Home / Computing / Printer / Canon i-SENSYS LBP5100 Colour Laser Printer

Canon i-SENSYS LBP5100 Colour Laser Printer review

By

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

User Score:

Canon has been going through a particularly good phase with its printer line up, both in the inkjet and laser printer markets, and it has a strong range of mono and colour laser printers in the i-SENSYS brand. The LBP5100 colour laser comes in at a very competitive price, but has too much been snipped away from its feature-set to compensate?

The slightly-sloping, blank fronts of Canon’s i-SENSYS laser printers have become something of a trademark and this colour unit looks cleaner and blanker than most, thanks to a thin line of just eight LEDs at the top and no control buttons at all.

There’s a 250-sheet paper tray right at the bottom, with a supplementary, single-sheet feed virtually at desktop level. A second feed tray with the same capacity can be added as an optional extra. Paper feeds out to a fold-up tray, which cleans off the printer's lines when folded closed. If you forget to open the tray before starting to print, pages fall harmlessly from a slot at the back of the printer, rather than jamming the paper path.

At the back of the machine there's a single USB 2.0 socket – Ethernet is only an option – and a power socket mounted inconveniently high up the printer's chassis, so the mains cable drapes across the desk.

Canon uses combined drum and toner cartridges, so setup and maintenance is very simple. Pull down the front cover and each of the four cartridges is lined up vertically within the case, with a transfer-belt attached to the cover itself. Cartridges slide in, in a silky smooth way and don't even need to be held in place by latches.

The software supplied is basic, but includes a driver that supports all the features of the printer, including duplex print, multiple pages per sheet and watermarks.

Paul Laurent

October 6, 2008, 7:26 am

This is a great printer


but it will not work on the Microsoft x64 operating system


There are no drives for Window or Vista x64 operating systems


Cannon told me to buy a printer that will run on the 64 bit platform


Cannon doesn't have a colour laser printer that will


Cannon say it will run on


Mac OS X (2)Windows 2000 (2)Windows 98 (2)Windows Me (2)


Windows Server 2003 (2)Windows XP (2)Linux (1)Windows Vista (1)


No mention that Windowsx64 is not supported


So if you run a x64 operation systems you will need to change platforms

RGPuk

October 8, 2008, 3:00 pm

Printer delivered yesterday. No driver included for Mac OS X. 24 hours later I still cannot get it to run reliably (barely at all) using the driver downloaded for Mac OS X from the Canon site.





The very few pages I have coaxed out of it, indicate that this unit can produce great results. Very, very frustrating. I haven't had to mess around like this, with no progress, on a computer for ages. I thought those days had gone. If I crack this problem (or indeed, send the unit back) I will report.

RGPuk

October 14, 2008, 6:47 pm

UPDATE: Ok - I've sorted out how to avoid/or sort dodgy operation of this machine when using the Mac driver and get good, reasonably fast results. However the CAPT StatusMonitor for Mac remains totally useless- it refuses to have any dialogue with the printer at all, so consumables-levels, print-count and job queue remain completely unavailable (although the last item is available through the Mac dialogue panel). Freezes and printer disconnection / restarts are still necessary too often for comfort.





Canon support have been utterly useless.





To be completely fair I have (reluctantly) run the printer from a Windows XP laptop, and the difference is instant. Everything runs as it should, although the driver control dialogues are the usual Windows, complicated mess.





Clearly the real problem is with the poorly written Mac OS X (10.4.11) driver, which in time might get fixed by Canon - but I'm not holding my breath and still considering sending this quite nice little printer back for a refund.

RGPuk

October 16, 2008, 2:30 pm

FINAL UPDATE: I know this a review site and not a tech forum - but I do feel the need to be fair. Canon finally came through with useful support, even if the process was long, hard work. My LBP5100 is now working perfectly down to an additional factor in the driver installation process not covered by the Canon installation guide. By using 2 Mac machines to test it, I've found that deleting all other Canon printers, trashing the Canon folder from 'Library' then using 'Reset Printing System' in 'Printer Setup Utility' is essential, prior to a reboot and then driver installation, to allow the driver and utilities to load properly.





The printer and utilities now work very well indeed and I like this printer a lot.

Martin K

October 28, 2008, 11:23 am

My own experiences setting this printer up on two Macs have been good, no problems:- one running 10.5, the other 10.4. The procedure is slightly different for both OS's, but Canon provide clear instructions for each version of Mac OSX. The other point I'd like to make about this printer is how quiet it is, especially compared to a Konica Minolta 2430 DL which was my previous colour laser printer.

Paul Laurent

March 10, 2010, 10:54 am

This is an update on the Printer


on the 9/11/2009 Canon said


Please be advised that Canon will support its laser printer, multifunctional, fax and personal copier products with Windows 7. Detailed information will be available approximately mid November.





On the 4/1/2010 Canon said


Please be advised that Canon will be supporting your printer on a 64-bit Windows 7 operating system and Canon will distributing drivers shortly.





on the 10/3/2010


Thank you for contacting Canon.Please be advised that your scanner is not compatible with a 64-bit operating system. We apologies for any inconvenience this may cause.





I now have a Scanner I did not know I had


I am not sure how It works





I need an other Printer that works on x64 any ideas

Paul Laurent

March 11, 2010, 12:05 pm

This is the next update


Canon the nice company they are have finally released the X64 bit version for this printer


http://software.canon-europe.c...


So we can now enjoy the full potential of Windows

comments powered by Disqus