• Recommended by TR
Canon PowerShot SX110 IS


Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

In November last year I reviewed the then-new PowerShot SX100 IS, the first model in a new series of compact cameras from Canon. The SX series are intended as “family cameras”, designed to be easy to use, but with enough versatility to appeal to more adventurous photographers. Canon has now added three new models to the SX range, with the launch last month of the 20x zoom SX1 IS and SX10 IS, and this, the 10x zoom, 9.0 megapixel SX110 IS.

It looks increasingly like the SX series is taking over from the venerable A-series as Canon’s primary mid-range compact cameras. While the latest A-series models, such as the A2000 IS lack the popular manual options of previous models, the SX110 IS has a full range of manual exposure options, plus other features that will appeal to more experienced photographers. It has a powerful pop-up flash, a large bright 3.0-inch 230k LCD monitor and a traditional, easy-to-use control interface.

The long-zoom compact market is still far from crowded, but nonetheless the SX110 IS has some formidable competition, primarily from Panasonic’s superb Lumix DMC-TZ5, which has a very similar specification with a 10x zoom lens, 9.1MP sensor and 3.0-inch monitor. However the TZ5 has a 28-280mm equivalent zoom range (the SX110 has 36-360mm), and that monitor has double the resolution of the Canon. The TZ5 is also a little cheaper, currently retailing at around £180. The SX110 will also see some competition from the 10MP 7.1x zoom Ricoh R8 (£145) and the new R10, although that camera will probably be more expensive.

The SX110 IS is not a small camera. Measuring 110.6 x 70.4 x 44.7mm and weighing around 300g including a pair of alkaline AA batteries it is significantly larger and heavier than the TZ5. It is really too big and heavy for convenient pocket portage, and would benefit from the additional purchase of a belt pouch. To be honest I’m surprised it only has a wrist strap, since I’ve seen smaller and lighter cameras with a neck strap. However the camera’s bulk reflects its excellent build quality. Despite its plastic body it feels solid and robust, the controls, battery hatch and pop-up flash are recessed and solidly mounted, and the curved shape is innately strong.

Next page


October 3, 2008, 9:42 pm

Not surprized - the Canon P & S's are generally very good.


October 4, 2008, 4:05 pm

This puts me in a bit of a pickle as I wanted to get the Panasonic DMC-TZ5.


October 4, 2008, 5:23 pm

Looks like an excellent camera. What I also like about it is that it's thinner and more pocketable than the SX100. It's a credible alternative to the larger, bulkier SLR-like superzooms.


October 4, 2008, 8:36 pm

Canon SX110 or Panasonic TZ5 - tough choice?

Tom MacFarlane 1

October 11, 2008, 12:16 am

I currently use the SX100 and it is a superb camera. I have also used the Panasonic TZ3. All I can say, JimmyDee, is go for the Canon. This review - and in particular the images - confirm Canon's superiority. With the SX110 you'll get a slightly better spec than the SX100.

Ross 1

October 25, 2008, 6:05 pm

Like Bobsta and JimmyDee, I too was considering the Panasonic TZ5 but before I took the leap into Digital with my Olympus C-750 I had used a Canon A1 35mm for years, and I mean YEARS with not one camera fault showing up. Canon and Nikon lenses are the best in the world while maintaining some balance between cost and common sense.

I therefore plucked up the courage of my convictions, and after reading the spec sheets and pre-launch reviews of the SX110 I abandoned the idea of going for the TZ5 - and am so glad I did.

What you get with Canon's SX110 is years of photographic experience - this beast was not as easy (for me) to get to grips with at first, but after a couple of days, the menu systems became pretty obvious in most things. One thing that surprised me was the minimum aperture is F8 which I didn't realise beforehand - but as most lenses give their best performance at f8 or f5.6 this is not a problem unless you want long time exposures, eg to blur moving water, while using a tripod - 3/4 to 2 seconds etc. I still have my cokin Neutral Density filters for such situations so its not a problem.

In every other respect, the camera outperforms in every area when compared to my Olympus C-750 which I sold recently. Better than this, it outperforms in every area of my expectations - the sharpness of the lens, through the range, is incredible. The optical image stabilisation is done using ceramic guides which tweak the lens at the moment of exposure - when your back is against the wall, this gives you approx two stops extra hand holding stability - and of course, on a tripod at full zoom the IS completely secures a sharp image for you.

Macro, which is one of my great interests, performs stunningly, and the colours (try shooting flowers - wow!) are correctly saturated leaving little for photoshop to do.

I am SO glad I gave up on the Panasonic and bought this (3 weeks ago) and had I known how good this was I would have gone for the SX100 last year - still, just as well I suppose, the 3" LCD makes it an even better image making machine - If I may add, I bought a Manfrotto Modo Maxi tripod with integrated head - this has a 'leg spread' setting where the tripod head is about six inches from the ground (the tripod centre column unscrews just under the head to allow this to work) If you are into macro, grab one now - I paid about 45 quid which, given the quality and lightness (under a kg) is great - its only suitable for light cameras and partners my SX110 brilliantly!

So, go out and buy an SX110 now, or, next year when they replace it (SX120?) buy that instead!

Happy photography, Ross


November 14, 2008, 5:56 am

On the whole I really like the SX110. I feel that the only real downside is the high CCD noise when using high ISO settings. Unfortunately, in low light situations this is relatively necessary if you shoot indoors and try to use the zoom at all (see examples here


January 27, 2009, 2:54 pm

Is it all right using it with rechargeable Ni-MH AA batteries, Sony or Sanyo 2100 or 2700 mAh for instance?


