felt that at least an A4 poster stating something like "take a break - reactivate your circulation" would be a suitable poster for any office noticeboard - short and to the point - but 'no' they didn't feel it necessary. I just hope none of those who I received corrspondence from don't end up with a DVT and all my warnings will come home to roost and they will think "now where have I heard this before " ! Motto - get up and walk around. The hospital gave me good advice. If you are standing 'move' if you are sitting 'elevate'. But as we all know it is not always possible. But everyone who reads this please do think about your ciculation - if you have never had a DVT I can assue you you would not like one, your leg(s) are never the same again and the after effects stay with you forever. Anyway I have got this off my chest now and so must end - I have been sitting here far too long !


September 21, 2009, 4:19 pm

Great product! I suffer poor circulation in my legs and at times it can be very painful. I don't know how it does it, but these gadgets seem to do the trick. I didn't buy mine from High Tech Health but from WeightWorld.co.uk, it was £125 and I got it the next day. It's a different make from High Tech Health's but has worked for me. The pain in my legs after I get home from work is much more bearable. Hope this review helps.


February 15, 2010, 4:33 pm

I saw an ad for this on TV and did some more research, I suffer from arthritis so thought it could help me. I was unsure where to buy it from because I don't have much money but when I saw that the one from high tec health is medically approved I decided to go for that, it just seemed more genuine, I also got the vat back because because of my arthritis. I have to say I'm very pleased, the pain has definitely reduced, worth spending a bit extra!

Tina Goddard

December 21, 2010, 4:35 pm

I would like to say that I suffer from Diabetes and as such suffer terribly from swollen ankles which are very painful. I bought a Circulation Booster from High Tech Health as well on the recommendation of a friend of mine. It seems to have done the trick. I am in far less pain than I was before, I can walk up the stairs now albeit not completely pain free but much better than I was before. The fact that you can get your money back if you dont like it and you can get your VAT back really sold it for me. It works out alot cheaper. I would definitely recommend anyone to give it a go.


March 4, 2012, 1:25 pm

I ramp this thing up to 99 and LOVE the results. I have little natural sensation and can hardly move my legs after 21 years of progressive MS. People with normal feeling would be ok at much less. It stimulates venous circulation (arteries have their own system). Within a day I was 1.4 kgs "lighter" - i.e had lost retained fluid. My legs are still hopeless but they feel much more connected


May 11, 2012, 5:36 am

I hate to be pessimistic but treat the circulation booster with some degree of caution. I am a vascular surgeon based in Edinburgh and have had numerous patients buying these so called 'circulation boosters' which do virtually nothing to the arterial circulation.
The circulation booster is not rocket science and works like a TENS machine with a vibration. It works on the venous return NOT arterial perfusion to the feet. So if you have varicose veins or have a condition known as a post phlebitic limb, then you may improve with this device but otherwise, you may aswell write out a cheque to the people who endorse this gadget or flush your £200 down the toilet.
The research carried out is unscientific and to my knowledge has not been published in a peer reviewed journal. I normally never write in reviews but I do not wish the general public to be made a fool for buying this for the wrong reasons such as critical limb ischaemia and claudication. Please check with your GP who is likely to give you a balanced opinion of this 'amazing gadget'
Happy to discuss this if anyone disagrees with me. Thanks


May 12, 2012, 12:34 am

Hi, thanks for your comment - it's always good to hear from professionals that use the products we review.
I absolutely concede that this device will not cure any inherent or long term circulation problems for the very reasons you cite, and indeed that's why I make no claims that it does do, nor indeed does the manufacturer.
However, as both I and several readers have found, there are benefits to this device in terms of symptom relief.
Also, just to pick on a few specifics that you mention, this device doesn't use vibration at all, only electro-stimulation of the muscles. Also, phrases like 'not rocket science' don't really help your argument when trying to make a serious point. Noone here claims it is, and indeed the science is quite plane and, so far as I'm aware, proven.


March 21, 2013, 3:24 pm

Dear Sir/Madam.

Some time ago I purchased a Circulation Booster (CB-3B) from you free of VAT. After a long break from using it due to a sequence of illnesses ending up in heart bypass surgery and now being on dialysis at a renal centre, I went to use it again today to improve the circulation in my legs. To my surprise it no longer vibrates. Can you assist me...and do they just stop working if not used for a set length of time.

Yours sincerely, Trevor Timbs.


April 10, 2013, 6:20 pm

i want get more details of this machine, and available in India? how much cost?


April 20, 2013, 12:45 pm

Can anyone say if its dangerous for someone with poor circulation to have it at a high setting eg 55 or above, I can only go up to 20 on the machine but my dad hardly feels anything at 55 because he has poor circulation ,


May 29, 2013, 10:18 am

I am getting severe nerve pain in my lower left leg. would this be of help to me. I am 70yrs and on warfarin for a heart problem


June 17, 2013, 12:42 pm

So does anybody with lymphoedemia ever tried this device?

moose hunt

August 12, 2013, 1:53 pm

I have the same problem in that I did not use my machine for about 2 years, and now it does not vibrate although all lights etc work. Did you manage to sort out the problem? Any help would be appreciated.
Geoff Hunt


September 6, 2013, 9:34 pm

Can someone with rheumatoid arthritis in the legs ans feet use the circulation booster.

Jane Turner

September 25, 2013, 10:28 am

I found that I had no feeling but then I put some moisteriser on the base of my feet, ranked up the nos and nearly leapt of the seat, I think that sometimes it is that your feet are sooo dry that there is no circuit. I hope that this helps you.


October 1, 2013, 4:00 pm

I don't have so much problem with cold feet but I have always icy cold. I am afraid to shake hands with somebody. I move around a lot with my dog, so that is not a problem. Would that device help me?

comments powered by Disqus