Home / Computing / Laptop / Dell Inspiron M301z / PCMark Vantage: Full Results

Dell Inspiron M301z - PCMark Vantage: Full Results

Andy Vandervell

By Andy Vandervell

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

7

User Score:

Overall Score

7

Scores In Detail

  • Battery Life 7
  • Design 9
  • Features 7
  • Performance 7
  • Value 7

gagagaga

September 9, 2010, 11:52 am

'Other features include 802.11n Wi-Fi, the fastest kind currently available'





It's nothing of the sort ... just as the LAN is a budget 10/100, this is a budget g/n card. Fastest available is are a/g/n cards with 3x3 antennae (Intel 5300/6400 etc).





These details are important to those of us running WiFI @ 5GHz to avoid the 30+ G networks in surrounding flats ...

LC437

September 9, 2010, 2:59 pm

Just to note, with your first graph for System Performance running PCMark Vantage you have listed the Dell Inspiron M101z as a comparison machine but in the text and all subsequent graphs you refer to the HP Pavilion dm3. Did something slip through the net perhaps?

PoisonJam

September 9, 2010, 3:15 pm

Bit disappointing. I had high hopes after reading your review of its sibling.





A bit unrelated but what really annoys me about today's laptops is that 15.4" laptops have the same resolution as 11.6" laptops... if you're giving us a bigger screen at least give up more desktop space. 768 pixels is just too short for me.

Andy Vandervell

September 9, 2010, 3:26 pm

@LC437: Thank you, that's been fixed.

LC437

September 9, 2010, 3:33 pm

@Andy Vandervell


You're more than welcome! Also, props to the superb and succinct review of the M101z, it ultimately lead me to replacing my rather beat-up Samsung Q320 with the Dell due to concerns about the lifespan of the Sammy if it were to be dragged to and from University every day. The M101z is a fantastic laptop which makes it a pity that Dell couldn't replicate the excellent keyboard for the M301z.

DNH

September 9, 2010, 5:32 pm

I recently saw the M301z at PC World and wasn't very impressed with the finish - seemed a bit tinny to me so I bought the HP Pavillian DM4 instead.

PoisonJam

September 10, 2010, 3:17 am

Is there a reason why some laptop reviews have a feature table but others don't? Is it just down to the reviewer?

Pepperrell

September 21, 2010, 5:16 pm

Why would you choose to buy something with a lid so flimsy that it dents while under review - see the second illustration?

InformalAlchemy

November 25, 2010, 11:30 pm

"Where the M301z does stumble, however, is battery life. While its 259 minutes (2hrs, 19mins) result..."


I make 259 minutes to be 4hrs, 19 mins?

comments powered by Disqus