• Recommended by TR
Canon IXUS 110 IS


Our Score


User Score

Review Price £191.24

Earlier this week I reviewed the new Canon IXUS 990 IS, one of a pair of 12.1-megapixel ultra-compacts launched at the same time in February this year. Today I'm taking a look at its counterpart, the new IXUS 110 IS. While the two cameras share many similarities, they do have several major differences, intended to cover between them a wider section of the fairly specialised luxury ultra-compact market.

The shared features are mostly internal. The 110 IS has the same 12.1-megapixel 1/2.3-inch CCD sensor, the same DIGIC 4 iSAPS processor, and the same 1280 x 720 HD 30fps video recording mode. It has the same still-shooting modes as well, including Program, 18 Scene Mode programs, and Auto, with the same automatic features including scene recognition and advanced face and motion detection. Fortunately the 110 IS also shares the 990's exemplary build quality, with a strong and stylish metal-covered body.

The most obvious difference between the two cameras is physical size. The 110 IS is slightly longer, but less tall, slimmer and lighter than the 990 IS, measuring 97.9 x 54.1 x 22.1mm and weighing approximately 170g including battery and memory card. As a result the 110 IS loses the 990's beautiful 3.0-inch 460k monitor in favour of a smaller 2.8-inch 230k widescreen monitor. Fortunately it retains the excellent anti glare coating and five-step adjustable brightness, and works just as well in bright daylight.

Next page

Wyrd Sister

August 13, 2009, 6:54 pm

Great timing for the review - I'm just buying a new camera and this is one of the candidates on my shortlist. I'm still undecided between the IXUS 110 IS, 100 IS and 990 IS. Which of these three would you recommend? (I was even considering one from the Lumix compact range, but I’ve got the IXUS 950 and love it. I guess I’ve got a penchant for Canon.) Is the grip on the 110 good? (It may sound silly, but I was kinda worried because of its curvy side: it looks like I might accidentally drop it, or that it could be hard to hold it and shoot with one hand).

Cliff Smith

August 13, 2009, 10:37 pm

I've not tried the IXUS 100 IS yet, but it does look nice. If had to choose between the 110 and the 990, I think I'd take the 110. I prefer the zoom range, and the ultra-compact size gives it the edge in portability. As for handling, as I mentioned in the review it's very easy to grip securely, even one-handed.

Wyrd Sister

August 14, 2009, 3:56 pm

Thank you a lot.


August 14, 2009, 8:29 pm

I bought one a couple of weeks ago for £189.00 from Amazon in their sale. It has replaced my old Canon 850 is. It is a great little camera & is much easier to use than my old one. The on screen hints are very useful while you are getting used to the camera. The quality of the photos & movies are really excellent. I wasn't sure about not having an optical view finder but the screen is bright & sharp it isn't a problem. A great buy, highly recommended.


August 14, 2009, 8:57 pm

@NICHOLAS JONES: I'm intrigued. I own an 850 IS and have been very happy with it - stil am. Nothing about the 110 IS (reading Cliff's review of it, that is) made me think I'd want to upgrade anytime soon. Is it really that much better?

Wyrd Sister

August 15, 2009, 12:19 am

@NICHOLAS JONES: Cheers! I don't know why I find its elongated body a bit... odd. I tried it and it actually sits in my hand quite comfortably, and I also like the zoom range on this puppy, but for this shape. I suppose I have to get used to it. Thanks for your input.

Cliff Smith

August 17, 2009, 5:49 pm

Ed - The 110 IS is a very nice camera, but then so is the 850 IS and personally I wouldn't bother upgrading just yet. The 110 IS is technically the better of the two, but not by enough to spend £200 on it.

George M

November 8, 2009, 2:36 am

Hi Cliff and the team, I'm just buying a new camera and in the past I was always very satisfied with your reviews and recommendations. I'm looking for the ultra compact with very good (the best) image quality, performance and all other features in reasonable level. My candidate is Canon Ixus 120 - do you have any experience with it? Is it better than Ixus 110?

I was also thinking about Nikon Coolpix S640. Does anyone have any experience?

Is there any new better model of ultracompact from Canon or Nikon?

Thank you for any feedback.

james 22

March 23, 2010, 10:13 pm

Hello Cliff,

although I'm a die hard fun on canon ixus series & i'm about one step before buy the canon ixus 110, I've checked your review on Sony Cyber-shot DSC-W290 and i found the picture quality is better.

Looking at the West Window of Exeter Cathedral, I think Sony's W209 is more detailed and the colors are more vivid. Canon's 110 same picture is not so detailed and black and green color seem week!

Does this has to do with the day of light or I whats I see is what I'll get? Whats your opinion between the two of them?

I really hope you can help with this decision!

comments powered by Disqus