Home / Cameras / Camera / Fujifilm FinePix S5700 / Fujifilm FinePix S5700

Fujifilm FinePix S5700 - Fujifilm FinePix S5700

By Cliff Smith

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Fujifilm FinePix S5700

Summary

Our Score:

9

User Score:

The S5700 has much the same features and options as the S5600, so not surprisingly it has many of the same controls. There are external buttons for exposure compensation and drive mode (continuous, auto-bracketing or top-three burst), but one change is the disappearance of the handy AF mode and manual focus button, the function of which has now been relegated to a menu option. Other options such as self timer, flash mode, macro mode and LCD brightness are secondary D-pad functions, while the camera also sports the familiar F button, with a little three-choice menu for ISO setting, picture quality and colour mode. To be honest I think it would be better to put these last two back on the main menu, and just have an ISO option button. Surely it would be less complicated than having two separate menus? As it is, the menu isn’t exactly overcrowded, with only white balance, metering mode, focusing mode, sharpness adjustment, bracketing interval and flash output.

Fortunately the main mode dial offers a little more versatility, with the usual auto and program modes joined by aperture priority, shutter priority and full manual exposure. The range of control is better than average for a manual compact, with a maximum aperture of f/3.5 and a minimum of f/13.6, and shutter speeds of four seconds to 1/1000th. Also available on the mode dial are two natural light modes, one with automatic slow-sync flash, two user program modes, the anti shake mode (which as we’ll see is best avoided) and the video mode. The S5700 can shoot at VGA resolution and 30fps with mono sound and electronic image stabilisation, and the zoom lens can be used while filming.

Performance figures are not discouraging. It starts up in about 2.5 seconds, which is slower than the S5600, but not annoyingly so. In single-shot mode, the shot-to-shot cycle time is approximately 2.4 seconds, which is reasonably quick, and in continuous shooting mode it can manage a shot approximately every 1.5 seconds, which while not blindingly fast is at least quicker than some compacts. The AF system is nice and quick too, at least in good light, locking on in less than half a second in most circumstances. The multi-area mode will usually find the right subject too. In low light it does slow down somewhat, but it will nearly always lock on within a couple of seconds, even in pitch darkness at a range of several meters thanks to a good AF assist lamp. The S5700’s low-light focusing is among the best I’ve seen.

Stephen Kelly

June 21, 2008, 12:19 am

I bought this camera in an emergency! The photographer had let a friend down for her wedding. I used it to take the "official" pictures! The review above is very accurate, but i would like to add a few points. Firstly, the lens is not the best and the fringing IS a problem. The biggest problem is the colour. For long shots in low light, it is rather poor and for macro shots, is not as intense as Powershot models.


However, with a bit of manipulation using Photoimpact XL, the results were, at worst good, at best, superb. This is an excellent machine for the money.


I would NOT recommend using it for a main camera for such occassions, but take a wee bit of time to experiment and you will get fantastic results.

mike blakeman

July 25, 2008, 2:51 am

i got this camera from tesco 4 under 𧴜 i have to say i love it. There is a lot to play with and as it is my first Digital Camera it is going to take me to a hole new level of pic takin worth the money!!!

manthatcan

September 19, 2008, 9:44 pm

I bought one of these as an replacement for the fuji s5000 I had owned and used for a couple of years but the pictures taken with the s5700 are not a patch on the s5000 but i have no idea why. Just seem to lack sharpness and colour. video however is much better. A useable camera but not stunning.

whereami

January 6, 2009, 7:23 am

It only cost me 185euro..add an sdhc 4gb card at 6 euro and there's your package.i had all the time to play with it in the plane to vienna.by the time i landed i was ready to use it.easy and compact.if you want an easy cam,with 10x zoom,many manual features for your first steps in photography,a cam that you won't care much if it falls off a cliff(try travelling with your EOS),..well it's made for you.the review of mr.Cliff Smith is very accurate... and at this price,there's no comparison.also try s5800...

SteveB

April 2, 2009, 10:28 pm

It's not up there with the best of course but this camera delivers so much quality and features for so little money that you can't go worng. It's coming with me on my hols this year and it has been faithful and worked very well since I first owned it over a year ago. I think to get a worthwhile upgrade for a significantly improved camera you'll need to spend at least 𧶲 more.

