• Recommended by TR
Fujifilm FinePix S5700


Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

Battery duration appears to be excellent. Like the other Fuji superzooms the S5700 runs on four AA batteries, and Fuji makes no particular claim about battery life, but a standard set of alkaline batteries was still providing a full charge after well over 150 shots. As for card capacity, a freshly formatted 1GB card provides approximately enough space for 285 shots. One interesting point is that like the FinePix F40fd, the S5700 can accept both xD Picture and SD cards, thanks to a dual-purpose slot. Unlike the F40fd though it will accept SDHC cards.

Since I do bring it up from time to time, a quick mention also of the excellent 178-page printed manual. If Fuji can provide a full manual for a camera costing £130, why do other manufacturers (I'm looking at you Canon) provide CD manuals with mure expensive models?

The only weak point of the otherwise excellent S5600 was image quality, but the S5700 addresses all of the issues raised by that camera. Since it has no image stabilisation the S5700 relies on its high-ISO capability to provide a fast enough shutter speed to make the long zoom viable, and it certainly scores well in this area, although it’s not quite up to the levels of some other Fuji cameras. It uses a conventional 1/2.5-in CCD rather than Fuji’s own SuperCCD technology, and so it does suffer from some high-ISO noise, but pictures are still good up to 800 ISO, which is a pretty fair performance. However at 1600 ISO the image quality is quite poor, with serious colour noise problems. Unfortunately the "Anti-shake" mode sets this speed automatically, so it's best to avoid this option. Aside from that, overall image quality is excellent, with good exposure and colour rendition, and very good overall sharpness. The lens does produce quite bad barrel distortion at the wide-angle end, but makes up for it by providing tons of sharp detail right across the frame. The only bum note is that usual Fujifilm bugbear, massive purple fringes on all high-contrast edges. I really wish Fuji would solve this problem, because it is the only real fault with what is otherwise a superb camera.


The Fujifilm S5700 is an amazing bargain. It has style, good performance, manual exposure options, excellent low-light ability and fantastic handling, and tops it off with good image quality. That you can get a camera this good for under £130 is simply astonishing. If I could, I would give it 11 out of 10 for value.

Previous page
Next page

Stephen Kelly

June 21, 2008, 12:19 am

I bought this camera in an emergency! The photographer had let a friend down for her wedding. I used it to take the "official" pictures! The review above is very accurate, but i would like to add a few points. Firstly, the lens is not the best and the fringing IS a problem. The biggest problem is the colour. For long shots in low light, it is rather poor and for macro shots, is not as intense as Powershot models.

However, with a bit of manipulation using Photoimpact XL, the results were, at worst good, at best, superb. This is an excellent machine for the money.

I would NOT recommend using it for a main camera for such occassions, but take a wee bit of time to experiment and you will get fantastic results.

mike blakeman

July 25, 2008, 2:51 am

i got this camera from tesco 4 under 𧴜 i have to say i love it. There is a lot to play with and as it is my first Digital Camera it is going to take me to a hole new level of pic takin worth the money!!!


September 19, 2008, 9:44 pm

I bought one of these as an replacement for the fuji s5000 I had owned and used for a couple of years but the pictures taken with the s5700 are not a patch on the s5000 but i have no idea why. Just seem to lack sharpness and colour. video however is much better. A useable camera but not stunning.


January 6, 2009, 7:23 am

It only cost me 185euro..add an sdhc 4gb card at 6 euro and there's your package.i had all the time to play with it in the plane to the time i landed i was ready to use it.easy and compact.if you want an easy cam,with 10x zoom,many manual features for your first steps in photography,a cam that you won't care much if it falls off a cliff(try travelling with your EOS),..well it's made for you.the review of mr.Cliff Smith is very accurate... and at this price,there's no comparison.also try s5800...


April 2, 2009, 10:28 pm

It's not up there with the best of course but this camera delivers so much quality and features for so little money that you can't go worng. It's coming with me on my hols this year and it has been faithful and worked very well since I first owned it over a year ago. I think to get a worthwhile upgrade for a significantly improved camera you'll need to spend at least 𧶲 more.

