Creative GigaWorks T20 2.0 Speakers pictures

1 of 6 pictures

Hover to zoom

Creative GigaWorks T20 2.0 Speakers
Creative GigaWorks T20 2.0 Speakers

6 Pictures - Creative GigaWorks T20 2.0 Speakers

Enlarge
  • Creative GigaWorks T20 2.0 Speakers
  • Creative GigaWorks T20 2.0 Speakers
  • Creative GigaWorks T20 2.0 Speakers
  • Creative GigaWorks T20 2.0 Speakers
  • Creative GigaWorks T20 2.0 Speakers
  • GigaWorks T20 2.0 Speaker System

GaryRW

September 21, 2008, 4:01 pm

Thought I should post a comment here as I recently looked up this review before buying.





I bought a pair of these from PC World yesterday, and the left speaker had an annoying high pitched whine coming from the tweeter. Didn't matter what volume, or even if there was any input connected to them; as soon as you connected the left speaker to the main unit (right speaker) this noise started. Thankfully it was only on the left, so I was confident PC World couldn't argue it was 'normal'.





To their credit, they let me try a different set in store, which had exactly the same problem, and so gave me a refund. They didn't even listen to it themselves, and took my word for it! PC world gets a bad press sometimes but they did ok by me on this occasion.





I'm only posting as on my own personal experience, 2 out of 2 of these units were faulty. Looking at this thread, I'm not alone: http://forums.creative.com/cre...





I'm not an audiophile at all, and only considered these as they were only 㿙, and I had seen this review ages ago. They sounded very good, and you couldn't really hear the high pitched whine when the speakers were actually playing something above quiet; obviously with PC speakers they'll be silent quite a bit of the time though. My advice - they are probably still good speakers, but try to buy from a store you can return them to easily if you happen to get a faulty one.

Gordon394

September 21, 2008, 5:23 pm

@GaryRW - I know we rate these speakers so highly a number of us actually use them as our primary PC speakers (myself included). It may be of no consolation but we have never experienced such an issue so I suspect rather than being a widespread problem the ones you experienced were probably part of a bad batch.





Personally I'd advise you try another pair from another shop - they really are the best budget 2.0 speakers you can currently buy.

pat smith

November 21, 2008, 9:24 pm

hi i have to let you know about the new gigawork T20 SERIOUS ll. I take note of all reviews and find them very helpfull, SO here is one from me my tv sound was muffeld and sounded like old tin cans then I got the new t20 speakers what a difference music incredable voices clear cant recomend them enough pat

Kilrymont

December 13, 2008, 2:40 am

Good speakers, yes. A hitherto unreported benefit of these is that they also double up as a good workout for finger muscles when switching on and off, such is the strength of the click-detent on the control knob. And the power LED is nearly bright enough to read by...


Apart from that, and falling over at the least excuse, they're just the job! Wonder if the redesigned version's had these points addressed?

Steve

March 12, 2009, 6:05 pm

I have the T20's you spoke about in the opening of this review. That's how I stumbled upon Trusted Reviews back in 2007 as I was looking for reviews before making the purchase. Awesome speakers and still going strong! :)

GaryRW

March 13, 2009, 12:19 am

As the new version T20 II's are out now, thought I should update my earlier comment. I saw these on special offer again, Argos I think, and am happy I gave them a 3rd go.





Very pleased with them, and obviously just a duff batch that I got the first 2 times.





And just to add to everyone else on the internet that's said it - it is a very, very bright blue light...

CHRIS MILGATE

August 25, 2010, 4:36 pm

These are a superb set of Pc speakers and really sound good. They out shine most other sets inc 2.1 sets. My only critism,s are they are a bit wobbly and could do with a wider stand. Also the volume knob is a pain to turn and could do with some Knurreling or a grip otherwise they are perfect.

johnny

September 29, 2013, 8:49 pm

Just want to ask does this work well with macbookpro?

andyvan

September 30, 2013, 6:38 am

Yes.

tat

December 18, 2013, 2:49 pm

These are killer speakers. Great for classical, jazz, and movies. Such a great value for money!

psittacid

December 24, 2013, 3:27 am

I bought a set and the left speaker had an occasional buzz. Fry's traded it out without question and the second set does not have the problem. These are fine sounding little speakers. They put a decent mid range speaker with a small port to enhance the bass without making is breathy and indistinct. The midrange makes these so easy to listen to; midrange is where most music is made - manufacturers market lousy bass and screechy treble because they are cheap to make and most people mistake "bass" for "full" and "treble" for "detail".

They take some break-in when new. Plug them in, leave them to play for a couple of hours while you run errands, then listen.

Bobbi

January 4, 2014, 5:26 pm

I have had these wireless speakers for about 4 years. Recently moved and I cannot make a connection to my lap top. Can someone tell me how to connect? Thanks.

comments powered by Disqus