Home / Computing / Peripheral / D-Link DHP-307AV

D-Link DHP-307AV review



1 of 5

D-Link DHP-307AV
  • D-Link DHP-307AV
  • D-Link DHP-307AV
  • D-Link DHP-307AV
  • D-Link DHP-307AV
  • DHP-307AV/B PowerLine Homeplug AV Network Starter Kit


Our Score:


As great as wireless networking is, it has its issues. Whether it’s the variability of the signal strength, high latency, the susceptibility to interference or the annoying hassle of connecting a device that isn't Wi-Fi capable natively to a wireless network, there's something to frustrate everyone. Thank providence, therefore, for Ethernet--over-powerline adaptors such as the D-Link DHP-307AV Powerline AV Network Starter Kit.

The DHP-307AV package isn't complicated, comprising of two powerline adaptors, a 'quick start' CD and two Ethernet cables. The adaptors are rated at 200Mbit, though as ever that figure would barely be achievable with the devices plugged next to each other in a two-plug socket, let alone with them in different rooms. The kit also supports 128-bit AES encryption, which should be enough to thwart the attempts of all but the most dedicated of eavesdroppers on your network communication.

The D-Link DHP-307AV kit can be had for just shy of £70, which isn't too expensive at all. Time was when 200Mbit adaptors like the Netgear HDXB101 were pushing close to £130, so it's good to see the technology reaching more affordable levels. Obviously that makes it a much more viable alternative to Wi-Fi, which isn't at all expensive any more.

The D-Link DHP-307AV's set-up process is as simple as plugging in the two powerline adaptors and pressing the set-up buttons on the side of each device. The hardest part will probably be finding sockets with enough space around them, as the adaptors aren't exactly compact - but when are they ever? The placement of the network port on the right hand edge is a bigger annoyance, although it shouldn't be that common to find a socket layout into which a DHP-307AV adaptor can't be fit.

Best Deals From PriceGrabber


June 30, 2010, 2:07 pm

If the side-mounted ethernet port is an issue - I can vouch for the Devolo 200 Mbps units which I've been using for a couple of years without any issues. Very similar to the unit reviewed here - but with a bottom mounted Ethernet socket & slim enough to sit side by side with other plugs in a typical wall-mounted double-socket...


I run with four of these units - they make a great way to *reliably* stream recordings from a Windows Media Centre to any screen in the house.

p.s. I am not associated with Devolo or the HomePlug Alliance in any way... just speaking up for a nice product.


June 30, 2010, 2:27 pm

Good review on a very interesting and useful product.

I've just wired ethernet under the floor for connecting the new TV upstairs however that isn't practical to the main setup in the lounge and this would be very useful for connecting the PS3 via a stable connection.

Thanks !

Sir Stuie

June 30, 2010, 4:33 pm

What sort of gaming performance do you get with these? Playing PS3 over wifi isn't ideal and I could replace the extra long ethernet cable for my 360 with these.


June 30, 2010, 4:34 pm

I read something about Ofcom ordering you to cease use of these as they may cause radio interference or ADSL broadband interference. How would one determine this? Can any of you comment on whether this is nonsense or not.


June 30, 2010, 4:44 pm

@DevGuy - Sounds like nonsense. This uses the mains cabling in your house and has nothing to do with the phone line.


June 30, 2010, 4:49 pm

Perhaps TR could review the devolo units ? I'd prefer to buy something that I've seen tested properly to be honest.

Btw - Are the forums ever coming backup ?

Tim Sutton

June 30, 2010, 4:49 pm


My understanding was that using the National Grid network (pylons, underground power lines etc) for broadband was where potential issues could emerge, not using home wiring for a local network.

I haven't seen anything I recall from anyone on home EOP being anything other than handy :-)

Geoff Richards

June 30, 2010, 4:52 pm

OFCOM link:


And an informative YouTube video on the issue:



June 30, 2010, 4:58 pm

Powerline adaptors are great.. My studio at the end of my garden is connected using them and they work so much better than wireless.. you don't get any drop-outs and get a good connection speed :)

My PC & Xbox work with no issues though the connection.


June 30, 2010, 5:20 pm

@AJ: If it's any reassurance to you, we've reviewed previous devolo products and found them to be fine - all the ethernet-over-power products use basically the same internal hardware anyway. http://www.trustedreviews.com/...

As for the forums, regrettably they won't be returning any time soon.


June 30, 2010, 6:51 pm

Thanks Ed. I note thought that the D-Link system here gets a far better review than the Devolo you linked.

