Home / Cameras / Camera / Canon IXUS 110 IS / Test Shots - ISO Performance

Canon IXUS 110 IS - Test Shots - ISO Performance

By Cliff Smith

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Canon IXUS 110 IS

Summary

Our Score:

9

Over the next few pages we show a range of test shots. On this page the full size image at the minimum and maximum ISO settings have been reduced to let you see the full image, and a series of full resolution crops have taken from original images at a range of ISO settings to show the overall image quality. These pictures were taken indoors using reflected natural light.

----

This is the full frame at 80 ISO.

----

At the minimum ISO setting the image quality is excellent with no sign of image noise.

----

Much the same results at 100 ISO.

----

Still no problems at 200 ISO.

----

Some signs of noise reduction at 400 ISO, but still plenty of detail.

----

Noise is more obvious at 800 ISO, but overall quality is still good.

----

1600 ISO is pixel-binned and lacks detail, but the colours are still good.

----

This is the full frame at 1600 ISO.

----

Wyrd Sister

August 13, 2009, 6:54 pm

Great timing for the review - I'm just buying a new camera and this is one of the candidates on my shortlist. I'm still undecided between the IXUS 110 IS, 100 IS and 990 IS. Which of these three would you recommend? (I was even considering one from the Lumix compact range, but I’ve got the IXUS 950 and love it. I guess I’ve got a penchant for Canon.) Is the grip on the 110 good? (It may sound silly, but I was kinda worried because of its curvy side: it looks like I might accidentally drop it, or that it could be hard to hold it and shoot with one hand).

Cliff Smith

August 13, 2009, 10:37 pm

I've not tried the IXUS 100 IS yet, but it does look nice. If had to choose between the 110 and the 990, I think I'd take the 110. I prefer the zoom range, and the ultra-compact size gives it the edge in portability. As for handling, as I mentioned in the review it's very easy to grip securely, even one-handed.

Wyrd Sister

August 14, 2009, 3:56 pm

Thank you a lot.

NICHOLAS JONES

August 14, 2009, 8:29 pm

I bought one a couple of weeks ago for £189.00 from Amazon in their sale. It has replaced my old Canon 850 is. It is a great little camera & is much easier to use than my old one. The on screen hints are very useful while you are getting used to the camera. The quality of the photos & movies are really excellent. I wasn't sure about not having an optical view finder but the screen is bright & sharp it isn't a problem. A great buy, highly recommended.

Ed

August 14, 2009, 8:57 pm

@NICHOLAS JONES: I'm intrigued. I own an 850 IS and have been very happy with it - stil am. Nothing about the 110 IS (reading Cliff's review of it, that is) made me think I'd want to upgrade anytime soon. Is it really that much better?

Wyrd Sister

August 15, 2009, 12:19 am

@NICHOLAS JONES: Cheers! I don't know why I find its elongated body a bit... odd. I tried it and it actually sits in my hand quite comfortably, and I also like the zoom range on this puppy, but for this shape. I suppose I have to get used to it. Thanks for your input.

Cliff Smith

August 17, 2009, 5:49 pm

Ed - The 110 IS is a very nice camera, but then so is the 850 IS and personally I wouldn't bother upgrading just yet. The 110 IS is technically the better of the two, but not by enough to spend £200 on it.

George M

November 8, 2009, 2:36 am

Hi Cliff and the team, I'm just buying a new camera and in the past I was always very satisfied with your reviews and recommendations. I'm looking for the ultra compact with very good (the best) image quality, performance and all other features in reasonable level. My candidate is Canon Ixus 120 - do you have any experience with it? Is it better than Ixus 110?


I was also thinking about Nikon Coolpix S640. Does anyone have any experience?


Is there any new better model of ultracompact from Canon or Nikon?


Thank you for any feedback.

james 22

March 23, 2010, 10:13 pm

Hello Cliff,





although I'm a die hard fun on canon ixus series & i'm about one step before buy the canon ixus 110, I've checked your review on Sony Cyber-shot DSC-W290 and i found the picture quality is better.





Looking at the West Window of Exeter Cathedral, I think Sony's W209 is more detailed and the colors are more vivid. Canon's 110 same picture is not so detailed and black and green color seem week!


Does this has to do with the day of light or I whats I see is what I'll get? Whats your opinion between the two of them?


I really hope you can help with this decision!

comments powered by Disqus