CyberPower Gamer Infinity Crossfire HD - Performance Results

By Edward Chester

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

Overall Score

8

Scores In Detail

  • Performance 10
  • Value 9

Hans Gruber

July 23, 2008, 5:49 am

Good to see a review of a sensibly balanced and well built system such as this, offered by CyberPower. I agree that it is amazing what you can get system-wise for a �. Just tarried up the cost of all the individual components myself and they alone came to some 𨁐 inc VAT and I'm sure there's one or two small things I've left out that the CyberPower system includes (like the different CPU heatsink/fan etc). The inclusion of the Asus Rampage Formula motherboard (intel X48 chipset) at this price point is very impressive (perhaps a bit overkill though?).





I see their site has a dedicated forum too. This is always nice to see. Only thing is there ought to be a direct link to the system reviewed in my opinion since they haven't updated their awards section to show the TR reviewed system, though I imagine this will be forthcoming. That way readers could easily tell whether this actual system was readily available at the reviewed price or not without having to go through the myriad of system configuration options themselves.





Didn't know about the chipset system fan/temperature throttling issue thing. It did strike me the overclock was a little over-ambitious even with the 8400 CPU. So maybe the premium paid for having the system pre-overclocked isn't such a good thing if essentially the buyer is going to have to tweak it themselves in the bios anyhow?





Perhaps the only thing letting the system down is the relatively slow ram considering the board supports up to 1200MHz though of course, it wouldn't be too hard to supply a better hard drive and not too much of a premium to add a 1TB model or even 2 x 500GB striped in RAID 0 for better performance?





Anyhow, CyberPower look like a pretty smart outfit to anyone wishing to purchase such a system. I see they build their own media centre range too.

apoc286

July 23, 2008, 2:52 pm

You know I may be missing something here but having just spent some time on cyberpowers website it doesn't seem to be possible to build a system with the components listed in this review for �. Methinks Cyberpower weren't exactly playing fair with their review machine...

Mike Cyberpower

July 23, 2008, 4:28 pm

Hi There!





This is Mike (Cyber_tech from our forums) from CyberpowerPowerSystem UK. The unit specified here was created specifically for the review and is due to be uploaded today to the Gamer Infinity Crossfire HD profile on the website. Anyone wishing to order before then is advised to give sales a call or drop us an email to sales at cyberpowersystem dot co dot uk





Any other questions can either be passed to me on the forum or you can send me an email direct if you would prefer, michael at cyberpowersystem dot co dot uk





Take Care


Mike

Hans Gruber

July 23, 2008, 8:16 pm

Hi Mike, does this mean people will get the exact same machine as reviewed for less than a grand?





What do you do with the review samples you send out? Considering they're effectively err, ahem, second hand? I'll be the first to make you an offer if you like. :)

apoc286

July 23, 2008, 9:17 pm

Thanks for clearing that up Mike.





Of course you have just taken the best argument I could manage against my temptation to buy myself a new pc...





I've now got 8 days to come up with a new reason or end up � poorer :P

The Pope

July 23, 2008, 9:36 pm

"Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 CPU, 4GB 800MHz DDR2 RAM, two ATI Radeon HD 4870 graphics cards, an Asus P5E motherboard, a 500GB Samsung hard drive, a DVD/CD writer, and a Hiper 630W power supply. The whole lot is wrapped up inside an NZXT Tempest chassis and the CPU and memory have both been given a healthy overclock."





That lot would set you up for quite some time I'd say, apoc286. I've just had a quick look and there's plenty of room for more hard drives so you can add an additional 1TB drive in a year's time for probabably 㿞 and you'll be laughing mate. :)

Hans Gruber

July 23, 2008, 10:32 pm

Asus P5E motherboard? Doh! Where on earth did I get the idea the system used an ASUS Rampage Formula (x48) motherboard? That rather changes what I said above since it's half the price or less. Still, not a bad deal if you want to have a system built for you with added warranty, I guess. Can't believe I messed up like that. :/

Ed

July 24, 2008, 3:13 am

It's alright Azro, you're not imagining things. I simply changed it after I read your comment. I should've notified you.

Hans Gruber

July 24, 2008, 1:26 pm

Woo, thanks for that Ed. I thought I was going to have to re-evaluate the nature of reality and how I see it. ;)

Mike Cyberpower

July 24, 2008, 7:05 pm

Azro - I'm afraid they have to come back here! I need something to play on at lunchtimes you know!





And yes, the exact machine is less than �. Also, the link is live correctly now:





https://www.cyberpowersystem.c...





Mike

The Pope

July 24, 2008, 7:21 pm

Thanks Mike - review updated

apoc286

August 20, 2008, 3:02 pm

Bought it... damn you all for making me do this...

comments powered by Disqus