Shame about the forums, this seems like an excellent place for discussion.


June 30, 2010, 6:55 pm

Well I purchased a pair of Netgear XAV101s and I couldn't get more than 3Mbps through them. This was across a relatively short distance (10m), on the same floor and plugged directly into the wall sockets, but no use. It seems some house wiring just isn't conducive to powerline networking, but it would be nice if you could find this out before spending the cash...


June 30, 2010, 8:06 pm

Thanks for the review, I think I will pick one of these up since the wireless on my BT Hub 2.0 is pretty useless.


June 30, 2010, 9:16 pm

@Sir Stuie - my flat mate is an obsessive Street Fighter player and he has found ping times with Ethernet over power to excellent. Ditch that long cable!


June 30, 2010, 9:35 pm

Hi, just wondering, why are there two?

Is this just so you can use them in two seperate places in your house, or is it that you need one near the broadband hub or something...?

Sorry probably a pretty stupid quuestion, just want to make sure.


June 30, 2010, 10:35 pm

@ Cookie

1 of them plugs into the router and the other into your PC/Console/Hub using LAN connection.


July 1, 2010, 1:04 am

Sir Stuie: I use older, slower homeplug units than these but still performance with gaming or streaming is excellent, noticeably better than WiFi on the PS3. Another advantage is that it couldn't be easier to use. Just plug it in - that's it.

I've been using Homeplug for a number of years now and am still amazed that the technology is not better known - in fact the majority of people I mention it to have never heard of it. IMO, keep WiFi for laptops and mobiles, but if it's a PC or games console - basically anything that doesn't need to move around - then go for Homeplug.


July 1, 2010, 2:38 am

oh right, cheers.

Erm, so do these not actually boost wi-fi wherever they are plugged, they just only allow 1 device to get internet that is not necessarily wi-fi enabled...?

Tim Sutton

July 1, 2010, 4:26 am


These basically just turn the electrical wiring in your house into one big network, so any power point in the house is potentially a hard-wired internet connection.

You plug one of these into the power socket next to your router, then attach your router to it with a cable. Then you plug the other one of these into any plug socket in your house, and attach whichever device needs an internet connection to it with a cable.

You can have as many of these plugged in in as many rooms as you need, and you still also have exactly the same wifi signal as you did before.

Basically ethernet over power (EoP) is almost as good as having your entire house wired with expensive networking cable.

For gaming or high-def streaming it's a huge advantage, and for bigger older houses like mine where wi-fi just doesn't work EoP is an absolute godsend.


July 1, 2010, 4:56 am

Ahhh, i get it, cheers mate. So, if i wanted to, i could have one of these in every room, alhtough i would have to buy loads. Also, is it just the first one from the first pack that has to go next to the router - for example if i were to buy two of these starter kits then i would just put one next to the router and could have 3 around the house, connecting 3 different devices; it IS one thingy per device i take it...

Thanks for the quick and helpful comments by the way guys.


July 1, 2010, 6:40 am

EOP can be used with a switch no probs. I have a AppleTV, Xbox 360, Mediagate MG35 and a PC hanging off a 8 port gigabit switch into a EOP adapter on my TV, and a PC and WD NAS off of another and all work without problems. Nice low ping making it ideal for gaming, and consistent bandwidth makes it perfect for video and moving data around.

Disclaimer I work for a networking company producing EOP starting with B. This stuff is so simple it gets overlooked.


July 1, 2010, 11:55 am

Could this be taken one step further, and wireless be put on the end one in the power socket, effectively expanding the reach of wireless? I live in one of those old fashion houses that actually has brick internal walls rather than cardboard, and wireless signals have problems getting to the bedroom.

bristol paul

July 1, 2010, 12:44 pm

Hello all, looking at the comments above I'm hoping one of you may be able to answer this question ...

In my house we have a BT Vision box which uses a pair of ethernet over powerline adaptors to connect the Vision box with the broadband router.

Is it possible to put a switch between the EoP adaptor and the Vision box? This would then let me connect my xbox via a wired connection rather than using a laptop as a wireless adaptor. I'd always assumed the EoP adaptors were some kind of BT only thing ...


July 1, 2010, 2:44 pm

I have a switch at the end of my own powerline adaptors, going to my PS3, Xbox 360 and TV. So yes, it it entirely possible.


July 1, 2010, 3:04 pm

Belkin do 1gb versions of these for similar money.

comments powered by Disqus