Devolo dLAN 200 AV Wireless N pictures

1 of 4 pictures

Devolo dLAN 200 AV Wireless N
Devolo dLAN 200 AV Wireless N

4 Pictures - Devolo dLAN 200 AV Wireless N

  • Devolo dLAN 200 AV Wireless N
  • Devolo dLAN 200 AV Wireless N
  • Devolo dLAN 200 AV Wireless N
  • Devolo dLAN 200 AV Wireless N

Andy 17

January 24, 2011, 1:12 pm

Are these dual band, so they do 2.4ghz and 5ghz? (Couldnt see this on the review or site)


Thanks.

balloonatic

January 24, 2011, 1:15 pm

Ethernet over powerline is a rather polluting and lazy technology anyway. I hope it dies to better wireless technology before it has a chance to abuse the HF spectrum any longer. Crap engineering.

KultiVator

January 24, 2011, 2:31 pm

@Balloonatic - isn't you comment regarding this being 'polluting' true of WiFi - and in any other technology that generates a signal in the Electro Maganetic spectrum?





Curious as to why you're singling out powerline comms?





All comms without a closed circuit (i.e. dedicated wiring) are effectively 'leaky' to some extent - Wifi arguably much more so than powerline.

simonm

January 24, 2011, 2:50 pm

@balloonatic





I don't share your optimism about 'better wireless technology'.





For linking one end of my house to the other, I have gone through every generation of wireless, buying 802.11b, then g, the first MIMO products, range-boosting ones, 802.11n and 5.0GHz 802.11n. In my - clearly difficult - setup they all performed about the same: the link was 1-2 Mbps, but not stable, often below 1 Mbps or dropping out completely.





My experience, then, is that several generations of improvements have not done anything meaningful to address borderline wireless situations.





Ethernet over power gives me a stable 166 Mbps, and - although I've seen YouTube videos demonstrating interference - I have not observed any interference on analogue radio or anything else. Problem solved.

Retset

January 24, 2011, 2:53 pm

I am a big fan of powerline. I use it in non-wifi form at home with some Linksys kit. My father lives somewhere with massive stone walls so uses a kit similar to that reviewed to extend the wifi to the main living area.





It is one of the few technologies ever to 'just work'.

Den

January 24, 2011, 3:07 pm

I bought a set of these and they are really good. I've bought powerline adaptors before and they were a bit of a pain to set up, but these just work straight away. The Wi-Fi passkey is on the back of the adaptor so it's secure out of the box. I also get about 160-170Mbps connection. Wi-Fi coverage is also better than my Belkin N+ router.

GherkingTR

January 24, 2011, 3:46 pm

@ Retset





Same problem here with granite walls! A mix-up at a retailer's warehouse meant I got a 'free' Netgear Homeplug 1.0 Wifi adapter two years ago. They really are space savers, and great if you happen to be somewhere on your property that your normal Wifi can't reach - just plug in wherever you go.

Luan Bach

January 24, 2011, 3:49 pm

Lots of love of ethernet over powerline from me too. Working well in my house where wireless-n is very iffy.

JonDavid

January 24, 2011, 4:19 pm

Seems like quite a harsh overall score when the rest of the review is very positive. £90ish does not seem like bad value at all for what you are getting and Devolo kit has always been excellent for me.

Den

January 24, 2011, 5:30 pm

I thought the score was too low as well. These are the best homeplugs I have ever owned and now recommend them to my friends. My cheaper home plugs were way slower than these. I see that they did no speed test at all. These are in my opinion 9/10.