Mandie Wiles

June 17, 2009, 3:22 pm

I recently purchased this camera from Tesco for £59, its my fust digital camera of this type and I am very pleased. I do need to learn to understand all the info to get the full potential out of my camera but what pixs I have taken so far are excellent.

steve 19

June 22, 2009, 4:17 am

i'd like to ask Mandie Wiles what tesco's she got this camera from for only £59 as i've looked and can't fine it anywhere at that price..?

Jo Catherine

August 18, 2009, 2:25 pm

Having only used a point and shoot film camera before (Olympus Mju 2) the S5700 was a new ball game to me. I wanted a good quality, easy-to-use camera which was not too cumbersome but enabled me to learn more about photography. I am really pleased with the S5700 (which had been recommended to me by a professional photographer) - especially the macro mode for close-ups of flowers and butterflies but the telephoto is also really useful. Am currently thinking about buying some filters but am also toying with buying a DSLR to expand my skills!


October 25, 2009, 6:44 pm

i cant understand why some people moan a bout a camera that cost under £130 quid about its quality of the colour etc what do they expect for the money some expensive cameras are not up to the job as well and ive had a few the finepix is a decent camera and will do the job that you want it to my pictures turn out ok theres an old saying you pay for what you get and i like this camera like i said before ive had expensive cameras that as given the same quality and worse so the people whom didnt like the camera in the first place why buy it

neil ronaldson

November 19, 2009, 5:16 pm

i bought one of these in south africa, well that's where i stay and its a brilliant camera - very happy with it, you do need to get 2 or 3 sets of batteries with an hour charger to be on the safe side with power but i must say the batteries last quite a while, for the money - excellent!


December 9, 2009, 6:39 pm

I bought such a camera in 2008. Before choosing it, I was carefully reading several reviews about the different cameras. I bought the S5700 because The trustedreviews said that this is a really good one. (almost the most important thing for me was the value, I thought that the value is more or less equal with stability, massiveness)

So it isn´t, we never had problems with the features or the image quality, but in general it is too fragile. After a year we have to use sticky tape for fixing the batteries, the flash doesn´t work anymore, or you have to open and fix it with your finger. So now I´m going to buy a new one again, and never ever again any Fujifilm product. I´m wondering whether the TR is sponsored by Fujifilm:-), because all the reviews are far too positive about them.


December 9, 2009, 9:19 pm

I´ve checked how much the repair would cost. It would be 150 €:-)


Joe Angster

July 25, 2010, 1:56 pm

I have had this camera for over 3 years now, I've taken 1000's of photos with it, my now 13 year old daughter had it with her for her school trip, and, dear radala, the battery cover closes as new, the flash operates as new and the whole camera looks like new. You might have mistaken a digital camera for a baseball bat or something similar to brake it into pieces! Since then I've tried two other Fuji cameras (1000fd and 2000HD), I returned them after a few days, and those cameras are the reason I'll not buy another Fuji but the 5700S keeps on making me happy still with its image quality and usability!

johan mann

April 19, 2014, 5:00 pm

I don't know why it comes up on my screen ""card error" the memory card is inserted correctly ,what can i do?

Kathleen Pollaro

July 5, 2014, 3:43 pm

when it shows battery low, do I replace the batteries 4 AA or is there a rechargeable battery somewhere?

Alec Bobmail Dumas Anon Fetty

January 3, 2015, 2:53 pm

I've owned this camera for a time, and I really love how well manages noise even at ISO 400 and ISO 800, where other cameras produce a mess -even ISO 1600 is somewhat usable- as well as the superb quality of its images. Battery capacity is also very good -with a set of four rechargeable 2500 mAh, I've obtained over five hundred shots-. Color balance is also very good.

However, it falls short on minimum and maximum exposure time -just 1/1000s and 4 seconds respectively when the S5600 had 1/4000s and 30s- and a wider lens with less fringes would have been much appreciated as well as the RAW mode the S5600 had.

comments powered by Disqus