Eminent EM7075-DTS hdMedia Stream Media Player - Eminent EM7075-DTS hdMedia Stream

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers



Our Score:


Everything worked without a hitch, and the hdMedia Stream smoothly played back all supported files we tested. File formats it doesn’t support simply don’t appear in its file structure, which can be a bit confusing and indeed annoying but is a failure shared by most of these media players. Video can be fast forwarded or rewound at up to 16x while the Sigma 8655 allows for basic upscaling, so even standard definition material looked good.

Last but not least we come to the Eminent’s network functionality. Obviously this includes basics like streaming content from a NAS box, but other than that functionality is somewhat mixed. Where the WDTV Live offers YouTube, Flickr and Pandora (for online videos, photos and radio respectively), the hdMedia Stream has no Internet streaming services. However, it does offer DLNA, UPnP and SAMBA, with bittorrent and nzb download support thrown in for good measure. There is the possibility that more functionality will be added through future firmware updates, as there’s no reason these two players cannot match each other feature for feature when it comes to software. For now, you have to choose which feature set appeals the most, though again the Playon!HD offers the best of both worlds.

Overall then, we have a very capable and functional media player but one that is not without its faults and doesn’t stand out from the crowd. It offers a great selection of features and looks good doing it in terms of both the physical unit and its interface. Ultimately, what will make or break the Eminent is price. With the WDTV Live available for just under £100, for most consumers there might seem little reason to pay the extra £20 Amazon demands for the Eminent player – especially as Western Digital’s device offers an extra USB input, component video out and is smaller too.

However, Eminent does provide a class-leading five-year warranty, so for those who value peace of mind it’s pretty attractive. It’s also worth keeping in mind that the Eminent might soon be sold through other UK retailers and once availability increases its price should go down to at least match the WDTV Live. Finally, if you want the fullest feature set for the least money, the Asus O!Play HDP-R1 is still the media player to rule them all, and you can look forward to our review of Asus’ latest model, the O!Play HDP-R1 Air, coming soon.


Despite coming late to the media player game, Eminent has produced a singularly impressive media player in the EM7075-DTS hdMedia Stream. With its current UK pricing, however, it’s not a great value proposition compared to the competition, though a five-year warranty does compensate for this somewhat.

Overall Score


Scores In Detail

  • Value 6
  • Features 8
  • Design 8


February 15, 2010, 2:55 pm

Any chance of doing a mediaplayer round up? There's a whole load of them available at the moment (Asus O!Play, ACRyan Playon/Mini, Popcorn hour, Sumvision Cyclone, that Medion thing etc etc).

Andy Vandervell

February 15, 2010, 3:44 pm

I don't know about a round-up, but we'll have a review of the Play-on Mini shortly.


February 15, 2010, 3:45 pm

I am wondering what audio quality this device provides.

Although it is not wireless, is it a good alternative to a SqueezeBox or a Sonos system?


February 15, 2010, 4:32 pm

Would be good to see the Xtreamer in there too.


February 15, 2010, 8:12 pm

surely the acer aspirerevo r3600 for £20 pounds more makes this VERY little value for money.


February 15, 2010, 8:33 pm

@betelgeus: hehe, I was thinking of saying the same thing. I think the Revo is such an underrated piece of kit. You could even play some games like "Call of duty 4" on it. In fact I've been so happy with my little r3600, I'm thinking of upgrading to the R3610 with 4Gig ram & 500 Gig HD for a mere £271.58, and that's with Windows 7 Home Premium. How does Acer do it :).. Please people don't waste your money on these media players, stick XMBC on a Revo and it will playing anything you throw at it, plus you get a full PC to boot.


February 15, 2010, 9:00 pm

then there is the xbox 360 arcade for £99 at argos,just a shame microsoft are a bit slow on asthetics.


February 15, 2010, 9:40 pm

@betelgeus: I used to use the 360 as a Media Extender, but unfortunately. 1. It requires another PC with MCE/Vista/W7 etc running, 2. It's loud, Ok for games not so good for playing a movie. 3. Because it takes another PC & the 360 running, not so good on power consumption :), these Atom machines take very little power. And 4. like you pointed out asthetics, the Revo and these Media Players are very small and very quiet, and in fact you don't even see mine as I have it attached to the back of the TV. :)


February 16, 2010, 1:14 am

It plays Blu-ray ISO files off a USB. Can it play Blu-ray ISO files from a network location? I really need this.

If this doesn't, what other media device like this can play Blu-ray ISO files from a network location?

Rob 9

February 16, 2010, 1:21 am

I recently got the Sumvision Cyclone V2 Enclosure. This is better than anything I have tried and it made my WD HDTV completely redundant. It has been out for 3 months, are Trusted Reviews not reviewing this for some reason?.


February 16, 2010, 2:59 am

Can this play blu ray iso files that have not de-crypted first?

I.e. If I rip a blu ray using my PS3 directly to an external drive as an iso file using Linux / dd, could it play that? Or would I have to de-crypt the disk first using something like AnyDVDHD?

Would I be able to access blu ray menus and special features in the same way as when I play a disk natively on a blu ray player?


Alex 25

February 17, 2010, 1:24 pm

I have this unit and it beats the cheapy china Sumvision thing on all points. The CPU is much better and faster versus the Realtek boxes. Yes, it play BluRay over the network, and they need to be decrypted as with other players.(Nothing on the market plays un-decrypted BD content!) Only needs ~50Mbits to do so as well. There's some things missing in this review though: The excellent Usenet and BitTorrent clients (NZBget & Transmission) which come in very very handy to fill up any USB disk, AND The audio support: TrueHD and DTS-HD/MA are supported on HDMI1.3, WMA is supported (not on the WD Live..)

All those little extras really add up!


February 18, 2010, 5:12 pm


We tried contacting the manufacturer about getting one in but they were unresponsive.

@betelgeus & Keith:

Yes nettops like the Revo are an excellent alternative to media players, but they're also slightly more expensive, often noisier (as not passively cooled), still larger, don't offer a remote (at that price point) or any non-digital HD video outputs for those (admittedly few) with older HD TVs. Still, it's an alternative I should have mentioned in my review.

As Keith pointed out, Xbox 360 is not really a viable alternative though.


Well, Alex has pretty much answered all the questions here...

As he says, yes, it can play Blu-ray ISO files from any shared storage and

@MonkeyMarsh: nothing except a Blu-ray player can play back encrypted Blu-ray ISOs.

As to your second question, while the Eminent offers basic BD navigation it won't offer the special menus you'd get with a player.


"There's some things missing in this review though"

From the review:

"with bittorrent and nzb download support thrown in for good measure" and

"In terms of audio the Eminent can handle WMA".

Where TrueHD and DTS-HD are concerned, as far as I'm aware the player 'supports' these only in that it can isolate their 5.1 'core-stream'. It only offers true support for standard Dolby and DTS.

BTW, Eminent has just informed me a firmware update is planned that will bring YouTube support and a few other great features to the EM7075, and we'll take another look at the unit when this happens.

Rob 9

February 26, 2010, 3:37 am


I doubt it beats the Sumvision. Have you tried it or are you just a brand snob. The Sumvision plays everything as well as my high power PC does i.e perfectly. Why pay £50 more for a quite frankly very ugly looking block with an odd looking usb slot in the front that requires an extra non-matching external drive?

comments powered by Disqus