Home / Computing / Printer / HP Deskjet D1660

HP Deskjet D1660 review

By

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR

1 of 6

HP Deskjet D1660
  • HP Deskjet D1660
  • HP Deskjet D1660
  • HP Deskjet D1660
  • HP Deskjet D1660
  • HP Deskjet D1660
  • Deskjet D1660 Inkjet Printer (20 PPM, 4800x1200 DPI, Color, PC/Mac)

Summary

Our Score:

9

User Score:

At the entry-level end of the inkjet market, there are a number of printers available, but few at the price of HP's new Deskjet D1660. From Internet suppliers like Amazon, you can pick one up for well under £30, so what do you get for that kind of money?

Few printer makers give any thought to how difficult it is to photograph a printer entirely clad in high-gloss black plastic, which reflects anything in its immediate surroundings and shows every fingerprint and dust particle. The Deskjet D1660 does both these things, but we accept that neither will be troublesome to the average customer.

As you might expect, the design of the printer is pretty simple. It has average width for an A4 printer, but is considerably less deep than most. It uses HP's trademark print path which takes paper from, in this case, a fold-down tray at the front and feeds it back out on top of the input stack. There's no output tray as such, but the technique is cheap and cheerful and works surprisingly well. As there's no cover to the paper sheets, you'll probably want to remove and store them when you're not printing, which is a bit fiddly.

There's no control panel on the machine and a single power button with an inset green LED shows when the machine is active. A single USB connection at the back is the only way of getting data into the printer and a small, black block power supply provides low voltage power.

Pull down a small cover at the front and the twin ink and head cartridges move to the centre of the carriage for replacement. There's a black cartridge and a tri-colour one and these clip into place in a matter of moments. Software is basic, but adequate, and includes HP's Solution Center, as well as drivers for Windows and OS X. Given its simplicity, it takes a while to install.

blyndy

September 29, 2009, 7:30 pm

They're STILL using combined cartridges? no thank-you. I've had three such HP printer over the past four years and they where both terrible! Having to throw away half-full combined cartridges. Driver software that requires two hours messing on the internet just to get working. External power supplies with non-standard power connector and last but not least; cartridges that 'expire'!? What a joke.





I refuse to buy any more 'basic' two-cartridge HP printers. I gave HP one last try, hoping that they could still make printers like their previous Laserjets. Thankfully the four-cartridge Officejet pro k850 was much more acceptable. It was more expensive, and it still has an external power supply despite its size, but at least it has a standard connector, I can fully use the ink I paid handsomely for and the cartridges don't play silly games (so far anyway).





All-in-all I would have to say that despite the 'recommended' award by Trusted Reviews, I would steer well clear of this and other 'value' HP printer and I recommend that others do the same.

iain coghill

September 29, 2009, 8:04 pm

Quote: "Few printer makers give any thought to how difficult it is to photograph a printer entirely clad in high-gloss black plastic, which reflects anything in its immediate surroundings and shows every fingerprint and dust particle."





May I suggest you invest in a can of Dulling Spray, such as this stuff: http://www.swkenyon.com/frame2...





In my (very) short time assisting a commercial studio photographer we used a ton of the stuff.

jake120

September 29, 2009, 8:46 pm

I agree with blyndy about the tri-color cartridges.


I do have a question.


If HP bases its print speed on draft mode then are we to assume that their cartridges capacity is also based on draft mode? The reason I ask is that I have never been able to get close to hp’s stated cartridge capacity even using products with 4 separate cartridges. When you do a test of the product do you run the cartridge until empty or check the percentage or page count remaining after your test to verify approximate capacity?

Tony Walker

September 29, 2009, 10:47 pm

That power connector looks downright dangerous.





And another "will never buy a printer that uses a tri-colour cartridge" here. I also advise friends and family against it - whilst the printers may be 50p cheaper, you spend many-fold over that in wasted ink when just one of your colours (blue in my experience) runs out.

