Home / Computing / Peripheral / Eminent EM7075-DTS hdMedia Stream Media Player

Eminent EM7075-DTS hdMedia Stream Media Player review

Ardjuna Seghers



1 of 8

Eminent EM7075-DTS hdMedia Stream Media Player
  • Eminent EM7075-DTS hdMedia Stream Media Player
  • Eminent EM7075-DTS hdMedia Stream Media Player
  • Eminent EM7075-DTS hdMedia Stream Media Player
  • Eminent EM7075-DTS hdMedia Stream Media Player
  • Eminent EM7075-DTS hdMedia Stream Media Player
  • Eminent EM7075-DTS hdMedia Stream Media Player
  • Eminent EM7075-DTS hdMedia Stream Media Player
  • HD Media Player Stream Player


Our Score:


Media players are becoming ever more common as the market for them keeps growing. Many tech-savvy video enthusiasts back up their DVD and Blu-ray collections digitally, or buy films in digital format through the Internet. For playing these back, a media player can be a cheap and flexible alternative to a dedicated Home Theater PC (HTPC), especially as the quality and functionality of these devices continues to improve. So today we're looking at another model, this time from Eminent - the EM7075-DTS hdMedia Stream.

This media player makes a good first impression thanks to a comprehensive bundle of extras in the box. You get a remote with batteries, HDMI cable, composite cable, optical digital audio cable (by no means a common inclusion), and even an Ethernet cable. The power cable for the media player itself is very unusual, in that it includes a handy power switch integrated halfway between the device and power brick. This allows you to tuck the box out of the way while still easily powering it off if you don’t like to leave devices in standby.

The EM7075-DTS is larger than the Western Digital WDTV Live with which it shares very similar capabilities. While by no means as cumbersome as the huge A.C.Ryan ACR-PV73100 Playon!HD due to the lack of an internal hard drive, it’s roughly comparable to Asus’ O!Play HDP-R1 in both size and looks. It sports a glossy piano-black finish that scratches easily and shows dust off to best advantage, though with a little care this shouldn’t be too much of a problem.

Build quality leaves no room for complaint though, as there wasn’t a hint of flex or creak. Also, as it doesn’t contain any moving parts the unit is completely silent in operation. At the player’s front is a blue power LED that changes to red when in standby, and there are separate indicators for USB and LAN activity.

Connectivity is the first area where this player lags a little behind the competition. For example, it only offers a single USB input where the WDTV offers two and the O!Play features a dedicated USB plus combined USB/eSATA connection. It also lacks the component video output of Western Digital’s device, though this is only a concern for those who own older high definition televisions without HDMI or DVI.

However, for the remainder there’s little to complain about. It might lack wireless capabilities, but an Ethernet port is provided for hooking the hdMedia Stream up to a network. A separate digital audio output is provided along with composite video and stereo audio connectors, and the HDMI output is version 1.3. On connectivity alone the ACR-PV73100 Playon!HD still trumps all its competitors, but one unique feature of the Eminent is a 3.5mm jack for hooking up an IR extender. It’s a handy feature though the required extension is not included in the box.


February 15, 2010, 2:55 pm

Any chance of doing a mediaplayer round up? There's a whole load of them available at the moment (Asus O!Play, ACRyan Playon/Mini, Popcorn hour, Sumvision Cyclone, that Medion thing etc etc).

Andy Vandervell

February 15, 2010, 3:44 pm

I don't know about a round-up, but we'll have a review of the Play-on Mini shortly.


February 15, 2010, 3:45 pm

I am wondering what audio quality this device provides.

Although it is not wireless, is it a good alternative to a SqueezeBox or a Sonos system?


February 15, 2010, 4:32 pm

Would be good to see the Xtreamer in there too.


February 15, 2010, 8:12 pm

surely the acer aspirerevo r3600 for £20 pounds more makes this VERY little value for money.


