Home » Computing » Desktop PC » DinoPC Mini Carnivore » PCMark Vantage: Full Results

DinoPC Mini Carnivore - PCMark Vantage: Full Results

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers


Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

Scores In Detail


Our Score

Previous page


July 8, 2010, 4:40 pm

Great review thank you.

Interestingly, the most important piece of information about this article was the power draw. I have been considering building a Mini-ITX system with the Gigabyte/Intel combo, but on all the web trawling I did I could not see how much power it would require. Looking at the APC or similar power draw utilities it was looking like I would need between 140-180 watts of power to run one of these.

Having seen the power draw that your system pulled it would seem that I could get away with a 150 watt (or even 120Watt) PSU.

I would be interested if any other readers know of any acurate and up to date web-sites that can help with calculating power draw.

thank you


July 8, 2010, 5:29 pm


Glad you like it. Don't forget that the Radeon 5570 graphics card was the main power draw on this machine, so if you're happy with the integrated Intel graphics then it would use even less.


July 8, 2010, 5:37 pm


Try eXtreme Power Supply Calculator Lite:



July 8, 2010, 10:55 pm

To quote the review:

"Unfortunately, because of its low profile this card only offers DVI and DisplayPort, meaning you'll need an adapter to hook it up to the HDMI inputs on your TV, which is another inconvenience for using this as an HTPC."

The picture of the rear of the machine clearly shows an HDMI-out port?

Or am I going mad?


July 9, 2010, 2:57 pm


You're not going mad, but that HDMI port is for the on-board graphics on the motherboard, not for the ATI graphics card.

Geoff Richards

July 9, 2010, 3:07 pm

That's right. So you can have native DisplayPort, native DVI, or HDMI via DVI adapter


July 9, 2010, 6:54 pm

@pimlicosound - thank you, however this gives the same information as the APC checker. If you input a similar spec tp what is reviewed, it requests a 183 watt psu. I am happy to try a 120watt psu and use the onboard native graphics.


July 9, 2010, 9:30 pm


I wouldn't worry too much about what the power supply calculators say. Silent PC Review did a review of the older Antec ISK 300 case with 65W PSU and were able to run a C2D E7200 system OK - although it did push the limits of the system.


I would think that a 90W PSU would be just fine for building a low-powered Core i3 system with integrated graphics.


July 10, 2010, 4:20 am

@pimlicosound - thank you. I feel a little more confident now. now, where's my wallet...


October 6, 2010, 2:05 pm


According to datasheets

intel i3-530 TDP = 73W + Radeon HD 5570 TDP = 42.7W. Hence TOTAL TDP = should be higher than 115W considering we have the mobo, hdd, dvd drive, cooling fans etc.

But you mentioned in your review, the maximum power draw at full load = 95W.

Am I missing something here ?


October 6, 2010, 2:30 pm


Actually, I don't technically mention "full load" in the review :) but obviously the test was performed with the PC running some intensive software. You could get higher than this, our test is just an average indicator to give a general idea (we measure overall system power consumption at the wall socket, so in that regard it's pretty accurate).

comments powered by Disqus