Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

Most of Epson's new range of inkjet all-in-one printers follow the same lines, with a matte and gloss black finish and incorporating an Auto Document Feeder (ADF) over the flatbed scanner. The Stylus Office BX300F is at the low end of the range and with a bit of careful comparison shopping, can be found for under £50.

The paper path in the printer is typical of most Epson designs, with pages feeding from a near-vertical, telescopic paper tray at the rear to another at the front. The paper support in the rear tray isn't quite as easy to use as in previous models, mainly because it no longer has a smooth face resting against the paper. Thus it's best to move the guide out to full width before inserting paper stock.

The black control panel is well laid out and includes a number pad for the machine's fax functions. It's unusual to find a machine at this price offering fax functionality and even with the ubiquitous spread of e-mail, fax is the technology which will not die mainly because it just works.

There's a 2-line by 16-character LCD display, without a backlight, making it sometimes awkward to view, unless you're standing directly in front of the machine. The feed tray for the ADF folds in to complete the curved lines of the all-in-one when it's not in use and at the back is a single USB socket, as well as separate sockets for phone line and handset.

Installation is painless, as the suite of Epson software, including a copy of Abbyy Finereader for OCR, is pretty much what has been offered with all Epson all-in-ones for the last year or so. It covers all the essentials, including a browser toolbar for easier printing of web pages.

You probably know we keep banging on about inaccurate speed measurements on printers and all-in-ones, and longing for the day when an ISO standard for speed measurement is released. Even so, the speeds quoted by Epson for this device are humdingers.

The company claims 31ppm for black print and 15ppm for colour. Even assuming these ratings are for draft mode, which on the Stylus Office BX300F produces faint print few would be happy with, we couldn't get more than 12ppm out of it, printing black.

Switch to standard print mode, which most people will use for everyday work, and the speed drops to 3.12ppm for black and just 1.00ppm for colour, about 1/10th and 1/15th of the speeds on the spec sheet. Even by printer maker's hyped standards, these take some beating and in real terms, waiting a full minute for a single, A4 colour page of text and graphics is ropey. It's less than half the speed, for example, of the £35 Canon PIXMA iP1900 and only marginally faster than Epson's own Stylus DX4400.

Next page


October 17, 2008, 4:43 pm

1. does it have duplex?

2. how well does it work under linux? without good linux support, this printer is just a standalone copier/fax machine to me.

bill 5

May 14, 2009, 3:26 am

Shortly after buying this printer it suffered a paper jam.I removed the paper by hand, but the computer keeps telling me that there is still a paper jam when this is not the case.I dont know how to reset the printer so as to get rid of the error message.I now have a printer i cannot use.It is very frustrating.I will return the printer tomorrow.

Paul 17

May 15, 2009, 2:05 pm

How can Epson get away with making absolutely false claims about their printing speeds?

The interface is time consuming to use and when the ink cartridges are full and the printer isn't used for some time, one or more of the cartridges has blocked or dried up.

What a load of hastle. I've had to replace cartridges just to get some printing done. I'm tempted to march the printer up to the highest mountain at the back of my house and hurl it all the way down. You can see I'm not at all impressed with this particular printer.


October 23, 2009, 4:08 am

just brought it so so sorry paper jams all too frequent for no good reason takes a compatible uses for a day then says replace cartridges as cartridge not recognized cant work out how to add an answer machine never again its back to hp for me


October 23, 2009, 4:43 am

help does anyone know how to get this monster to accept compatables


July 18, 2010, 7:16 am

Epson BX300F Office printer doesn&#8217t even do something as simple as print on the back of a business card: what use is that?

Don&#8217t waist your time and money buying one even though the name of the printer incorporates the name office. I wish companies would think more before naming there Crummy machines these office friendly machines when there clearly not. It don&#8217t even have a network input or wireless printing. So where did the office name come from? What a load of junk I wish I never paid out for it now. Waist of money

The fax answers when it wants and sometimes don&#8217t even print the fax at all

Getting board of Epson and there clams to office use, my £29 Lexmark printer printed on the business cards no problem, yet my Lexmark was a cheap machine

People say you get what you pay for! Not always true as my Epson cost 3 times more


November 7, 2010, 11:36 pm

I bought one for my accountant's workstation as a standalone machine. It's been used every day for well over a year now, and it keeps working (using only compatibles). It's very prone to banding, but over all, it's been a good workhorse

James Morgan

December 9, 2010, 5:36 pm

These printers work fine for a couple of weeks, maybe a month. Then they start throwing up error messages 'cannot recognise ink cartridge' even when the cartridges are still half full. We have very low usage; printing maybe 20 pages a day at most and yet we have to replace cartridges 2-3 times per week at £10-11 per cartridge. That makes it about 15p per page. It seems like a racket to me. But worse than that is the aggravation and stress it causes. Everytime you want to perform a simple task like print an invoice you have to spend time checking the nozzles, taking the cartridges out, puting them back, replacing them, charging them etc etc etc. At the minimum wage this added time pushes the cost per page up towards 20 or 30p per page. This has happened on 2 Epson printers I have bought. I will never buy Epson again.

Sorry that name has alrea

January 13, 2011, 5:47 pm

I've has one for over a year. printed probably 1 screenplay per day, so in the region of 50,000 pages using the cheapest paper (£2.39 a ream) and cheap Chinese compatible cartridges (£4.80 for 5 on eBay, 19ml - as opposed to 7.4ml in the genuine Epson ones) - costs about 80p per 110-page screenplay.

It *is* slow (3-4ppm standard, 25ppm draft) but what the hell, at that price, I'll wait :-)


March 2, 2012, 2:48 pm

Generally very good value for money for the small user. Does not reject budget ink cartridges. But you need the patience of Job. It is seriously slow. I just printed off a bank statement, admittedly with a little colour on it. It took 3 minutes! For one page!!

comments powered by Disqus