HP HDX18-1005ea 18.4in Notebook video review

Andy Vandervell

By

Reviewed:

Read the full HP HDX18-1005ea 18.4in Notebook review

If you're after a desktop replacement with all the trimmings but don't want to pay the earth, the HP HDX18-1005ea should definitely be on your list. It has all the features a multimedia machine should have, looks the part and makes for an excellent day-to-day family PC.

More Laptop Videos

ilovethemonkeyhead

February 3, 2009, 11:18 am

with the hp laptop touchpad drivers, did you find that after re awaking it from sleep mode the touchpad would jump wildly from side to side whenever you try and move it after a few seconds?

Andy Vandervell

February 3, 2009, 2:13 pm

No, never had that problem before.

GoldenGuy

February 3, 2009, 6:45 pm

Very very tempting for under a grand. Nice huge screen, Blu-ray drive, tons of ports. Plus the advent of Windows 7 means it might be safe to step back into the waters of the PC. Perhaps it just seems like less money because I've been browsing the space-time distorting prices of the Apple Store for the last month.

TechVegan

February 3, 2009, 7:46 pm

@ GoldenGuy: "because I've been browsing the space-time distorting prices of the Apple Store" lol.

ChrisC

February 4, 2009, 6:05 pm

I only play one online PC game these days (thanks to my Xbox 360) - which is Battlefield 2. Can anyone advise how well this laptop would cope with it?

smc8788

February 4, 2009, 7:10 pm

@ Chris C - I can't say for sure, but my current laptop has an 8600M GT 256MB compared to the slightly faster 9600M GT 512MB in this notebook, although that may depend on whether it uses GDDR2 or GDDR3 memory (on this note I would like to see this spec added to the feature table as many nVidia mobile cards offer both versions and can make quite a bit of difference in the performance stakes - GPU-Z is a useful utility: http://www.techpowerup.com/gpu...





Back on topic, BF2 is quite a few years old now, so my laptop was able to cope quite well with it if I remember correctly, even at mostly high settings, but you will likely have to turn the resolution down a couple of notches. The only games my card struggles with is anything made in the last couple of years or so, which I just play on my desktop anyway. HTH ;)

Anjana

February 6, 2009, 2:05 am

Please refrain from buying any HP Laptop. HP Products are technically flawed and HP never stands behind its products. Service is too poor and one shouldnot expect any replacement of parts..in most cases HP alleges that the laptop has been tampered with, screws missing, water damage or coffee/coke dropped inside Hardware parts(CPU). Tech. Support is run by liars and idiots stationed at Bangalore, INDIA. They are trained to take down wrong complaints. They never call back and never replace a product with manufacturing defects. SO PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM HP!! and warn all friends and family. HP is improving its profits and bottomline by giving poor post sales service and technically flawed products. Even a mail to Mark Hurd falls on deaf ears....Hope HP mends its ways before its too late.

Matthew Bunton

February 7, 2009, 5:29 am

@ Anjana whilst I appreciate that you have obviously suffered frustration with HP's service shouldn't you back up this rant with some form evidence rather than just accusations.

bodul

July 2, 2009, 12:41 pm

Yes, Anjana is wright because I recently had same experience with hp and support from Bangalore team. so I still don't know if my pavillion dv6500t support 800mhz fsb.

Archiebald McClumpherty

March 19, 2010, 1:41 am

I bought one of these last year and it came with the hated Vista and a whole load of useless HP software. Ditched that and spent a few months running Ubuntu, but gave up on that as the driver support wasn't quite up to scratch (particularly the wireless). Now running Windows 7 which would be ok except the fact I continually get the blue screen of death. Oh yes, and within a couple of months I had quite a few pixels on the screen fail on me. The casing isn't quite right as the plastic between the keyboard and the screen is buckled, which would indicate that it wasn't built quite right.





I use a HP laptop at work which seems to use a similar set of components, but that seems to work pretty well. Clearly this machine has been cobbled together and there's been no QA done on it to make sure it's been designed and built correctly.





Long and the short of it is that it's been a pain in the ass since I got it and wish I hadn't bought it. Will never buy an HP laptop again.

comments powered by Disqus