Quick Glance
Camera type Digital SLR
Optical Zoom By lens
Megapixels 12.2
Camera type Digital SLR
Optical Zoom By lens
Megapixels 12.2
Image Sensor CMOS


July 18, 2008, 11:56 am

Oops .. part of review is missing. Page 4 ends...

"Since the EOS 450D is significantly mo" & there's no conclusion!

Cliff .. was the camera so good that you were actually lost for words? ;)

Rgds Paul

P.S. Still chuffed with my FinePix S9600 bought as a direct result of your 10/10 review!

Cliff Smith

July 18, 2008, 5:25 pm

Not sure what happened there, but a chunk of text seemed to have evaporated into cyberspace somehow. Don't panic though, it's back now.

Glad to hear you're enjoying your S9600. Some people though I was stupid to give it 10/10 like that, but I've received dozens of emails from readers just like yourself who have bought one and are delighted with it. Ah, the sweet taste of vindication :)


July 18, 2008, 5:46 pm

Blimey, the small Devon town of Sidmouth has certainly gone very Mediterranean since my last visit!! Wrong picture? ...or caption? ;)

Andy Vandervell

July 18, 2008, 5:49 pm

I think it's in jest...

Cliff Smith

July 18, 2008, 9:02 pm

The seafront shot is actually the harbour at Monte Carlo, in case you were wondering. I was over there last week for a press event.


July 19, 2008, 1:23 pm

Hmmm... very strange review. No ISO test because of card fail =) That test could be at someone's personal homepage, not at TR ! Also that harbor shot - it's too blurry ! I have much better shots even with kit lens.

P.S. Sad to see reviews like this one...


July 21, 2008, 1:08 pm

''That test could be at someone's personal homepage, not at TR ! ''

Huh? What does that mean?


''Sad to see reviews like this one...''

You don't agree? You're sad for Canon? If you're going to comment, at least qualify your statements.


July 21, 2008, 7:39 pm

Although a good review - it does have a 'rushed' feel to it.

That said I got my 450D at launch and paired with L lenses it is a great tool - but I get the feeling Canon did some careful work with it's JPG's to ensure differentiation from it's higher models. As evidenced from the excellent RAW images.


July 25, 2008, 4:23 pm

Ed: I mean it's not a professional review. If I'll qualify my statements it will be new Canon review =) But at least you can look at other 450D reviews somewhere in internet. Maybe you can understand what I mean concerning test quality


July 25, 2008, 4:54 pm

I'm sorry but you can't accuse Cliff of submitting an unprofessional review and leave such statements completely unqualified. If you're referring to the loss of ISO comparison images, well, we only have products to test for a short loan period and often only get round to writing the review after the product has gone back so if the test images have failed there's nothing we can do about it.

As for the image quality comments, i've read other publications also noting that the 450D exposes the poor quality of the Canon's stock lenses and Cliff's test shots demonstrate this.

Most importantly, though, none of these issues affect Cliff's final conclusions. He still thinks it's a great camera, so what are you moaning about?

Mark 6

July 25, 2008, 8:21 pm

I purchased an EOS450 over 6 weeks ago and totally agree with the comments about the lens. I can’t understand why Canon are producing a semi pro camera with great features and supplying such a bad lens. It particularly suffered from flare. I have now bought a 2nd hand Tamron 18-200 mm lens and there has been a huge improvement in quality. I have to say that the lack of the image stabilisation system in the older lens has not been an issue. If you buy this camera for goodness sake get a decent lens. One passing thought, although I think the Canon is an excellent camera it is still not quite up to the standard of film. I reckon that you need to spend a couple of thousand pounds to equal my 3 year Nikon F55 which only cost 𧴺 – makes you wonder if we are been duped by all these manufactures!


July 25, 2008, 8:52 pm

Hi Mark,

This is hardly surprising because film is 35mm whereas most SLRs use smaller sensors than this. Unless you get a full frame SLR (i.e. �+) then you could hardly expect the quality to be the same.

The Pope

July 25, 2008, 9:25 pm

By all means buy this camera Body Only and use the cash saved to put towards a decent lens. Nobody's forcing anyone to buy the Kit Lens, but for many it's a cheap all-purpose lens to get y'all started ie take pics out of the box.


August 7, 2008, 1:49 am

Oh, how wrong you are about the kit lens. There is nothing wrong with it's sharpness at all. The only drawback is this lens' build quality but that is something you can live with considering the amount of money paid. Kit lens is strongly recommended!

Mark 6

August 8, 2008, 4:18 pm

I totally disagree with you about the lens kit. I have gone out and bought a 2nd hand Tamron and you can easily see the improvement in quality over the lens kit. This is particularly true with sharpness and flare. The chap in the camera shop where I bought the camera said much the same thing – they are built to cost. It is interesting that Cliff has had the same problems. I would strongly recommend that you buy just the body. However if you not too worried about quality I do have a spare lens for sale! Going back to what the Ed has said would I have to buy a camera with a full frame sensor such as the Nikon D700 to equal the quality of 35mm? If so I guess that you are looking at close to �!


August 20, 2008, 3:02 am

i'm probably going to make this my first SLR.. good idea? or not? I already had in mind to buy a tamron or sigma 18-200 lens, just to have a cheaper wide-range lens; and it seems that might just be a good idea considering the comments about the kit-lens?

is this about the best SLR i can get for that price? (about 1000 euro's, lens included (= 700 pounds i think))

PS: I also posted a forum topic about this


September 3, 2008, 11:13 pm

That argument will go around in circles I guess, but the real question...yes the Kit lens is ok, but what lens can I purchase in direct replacement to it? On a budget of course.

Mark 6

September 11, 2008, 4:49 pm

I purchased a 2nd hand 18-200mm Tamron lens which has improved the results. I would add one point; with my local developer I am going to produce a set of post cards of Bath for sale next years tourist season. Looking at the results of the Canon compared to my 35mm Nikon, most of the pictures that we use will be from the film camera. In terms of picture quality it far superior to the Canon. When you take into account all the associated costs of owning a digital SLR (computers, software, batteries etc) and more importantly time, I still feel that film has a lot to offer.


November 21, 2008, 2:26 pm

This is my first DSLR after using a 4Mp Olympus C-770 digicam for the last 4 years. Originally I was going to buy an Olympus E520 but after reading reviews, and trying both cameras, I went for the Canon EOS 450D with twin image stabilised lens. By chance I managed to buy on a holiday weekend when one store was offering 20% off the usual price so I feel I got a bargain. Canon were also running a promo which gave free bag, lens cloth and 2 packs of print paper on proof of purchase so I am happy!

Construction of the body does feel a little too plastic for my liking but it is lightweight which is great after spending a morning or afternoon shooting!! I am very happy with the image quality of the shots taken so far and I am delighted with the quick response of the camera. I can now capture the shots I want which I could not always do with the C-770. Low light shots are much better than the C-770 but not quite as good as recall I used to get on a Fuji F30 with "super CCD" I did have before I loaned it to my daughter and never saw it again!!

I accept that the kit lens will not be as good as the more expensive ones but for my purpose they are fine right now.


November 28, 2009, 7:07 pm

Hi, I was thinking about buying either Canon EOS 450D SLR or Nikon D3000, which do you guys think I should buy?

Thank you.


November 28, 2009, 7:08 pm

Should I buy Nikon D3000 or Nikon D3000?


January 22, 2014, 10:44 am

I would go for Nikon D3000 although Nikon D3000 is also not bad....your choice...

comments powered by Disqus