January 31, 2009, 10:47 am

Yes it is. I bought it a few days ago, the user guide mentions Ni-MH batteries, it works just fine (unlike a Metz flash years ago, 45 CT1 I believe, the version with alkaline batteries power would be damaged if used with rechargeable batteries).

I just checked out my first tests, many of them in dawn or crepuscule, hendheld and tripod, just _absolutely_great_ camera for the money, I'm still surprised. I was considering it as a family/travel camera but I see now why the vendor was asking if I'm going to use it for job.

I've always had cameras with manual controls and I'm very glad I didn't renounce having them this time, I think they just make easy a lot of otherwise difficult or impossible situations.

So thanks a lot for your comments and thanks to trustedreviews for really helping in the choice.

(BTW, I also had quite similar opinions from expert friends about this camera and its competitors.)

chris sharp

February 9, 2009, 7:51 pm

Does anyone know if this uses the same softwaree as the SX100?



David Bate

April 7, 2009, 2:54 am

After over 50 years with 35mm.cameras, I went digital about 8 years ago. My partner and I now own 4 cameras, all Canon, the latest of which is the superb SX110IS.We like the very clear and easily navigated Canon menu system, which is common to all. The 3" LCD display is very clear and the zoom range is perfect for our photography. I like the pop-up flash which helps to reduce red-eye.Loads of manual options too and that amazing 1 cm. macro! We often print direct from the SD cards to A4 size and cannot fault the results from this camera at anything up to ISO 400.The alignment grid overlay {on all our Canons) is most useful too. Image quality and detail are generally superb. I just wish a live hystogram could be displayed before pressing the release but otherwise another Canon cracker!

Sachin 2

April 8, 2009, 7:16 pm


I have purchased the cannon sx110 last month and I am facing problem like after coping the images to comuter it looks vary dark , does anyone knows how to increase the brightness.

Thanks in advance.


David Bate

April 10, 2009, 4:18 am

Hi Sachin, Difficult to make any suggestions with so little info. to go on. I assume you are happy with the images on the camera screen so your exposures should be ok. The camera metering system is very good normally. Make sure you're not set to spot metering - can be a bit tricky to select the right subject area for this. Have you made any prints from images? That's almost the ultimate test for a satisfactory picture! If you bought the camera from a local dealer, have a chat with the guy who sold it to you, with some samples if possible. Computer stored images can be greatly improved in almost any of the photo programs available. Googles "Picasa3" is a freebie download and quite useful. It has a nice horizon straightening feature too! Don't give up. Dave Bate

David Bate

April 18, 2009, 4:00 am

Hi, Sachin,Are you still there and were my detailed comments of April 9 of any value?

Some response would be appreciated! Dave Bate

Lesley Sangster

May 22, 2009, 12:44 pm

I'd like to try out my new sx 110 but I can't open the battery/SD compartment. What's the trick?


June 3, 2009, 12:35 am

Does anyone have any comments on the canon powershot sx110 is vs. the fujifilm finepix s1500?


June 4, 2009, 6:19 pm

I have read elsewhere that this camera has rather heavy battery usage - anuyone have any comments ?


June 6, 2009, 12:49 pm

I have had this camera for 3 weeks now and I really enjoy taking photos with it.

I have mainly used it outdoors in good lighting so I can say the battrey life is great. Just make sure you switch from continuous image stabilisation to single shot. I get about 300 shots from a pair of Sanyo Eneloop's. The flash is slow to recharge so I wouldn't buy this for indoor use. But then again what would you do with a 10x zoom indoors anyway.


June 8, 2009, 5:48 pm

Thanks, that was my only concern. Sadly I've missed the cashback offer but financial constraints are in place until payday.


July 10, 2009, 3:00 am

Hi, TheMirkster said that he/she wouldn't recommend this camera for indoor use. I unfortunately can't afford to buy more than one camera at a time, so I need one that works equally well inside and outside. I really like the sound of this camera, especially the zoom, but I'm a little worried now about how it works indoors. Is it really that bad? What would other people advise?

Thanks for all your help!

Peter Maholchic

July 13, 2009, 9:03 pm

Provided there is adequate illumination on the subject this camera produces nice quality photographs. I found it to be an adequate travel camera outdoors in brilliant light. However in less than ideal conditions the camera produces images so soft that all detail is regretfully gone.

Subham Das

July 28, 2009, 1:42 pm

Hello Everybody,

I have bought this camera on January 10th,2009. Now from that time onwards this camera has caused immense headache. I use a pair of Sanyo 2700mAh rechargable battery, but somehow even after charging the batteries fully, it lasts only for 2 hrs at a stretch maximum when used in this camera. I previously felt that something is wrong with the Batteries and got it checked. Also have used the same batteries with other gadgets and seems like the batteries work fine. Makes me guess there is something wrong with the camera. It draws tooooooooooo much charge. I called up the Canon peoiple and they recomended me to use Uniross batteries. Though i havent used Uniross, i would like to get advice from others about what batteries to use for longer battery life?

Subham Das


August 15, 2009, 7:49 pm

I bought this camera around December last year and it's been absolutely fantastic! In reply to Subham Das, I've recently been using Energizer Lithium +AA Batteries which cost around £6 for a pack of 6 and I seriously advise you to buy these!!! I went on holiday for two weeks and took my camera and I only used one pair of batteries for the whole fortnight. Unfortunately, these are just single use yet somebody told me that you can buy them as rechargables aswell so I'm currently on the hunt for some as I was so impressed!

Hope this helps


comments powered by Disqus