HP iPAQ 914c Business Messenger video review

By

Reviewed:

Read the full HP iPAQ 914c Business Messenger review

When considered on its own, HP's iPAQ 914c isn't a bad phone at all. In fact it's among the better Windows Mobile BlackBerry copies around. The keyboard is good, the screen not bad, it's stuffed with features and the battery life is impressive.

More Mobile Phone Videos

Garfee

August 20, 2008, 5:20 am

What a reassuring review for someone who recently purchased an E71 (and very happy with it too).





I guess this phone fills whatever market there is that MUST use windows mobile. Perhaps if they ruggedised the phone, with that battery and the OS could be quite helpful out in the field.





I must note, that very little was said about the OS. Has it not been customised at all by HP?

TheLostSwede

August 20, 2008, 9:27 am

It would be nice if the reviewer could be arsed to include things like CPU and memory specifications, as well as any memory expansion options, as these things are quite important when it comes to Windows Mobile devices unlike most other phones.

Jay Werfalli

August 20, 2008, 7:18 pm

Thanks Lars ;) - sorted!

Oliver Levett

August 21, 2008, 7:27 pm

I have to disagree with one of your points...





The WM Exchange client is (once you know where M$ put things!) very configurable. Peak times can be set for any day(s) of the week and any time block (although, the time is the same for each day).

purephase

August 25, 2008, 1:48 am

I think handsets like this really hit home just how good the E71 is. Better in every respect (unless as Garf pointed out you absolutely must have Windows Mobile).





Was having a play with a blackberry bold today - it's a nice handset, but it's huge in comparison to the N71, and has no more features.

nick4511

September 18, 2008, 1:51 pm

Hi I bought my HP IPAQ914C Last week & so far i am pretty happy with its performance . being a long time windows mobile user i have had/owned my fair share of WM Phones ...i must say despite having a slow 416MHZ Processor the HP IPAQ feels and runs faster than the Touch Diamond . The Key board is fast and intuitive and the battery has a lot of juice for all day mobile computing ..only thing i wish is if this phone had a better resolution screen...

Jim Simpson

October 10, 2008, 7:09 pm

I've had it for a month now and I'm very pleased. It replaces an MDA Compact III whose biggest problem was a very slow processor. The 914c is much faster: I'm using it with a T-Mobile SIM and have CoPilot 7 GPS. I like WM 6.1! Email/Internet are easy to use (keyboard is tough for "fat fingers" at first, but OK now).Battery life is good, even with GPS/camera. The camera is good, though I haven't been able to set a "click" for the shutter yet. I intended to get a Touch Pro but on the whole, at about 𧵎 less, this is better value. Definitely a satisfied customer.

levinas

December 23, 2009, 2:41 pm

I use it businesswise +/- 6 months. It's a company's mobile. IMHO this smartphone is really a joke. The major problems are powerconsumption and battery lifetime, freez of application and not user friendly network management. The battery of this phone cannot handle a day with a wifi on. Not to mention the use of other application. Don't even try installing them on your unit (like naviagation software, backup software, skype, other) because this phone is going to die on you almost the minute you do... if you tend to use built-in features like GPS or WIFI or Bluetooth, be sure to switch it off immediatly after you've used them. As IT specialist in our company, I give support to my collegues using those and main issues are the ones I've mentioned above.





As to the desing, it looks nice, but is really big and takes a lot of space in your pockets. The keyboard is a nice feature though and the fact that you can use high density SD cards is also a plus (you can't use those cards with IPAQ 614).





Owning this phone is like being in prison: you have to think to recharge it almost every day! think not to forget the charger... and above all... not to forget your phone with you, cause it so huge you don't want to "wear it" on you all the time.





And one more fault in design: the phone is being charged by the same entry your headset is using to produce audio... so no mp3 or handsfree calling when charging. Given the quality of the battery, and the fact that the phone has to charge almost all the time, it means no music and handsfree calling at all





So as far as I am concerned this phone is big big big rubish.





So be aware.

comments powered by Disqus