Home / Cameras / Camera / Casio Exilim EX-Z1080 / Test shots - Exposure evaluation

Casio Exilim EX-Z1080 - Test shots - Exposure evaluation

By Cliff Smith

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Casio Exilim EX-Z1080

Summary

Our Score:

9

A range of general test shots are shown over the next two pages. In some cases, the full size image has been reduced for bandwidth purposes, and a crop taken from the original full resolution image has been placed below it to show the overall image quality. Some other pictures may be clicked to view the original full-size image.

----

The wide angle end of the zoom range is equivalent to 38mm.

----

The telephoto end equals 114mm.

----

Macro range is 10cm.

----

Overall Score

9

Scores In Detail

  • Value 9
  • Image Quality 9

Tim 6

January 26, 2009, 7:34 pm

Its around 𧶀 online - not as listed in your review...can you recommend of similar quality less than 𧴰? I had a Fuji F30 before, which was excellent, so I'm looking for the same size/sort of camera...

Andy 11

February 23, 2009, 2:37 pm

Tim, this is available in loads of places for around the 𧴰 mark at the moment, online. ebuyer.com have it for just under 𧴰, including a case and a 2gb memory card. And there are a few on eBay too, I have seen one (new) for about 𧴡, but with no accessories other than the charger.

Mark 20

May 1, 2009, 5:11 am

To be brutally honest getting used to the 41 best shot modes is the hard bit. This does seem to be a hugely capable camera. On a ten day holiday I took 280 shots over a ten day period, and the battery indicator still indicated 1/3 charge remaining. This has totally changed my mind about Batteries. As I get more used to the camera's best shot modes, a greater percentage of my shots came out usable. I have found that without using the Best shot modes though the point a shoot ability is pretty rubbish. But there is an option to allow the camera to remember the cameras last BS selection. Which is great for me as I mainly shoot landscapes when alone, or the family antagonising each other when out on day trips. I have digits like Bratwurst and I have never found the controls to be much of an issue at all.





The review seems fare, but 41 BS modes is a bit overkill. I am not disappointed with the purchase, but am left confused as to how quickly it has become hard to get hold of.

Gonzalo Vilaseca

June 4, 2009, 1:10 am

I can't seem to find this camera in Spain, it seems as it has been discontinued. Is there a new equivalent model from Casio?

MRS S. SHERLOCK

June 25, 2009, 4:46 pm

DO NOT BUY CASIO





I bought a Casio digital camera (Elixim Z80) and the zoom has never worked. I sent it off to the Casio repair centre as the camera has a two year warranty expecting the camera to be fixed and sent back quickly or a replacement given. However I received a letter telling me to pay for the repair! After MANY phone calls and emails it appears my camera has been damaged in the workshop and now has a dent in it which Casio will not take responsibility for. After arguing my case on several occasions I’m still left with a damaged camera and having to pay for its repair. The customer service is shocking – they will not ring you or email you they insist on sending letters which is most frustrating. DO NOT BUY CASIO – it’s not worth the risk – if your camera is faulty or goes wrong you’ll end up paying for it and get a damaged camera in return

Robert McKenzie

June 28, 2009, 2:14 am

I bought this from Comets for £80 last year in a half price sale - best £80 i spent. I use it for a pocket camera to whip out if I see anything of interest to capture - and the video record was a bonus. Image quality is very good and at 10mp will quite happily reproduce at a1 poster size in fine detail.





I have an Olympus 5060Z as my main camera - a Kodak DX6490 for distance work and this little beauty as my always carry camera. The review as stated previously is quite accurate but the level of manual control is limited hence the 41 best shot presets. Saying that the camera does tend to do a good job in normal shoot mode,

maggs

August 28, 2013, 2:55 pm

i do not agree with you if you do not have the Casio Exilim Z1080 so how could you comment on it

Brenda

August 28, 2013, 3:00 pm

I have had this camera since 2006 not a problem up to now so if another series gives trouble how could anyone comment on the Casio Ex-Z1080 it is a great little camera to take around not bulky and inefficient at all just good for someone who is not a great professional but loves photography, the video is also great too.

Jo 100

September 7, 2013, 11:02 am

I have just bought this one from Ebay as I have lost my previous one which was a Casio 14 mega pixel. On that one the lense stayed flat until I changed it to the zoom feature. Please can someone tell me how to keep this camera's lense flat so as to take ordinary snapshots. Other than that problem the EX-Z1080 seems to take good clear shots.

comments powered by Disqus