Home / Cameras / Camera / Casio Exilim EX-Z1080

Casio Exilim EX-Z1080 review

By

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR

1 of 26

Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z1080
  • Exilim EX-Z1080 10.1 Megapixel Compact Camera - 7.90 mm-23.70 mm - Gray (2.6" LCD - 3x Optical Zoom - 3648 x 2736 Image - 848 x 480 Video)

Summary

Our Score:

9

Casio may not be the most prolific digital camera manufacturer, with a current range of 21 models, but it is one of the oldest, launching its first camera, the 0.3-megapixel QV-300 in 1996. Despite its long pedigree Casio today has only a tiny share of the camera market, around three percent in 2006, surpassed by relative latecomers such as Panasonic and Samsung. The only reason I can think of for this is that the Casio brand name is associated in the public consciousness with cheap calculators and digital watches, and therefore potential buyers tend to overlook its cameras in favour of more expensive models from Canon, Nikon or Sony. This too is strange, because Casio watches and calculators are generally very good, to say nothing of its professional music keyboards, cash registers and other electronic products. Furthermore, the Casio Exilim range contains some outstanding cameras, such as this EX-Z1080.

The Casio Exilim EX-Z1080 is a 10.1-megapixel compact camera with a 1/1.75-inch sensor, a 3x zoom f/2.8-f/5.1 lens equivalent to 38-114mm and a 2.6-inch widescreen monitor. It has a range of advanced features, including friends and family face recognition, Anti-shake DSP and a maximum sensitivity of 3200 ISO. Comparable models from other manufacturers include the new Nikon S550 (£199), the Panasonic FS5 (£179) which Jamie reviewed yesterday, the Pentax Optio S10 (£149) and the Samsung NV15 (£149). The Z1080 is currently available for around £129, which makes is pretty competitive on price at least.

The Z1080 makes a good first impression. Although not one of Casio's slimmest cameras it is by no means bulky, measuring 91.1 x 57.2 x 24.2mm, and weighing 125g minus the battery. The body is all aluminium, and like most of Casio's range it is available in a choice of colours, including silver, black, blue, pink and the gunmetal grey of my review sample. Build quality is excellent, and the camera feels solid and robust. The shape is smooth with rounded corners, and the flush-folding lens means that it will slip easily into a jacket pocket or small handbag for a night out.

The wide-format 2.6-inch monitor doesn't leave a lot of room on the back of the camera, but the controls, consisting of only four external control buttons and a small D-pad, are sensibly designed, and they are not at all fiddly. The zoom control is a rotary collar around the shutter button, which leaves enough room on the back for a small textured thumb grip. Despite its size the Z1080 is quite comfortable to hold securely and handles surprisingly well.

Tim 6

January 26, 2009, 7:34 pm

Its around 𧶀 online - not as listed in your review...can you recommend of similar quality less than 𧴰? I had a Fuji F30 before, which was excellent, so I'm looking for the same size/sort of camera...

Andy 11

February 23, 2009, 2:37 pm

Tim, this is available in loads of places for around the 𧴰 mark at the moment, online. ebuyer.com have it for just under 𧴰, including a case and a 2gb memory card. And there are a few on eBay too, I have seen one (new) for about 𧴡, but with no accessories other than the charger.

Mark 20

May 1, 2009, 5:11 am

To be brutally honest getting used to the 41 best shot modes is the hard bit. This does seem to be a hugely capable camera. On a ten day holiday I took 280 shots over a ten day period, and the battery indicator still indicated 1/3 charge remaining. This has totally changed my mind about Batteries. As I get more used to the camera's best shot modes, a greater percentage of my shots came out usable. I have found that without using the Best shot modes though the point a shoot ability is pretty rubbish. But there is an option to allow the camera to remember the cameras last BS selection. Which is great for me as I mainly shoot landscapes when alone, or the family antagonising each other when out on day trips. I have digits like Bratwurst and I have never found the controls to be much of an issue at all.





The review seems fare, but 41 BS modes is a bit overkill. I am not disappointed with the purchase, but am left confused as to how quickly it has become hard to get hold of.

Gonzalo Vilaseca

June 4, 2009, 1:10 am

I can't seem to find this camera in Spain, it seems as it has been discontinued. Is there a new equivalent model from Casio?

MRS S. SHERLOCK

June 25, 2009, 4:46 pm

DO NOT BUY CASIO





I bought a Casio digital camera (Elixim Z80) and the zoom has never worked. I sent it off to the Casio repair centre as the camera has a two year warranty expecting the camera to be fixed and sent back quickly or a replacement given. However I received a letter telling me to pay for the repair! After MANY phone calls and emails it appears my camera has been damaged in the workshop and now has a dent in it which Casio will not take responsibility for. After arguing my case on several occasions I’m still left with a damaged camera and having to pay for its repair. The customer service is shocking – they will not ring you or email you they insist on sending letters which is most frustrating. DO NOT BUY CASIO – it’s not worth the risk – if your camera is faulty or goes wrong you’ll end up paying for it and get a damaged camera in return

Robert McKenzie

June 28, 2009, 2:14 am

I bought this from Comets for £80 last year in a half price sale - best £80 i spent. I use it for a pocket camera to whip out if I see anything of interest to capture - and the video record was a bonus. Image quality is very good and at 10mp will quite happily reproduce at a1 poster size in fine detail.





I have an Olympus 5060Z as my main camera - a Kodak DX6490 for distance work and this little beauty as my always carry camera. The review as stated previously is quite accurate but the level of manual control is limited hence the 41 best shot presets. Saying that the camera does tend to do a good job in normal shoot mode,

maggs

August 28, 2013, 2:55 pm

i do not agree with you if you do not have the Casio Exilim Z1080 so how could you comment on it

Brenda

August 28, 2013, 3:00 pm

I have had this camera since 2006 not a problem up to now so if another series gives trouble how could anyone comment on the Casio Ex-Z1080 it is a great little camera to take around not bulky and inefficient at all just good for someone who is not a great professional but loves photography, the video is also great too.

Jo 100

September 7, 2013, 11:02 am

I have just bought this one from Ebay as I have lost my previous one which was a Casio 14 mega pixel. On that one the lense stayed flat until I changed it to the zoom feature. Please can someone tell me how to keep this camera's lense flat so as to take ordinary snapshots. Other than that problem the EX-Z1080 seems to take good clear shots.

comments powered by Disqus