Technology changes, and so sho

September 29, 2009, 10:59 pm

Having recently cleaned out my aging DeskJet995c (I love the Bluetooth connection), I can attest to two things:


1) Inkjet printers waste a tonne (yes, the metric weight variety) of ink just next to where the heads park. I found a positive stalagmite of ink (obviously deposited as part of an over-zealous head cleaning procedure before each print).


2) Cleaning inkjet printers is nowhere near as hard as people make out and I was able to recover excellent results with minimum effort (just make sure you clean more than the printer heads, but also all the wipers blades and the little cups the heads sit in while at rest). You will then need to replace your printer far less often.

Keithe6e

September 30, 2009, 6:18 pm

I've had numerous printers, Epson's, Canon's etc, but I must admit HP are the best.


But like some have pointed out, maybe stay away from Tri-Colour cartridge types. I've got an Officejet with 5 separate colour cartridges and one black. In the past both Epson & Canon every time I never used the printer for say a week, I would need go through the whole head cleaning process, wasting loads of ink etc. I can sometimes go months without using my Officejet and the first print that comes out is perfect every time.

Marios Todhris

October 3, 2009, 2:23 pm

i'm using only Hp Printers the last 10 years, i think is the king of printers, ok, there are some few models of canon which are really good quality. Regarding the above printer (d1660) we are talking for 29,99, actually the customers is payibg only the inks. Is the best quality entry level printer.

Jay4d0

October 4, 2009, 6:27 am

I've got an older similar version of this and as a person who never prints anything just the very odd letter or picture the total cost over about 5 years is about £40 (£30 for the printer and £10 for a new tricolour and a black together) it's been very good value indeed.


but I do agree that if you print a lot of colour then a separate ink printer would probably work out cheaper but if you print text a lot then a black ink in this should prove a lot cheaper.

steve 37

February 2, 2010, 11:36 pm

this printer is an ink junkie I bought one yesterday for £35.00 and i used the introductory black cardtridge within the first 15 mins by printing only 70 pages of actionscript code.I purchased a new cartridge today priced £14.00 i continued printing the code and this cartridge managed 120 pages of actionscript code before dying,I have had other printers that print 2 and 3 times that for the same price,I wouldnt mind but half of the pages are not even full complete lines anyhone who has read actionscript will know what I mean

Craig Turner

April 1, 2010, 5:58 pm

I recently bought one from finding it via the refine search tool above, and I have to say its great. I do not need an all singing/dancing printer/copier/tea-maker machine. This may be basic but it prints good quality prints and isn't slow! Very happy.

fanaudi

April 26, 2010, 9:22 pm

Excellent ! Exactly what I needed to replace my old D930C still in perfect condition but not recognized by W7 in spite of what HP say on their site .


There is no USB cable in the box . The D1660 is noisy but cheap and prints good and fast . The installation on my pc( an old HP Pavilion 32-bit from 2004 ) was incredibly easy and took less than 5 minutes .


If you don't need to print hundreds of pages every month , buy it !

Linux geek

June 16, 2010, 8:47 pm

I needed a cheap printer to print about 4 pages per week. This printer looks like it will fit the bill. But oh! what a long time the software took to install on XP, about 4 minutes and there were 8 items. I notice that there are 4 processes running and believe that the HP software may be a bit of a resource hog. On my Linux Ubuntu 9.10 system (my PC is dual boot) the software, HPLIP, is in the repository and just needed installing which happened in less that a minute. Also needed was the Python written frontend.

worcester1066

September 3, 2010, 12:11 am

I've just wasted 5 minutes of my life to register on this site to tell you to NOT BUY THIS PRINTER, I hope this saves you some money and a few hours trying to get this pile of junk to work. When it does work the print copy is what you expect from a cheap printer, cheap but also nasty and that I didn't expect. I bought it for my kids and they have more patience but less money than me and they already want to spend their cash on another printer. I hope this helps.

Chuck Kopsho

June 29, 2013, 6:54 am

This printer does as advertized. Accept to imitations.

comments powered by Disqus