Read the full Dell Inspiron M301z review

It has the looks, and it's great to use, but the M301z isn't quite the marvel its smaller cousin is. If you care little for performance it's a very nice, portable machine, but it compromises a little too much performance and features for our liking.

More Laptop Videos


September 9, 2010, 11:52 am

'Other features include 802.11n Wi-Fi, the fastest kind currently available'

It's nothing of the sort ... just as the LAN is a budget 10/100, this is a budget g/n card. Fastest available is are a/g/n cards with 3x3 antennae (Intel 5300/6400 etc).

These details are important to those of us running WiFI @ 5GHz to avoid the 30+ G networks in surrounding flats ...


September 9, 2010, 2:59 pm

Just to note, with your first graph for System Performance running PCMark Vantage you have listed the Dell Inspiron M101z as a comparison machine but in the text and all subsequent graphs you refer to the HP Pavilion dm3. Did something slip through the net perhaps?


September 9, 2010, 3:15 pm

Bit disappointing. I had high hopes after reading your review of its sibling.

A bit unrelated but what really annoys me about today's laptops is that 15.4" laptops have the same resolution as 11.6" laptops... if you're giving us a bigger screen at least give up more desktop space. 768 pixels is just too short for me.

Andy Vandervell

September 9, 2010, 3:26 pm

@LC437: Thank you, that's been fixed.


September 9, 2010, 3:33 pm

@Andy Vandervell

You're more than welcome! Also, props to the superb and succinct review of the M101z, it ultimately lead me to replacing my rather beat-up Samsung Q320 with the Dell due to concerns about the lifespan of the Sammy if it were to be dragged to and from University every day. The M101z is a fantastic laptop which makes it a pity that Dell couldn't replicate the excellent keyboard for the M301z.


September 9, 2010, 5:32 pm

I recently saw the M301z at PC World and wasn't very impressed with the finish - seemed a bit tinny to me so I bought the HP Pavillian DM4 instead.


September 10, 2010, 3:17 am

Is there a reason why some laptop reviews have a feature table but others don't? Is it just down to the reviewer?


September 21, 2010, 5:16 pm

Why would you choose to buy something with a lid so flimsy that it dents while under review - see the second illustration?


November 25, 2010, 11:30 pm

"Where the M301z does stumble, however, is battery life. While its 259 minutes (2hrs, 19mins) result..."

I make 259 minutes to be 4hrs, 19 mins?

comments powered by Disqus