CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC pictures

1 of 17 pictures

CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC
CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC

17 Pictures - CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC

  • CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC
  • CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC
  • CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC
  • CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC
  • CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC
  • CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC
  • CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC
  • CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC
  • CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC
  • CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC
  • CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC
  • CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC
  • CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC
  • CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC
  • CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC
  • CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC
  • CyberPower Infinity i7 Phoenix Gaming PC

Jay4d0

March 4, 2010, 5:53 am

there's just one massive problem with this system it has windows 7 home premium by default which only supports 16Gb of RAM whereas professional and ultimate support upto 192Gb after spending all that money it's a bit silly to give you more RAM than the PC can physically use

xaltu

March 4, 2010, 12:12 pm

The one thing that I would like to see is the actual decibel (dB) rating for PCs. I often read reviews that refer to noise but if mentioned it is either quiet or noisy. Although this gives a general indication it can not be used to compare two systems. Personally I would be willing to pay more for a PC that does what is asked for whilst being quiet in the process. To me PC noise and quality sound system do not go together.

TechVegan

March 4, 2010, 2:49 pm

@Jay:


You're right of course, slight error on our part - though in fact the initial spec did list Win 7 Premium, all versions are delivered with Win 7 Professional (as was our test sample).





@xaltu:


We'll look into it. And I couldn't agree more, any PC above £2000 should ideally be whisper-quiet (and we can but dream that one day, ALL PCs will be whisper-quiet).

Initialised

March 4, 2010, 5:08 pm

Thanks for the review, I did the OC and tuning on this PC. Yeah, value is a bit poor with the current price of 4GB DDR3 sticks and yes it is overkill. Unfortaunately Intels ever receding release date for the Gulftown 6-Core CPU meant we couldn't go one better.





On the noise front, any systems from now onwards should be getting the i7 930 CPU which tends to run a little cooler than the 920 at high CPU clocks. I did a system in an Antec 1200 for a customer recently where the intake and radiator fans were all replaced with 'silent' red LED fans and we used a water cooled 5870 with only 3.8GHz on the CPU. This system was quieter than the review system here but there is always going to be a delicate balancing act of the overclockers trinity of performance, noise and heat in a system at this performance level. Turning the fans down to watch a Blu-Ray would be very unlikely to cause stability problems since most of the work is done by the GPU.





www.cyberpowersystem.co.uk

betelgeus

March 5, 2010, 2:18 am

im sure if they dropped it down to 3.8ghz you could make it much quieter.


24gb that IS bizzare i still think 6gb is overkill.i wonder if you could use the ram as a hdd for windows .





nice system tho,i wouldnt say no to it.trouble is games on pc are become consolized? even with max quality and resolutions a lowly £100 gpu can run them with ease.maybe this will be a system for crysis 2.





hey initialised how about one for a competition?.

smc8788

March 5, 2010, 5:20 am

@betelgeus - I agree all that RAM is crying out to be used as a RAM disk, but you wouldn't be able to use it for a Windows install since it would require a constant power source (i.e. you would have to reinstall Windows every time you restarted the PC).

Jay4d0

March 5, 2010, 6:45 am

@Ardjuna: cool, good to know though I guess if you're spending this much cash on a top end rig you would likely spend a few quid more and plump for ultimate if only for the factor of having 'top' everything

Keithe6e

March 5, 2010, 3:01 pm

One of the advantages of water cooling is to make PC's quieter, but in this case they have just used it to overclock the CPU. Maybe with some more modifications, eg. water cool the northbridge/southbridge/memory/GPU etc, this could be made to be a lot quieter. Also it's possible to make PC's quieter with sound proofing foam, but of course you would loose the pretty lights into the case. :)

comments powered by Disqus