Mandie Wiles

June 17, 2009, 3:22 pm

I recently purchased this camera from Tesco for £59, its my fust digital camera of this type and I am very pleased. I do need to learn to understand all the info to get the full potential out of my camera but what pixs I have taken so far are excellent.

steve 19

June 22, 2009, 4:17 am

i'd like to ask Mandie Wiles what tesco's she got this camera from for only £59 as i've looked and can't fine it anywhere at that price..?

Jo Catherine

August 18, 2009, 2:25 pm

Having only used a point and shoot film camera before (Olympus Mju 2) the S5700 was a new ball game to me. I wanted a good quality, easy-to-use camera which was not too cumbersome but enabled me to learn more about photography. I am really pleased with the S5700 (which had been recommended to me by a professional photographer) - especially the macro mode for close-ups of flowers and butterflies but the telephoto is also really useful. Am currently thinking about buying some filters but am also toying with buying a DSLR to expand my skills!

ken

October 25, 2009, 6:44 pm

i cant understand why some people moan a bout a camera that cost under £130 quid about its quality of the colour etc what do they expect for the money some expensive cameras are not up to the job as well and ive had a few the finepix is a decent camera and will do the job that you want it to my pictures turn out ok theres an old saying you pay for what you get and i like this camera like i said before ive had expensive cameras that as given the same quality and worse so the people whom didnt like the camera in the first place why buy it

neil ronaldson

November 19, 2009, 5:16 pm

i bought one of these in south africa, well that's where i stay and its a brilliant camera - very happy with it, you do need to get 2 or 3 sets of batteries with an hour charger to be on the safe side with power but i must say the batteries last quite a while, for the money - excellent!

radala

December 9, 2009, 6:39 pm

I bought such a camera in 2008. Before choosing it, I was carefully reading several reviews about the different cameras. I bought the S5700 because The trustedreviews said that this is a really good one. (almost the most important thing for me was the value, I thought that the value is more or less equal with stability, massiveness)


So it isn´t, we never had problems with the features or the image quality, but in general it is too fragile. After a year we have to use sticky tape for fixing the batteries, the flash doesn´t work anymore, or you have to open and fix it with your finger. So now I´m going to buy a new one again, and never ever again any Fujifilm product. I´m wondering whether the TR is sponsored by Fujifilm:-), because all the reviews are far too positive about them.

radala

December 9, 2009, 9:19 pm

I´ve checked how much the repair would cost. It would be 150 €:-)


ridiculous...

Joe Angster

July 25, 2010, 1:56 pm

I have had this camera for over 3 years now, I've taken 1000's of photos with it, my now 13 year old daughter had it with her for her school trip, and, dear radala, the battery cover closes as new, the flash operates as new and the whole camera looks like new. You might have mistaken a digital camera for a baseball bat or something similar to brake it into pieces! Since then I've tried two other Fuji cameras (1000fd and 2000HD), I returned them after a few days, and those cameras are the reason I'll not buy another Fuji but the 5700S keeps on making me happy still with its image quality and usability!

johan mann

April 19, 2014, 5:00 pm

I don't know why it comes up on my screen ""card error" the memory card is inserted correctly ,what can i do?

Kathleen Pollaro

July 5, 2014, 3:43 pm

when it shows battery low, do I replace the batteries 4 AA or is there a rechargeable battery somewhere?

Alec Bobmail Dumas Anon Fetty

January 3, 2015, 2:53 pm

I've owned this camera for a time, and I really love how well manages noise even at ISO 400 and ISO 800, where other cameras produce a mess -even ISO 1600 is somewhat usable- as well as the superb quality of its images. Battery capacity is also very good -with a set of four rechargeable 2500 mAh, I've obtained over five hundred shots-. Color balance is also very good.

However, it falls short on minimum and maximum exposure time -just 1/1000s and 4 seconds respectively when the S5600 had 1/4000s and 30s- and a wider lens with less fringes would have been much appreciated as well as the RAW mode the S5600 had.

comments powered by Disqus