Would you score a Ferrari 5/10 just because it's expensive? Of course not ;-)

MrGodfrey

January 24, 2011, 5:54 pm

In fairness to Hugo the price really does seem quite high. But if I were feeling particularly mischievous I could point out that usually, very expensive small white devices that are said to "just work" are rated higher ;)

balloonatic

January 24, 2011, 7:09 pm

@KultiVator





It's a question of bandwidth. If you put a 50-100Mbps wide signal at 2.4GHZ, the bandwidth is only about 5% of the total freq, and across that range the physical properties of the wavelength are almost identical (i.e a 2.395GHz signal has almost identical properties to a 2.405GHz signal). Included in those properties are free space path loss - how long it takes for the power of your signal to weaken with distance from the transmission. 2.4GHz especially was chosen becuase of its short range (and it's highly absorbed by atmospheric - hence the reason microwave ovens use a similar freq) water If you centre your 50-100Mbps around 'baseband', i.e. <=100MHz, you march all over the lower frequencies which have all sorts of different uses. 3MHz has very different properties to 7MHz which has very different properties to 30MHz - although amateur radio people use all of them to send signals around the world - they propagate enormous distances. These PLTs can march all over these signals, used by emergency services, amateurs, scientific researchers conducting atmospheric or ionospheric experiments, you name it. 0-100MHz is the most incredible rock-pool, if you want to think of it like that, full of all sorts of different wildlife. 2.4-30GHZ is much less exciting (just a big empty beach) where it does less damage to put signals.





So all the people giving a thumbs up to their PLTs should know that it comes at a cost, and that it's pretty shitty engineering, and really shouldn't be used with a clear conscience.

Hugo

January 24, 2011, 7:14 pm

MrGodfrey - they don't have alternatives that do exactly the same thing for half the price. And they're no longer white ;)

MrGodfrey

January 24, 2011, 7:28 pm

Hugo - sorry I just had to push that button, luckily no-one took the bait ;)





balloonatic: Given that you are essentially implying that those of us using Powerline/Homeplug systems are heartless bastards, please clarify: Are you seriously suggesting that use of these systems will endanger lives and stifle scientific research... or will it merely inconvenience hobbyists?

KultiVator

January 24, 2011, 7:49 pm

@balloonatic - the last time I checked this area out, research suggested a 2.4GHz Wifi signal could propagate around 100 meters outdoors in ideal conditions - in all directions. Powerline Ethernet was suggested to travel around 25 meters before attenuation rendered the signal useless but would of course be confined to the mains supply cabling. At this distance you'd likely only affect your immediate neighbours - and then only if they too are using the same tech (which incidentally includes strategies for dealing with such


Interference').





Things move on - and my research was related primarily to the security aspects of Powerline technology, but wonder if I'm missing something in your logic?

BeardedHawk

January 24, 2011, 8:41 pm

@MrGodfrey - as I understand it the claims about "emergency services" relate to the point that Amateur Radio is also recognised by the Cabinet Office as a component of UK emergency services.





Personally I'll be buying some of these and using them with a *crystal* clear conscience.

simonm

January 24, 2011, 10:25 pm

@balloonatic





Ofcom has recently completed an extensive analysis and published a 156-page report. In their view if power control and notching are correctly implemented the possibility of HF interference is 'Negligible'.





http://stakeholders.ofcom.org....

supersizeme

January 25, 2011, 12:41 am

Powerline ethernet has been mine and many others (according to the responses) saviour. I shall bow to Balloonatic's superior technical knowledge, but would urge anyone to go to this kind of solution. Wireless N is the first time I have managed to get any kind of "decent" signal around my house, but with 2 kids and a terrabyte disk full of ripped DVD's, we can all watch films streamed all over the house at any times with no dropout or slowdown.





Am re-ripping to 720P and can watch in 2 rooms simultaneously with no slowdown. It truly is fantastic.





The product reviewed here also provides multiple (3) ethernet extensions which means I can plug the Xbox 360 and PS3 in hard wired in my converted garage (3 walls away from the virgin provided router.





Is £90 that expensive for such a neat solution....

Goodmane

January 25, 2011, 3:36 am

I also love 200Mb homeplugs. I can't believe they're so little known. They make a mockery of device ranges like blue ray players and TVs where you have to pay a fortune for wifi, but can have ethernet port for pennies.





I also have a wireless n router and wouldn't be without wireless, but use homeplugs for everything but the laptop.

Caleb9ce

January 25, 2011, 11:10 pm

Proponents of wireless forget about one other aspect and that is ping. I get 35ms with a powerline adapter while on the same connection I get 80-100 ping on wifi. I game a lot online and anything above 80ms is absolutely crap for online gaming.

comments powered by Disqus