Elgato EyeTV NetStream DTT video review

By

Reviewed:

Read the full Elgato EyeTV NetStream DTT review

If you've been looking for an easy way to watch live local TV on your laptop or remote computer then look no further than the Elgato EyeTV NetStream DTT. It is expensive but if you're in need of such a product it's still well worth considering.

More Peripheral Videos

MrHorizontal

July 30, 2010, 3:27 pm

Does look interesting, but no HD :(





Another alternative for HD freaks is for those with an HTPC or Macmini under the telly (like me), I'm thinking of the Hauppage HD-PVR via component to my V+ box and linking that to EyeTV on the mac and then streaming that - VLC has a plugin to EyeTV so you can either use EyeTV's builtin sharing options or VLC's streaming options...

kingosticks

July 30, 2010, 3:37 pm

If you just want to watch live TV on your laptop and you're not too fussy about picture quality and want to save £170, you could use tvcatchup instead. If this supported HD (and was less than £170) I'd love it.

CraigD

July 30, 2010, 3:42 pm

I've wanted a simple product for this purpose for some time but at £150+ when the world is going hd seems way to pricey for my needs. A cool product though and hopefully a more competitive priced competitor will follow.





on another note I'm surprised to see it appear to have an rf loop through so will need to be in a room with it's own aeriel outlet or more likely sit next to splitter box which would detract from it's small footprint.

Kimbie

July 30, 2010, 4:25 pm

Its not that it doesn't support Freeview HD, its that it doesn't support the UK version.





For whatever reason we are using DVB-T2 for our Freeview HD where as the rest of the world is using DVB-T.

Malderon

July 30, 2010, 4:37 pm

Sorry for the double post: link in previous post is wrong.





http://www.engadget.com/2008/0...


http://hd.engadget.com/2008/10...





As i said above, I havent got one of these myself (just the slingplayer regulare) but seems to be able to stream up to 1080i, as long as can connect via component (those with gen1 SkyHD box are in luck)





For sale at Expansys £190 http://www.expansys.com/d.aspx...

ffrankmccaffery

July 30, 2010, 8:56 pm

The name of the device got me all excited until i realized it did the reverse of what I actually wanted it to. Anyone know how to get Justin.tv or Ustream.tv onto their TV's?

scipio

July 31, 2010, 12:42 am

@ffrankmccaffery - you need something like the Sling Media Slingcatcher (a sort of reverse slingbox) which can stream internet content and media files over the network to your TV.


http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sling-...





Frankly, as this isn't wifi enabled and SD only, the SiliconDust HDHomeRun is probably a better bet and also works seamlessly with Media Center.

Geoff Richards

July 31, 2010, 3:45 am

For reference, here is our review of the Sling Media SlingCatcher


http://www.trustedreviews.com/...

ffrankmccaffery

July 31, 2010, 4:27 am

@scipio and @Geoff: Thanks for the replies, both are not only appreciated but helpful too. The Slingbox looks interesting particularly the option to fit the video window to the screen of your TV.

comments powered by Disqus