February 15, 2010, 8:33 pm

@betelgeus: hehe, I was thinking of saying the same thing. I think the Revo is such an underrated piece of kit. You could even play some games like "Call of duty 4" on it. In fact I've been so happy with my little r3600, I'm thinking of upgrading to the R3610 with 4Gig ram & 500 Gig HD for a mere £271.58, and that's with Windows 7 Home Premium. How does Acer do it :).. Please people don't waste your money on these media players, stick XMBC on a Revo and it will playing anything you throw at it, plus you get a full PC to boot.


February 15, 2010, 9:00 pm

then there is the xbox 360 arcade for £99 at argos,just a shame microsoft are a bit slow on asthetics.


February 15, 2010, 9:40 pm

@betelgeus: I used to use the 360 as a Media Extender, but unfortunately. 1. It requires another PC with MCE/Vista/W7 etc running, 2. It's loud, Ok for games not so good for playing a movie. 3. Because it takes another PC & the 360 running, not so good on power consumption :), these Atom machines take very little power. And 4. like you pointed out asthetics, the Revo and these Media Players are very small and very quiet, and in fact you don't even see mine as I have it attached to the back of the TV. :)


February 16, 2010, 1:14 am

It plays Blu-ray ISO files off a USB. Can it play Blu-ray ISO files from a network location? I really need this.

If this doesn't, what other media device like this can play Blu-ray ISO files from a network location?

Rob 9

February 16, 2010, 1:21 am

I recently got the Sumvision Cyclone V2 Enclosure. This is better than anything I have tried and it made my WD HDTV completely redundant. It has been out for 3 months, are Trusted Reviews not reviewing this for some reason?.


February 16, 2010, 2:59 am

Can this play blu ray iso files that have not de-crypted first?

I.e. If I rip a blu ray using my PS3 directly to an external drive as an iso file using Linux / dd, could it play that? Or would I have to de-crypt the disk first using something like AnyDVDHD?

Would I be able to access blu ray menus and special features in the same way as when I play a disk natively on a blu ray player?


Alex 25

February 17, 2010, 1:24 pm

I have this unit and it beats the cheapy china Sumvision thing on all points. The CPU is much better and faster versus the Realtek boxes. Yes, it play BluRay over the network, and they need to be decrypted as with other players.(Nothing on the market plays un-decrypted BD content!) Only needs ~50Mbits to do so as well. There's some things missing in this review though: The excellent Usenet and BitTorrent clients (NZBget & Transmission) which come in very very handy to fill up any USB disk, AND The audio support: TrueHD and DTS-HD/MA are supported on HDMI1.3, WMA is supported (not on the WD Live..)

All those little extras really add up!


February 18, 2010, 5:12 pm


We tried contacting the manufacturer about getting one in but they were unresponsive.

@betelgeus & Keith:

Yes nettops like the Revo are an excellent alternative to media players, but they're also slightly more expensive, often noisier (as not passively cooled), still larger, don't offer a remote (at that price point) or any non-digital HD video outputs for those (admittedly few) with older HD TVs. Still, it's an alternative I should have mentioned in my review.

As Keith pointed out, Xbox 360 is not really a viable alternative though.


Well, Alex has pretty much answered all the questions here...

As he says, yes, it can play Blu-ray ISO files from any shared storage and

@MonkeyMarsh: nothing except a Blu-ray player can play back encrypted Blu-ray ISOs.

As to your second question, while the Eminent offers basic BD navigation it won't offer the special menus you'd get with a player.


"There's some things missing in this review though"

From the review:

"with bittorrent and nzb download support thrown in for good measure" and

"In terms of audio the Eminent can handle WMA".

Where TrueHD and DTS-HD are concerned, as far as I'm aware the player 'supports' these only in that it can isolate their 5.1 'core-stream'. It only offers true support for standard Dolby and DTS.

BTW, Eminent has just informed me a firmware update is planned that will bring YouTube support and a few other great features to the EM7075, and we'll take another look at the unit when this happens.

Rob 9

February 26, 2010, 3:37 am


I doubt it beats the Sumvision. Have you tried it or are you just a brand snob. The Sumvision plays everything as well as my high power PC does i.e perfectly. Why pay £50 more for a quite frankly very ugly looking block with an odd looking usb slot in the front that requires an extra non-matching external drive?

comments powered by Disqus