Home / Computing / Peripheral / Buffalo LinkStation Duo / Buffalo LinkStation Duo

Buffalo LinkStation Duo - Buffalo LinkStation Duo

By Hugo Jobling



Our Score:


An excellent feature offered by the Duo, and common to many Buffalo NAS devices, is WebAccess. Ostensibly this just allows files on the Duo to be browsed via a compatible web browser, including Android's or mobile Safari. Where Buffalo excels is by offering its own dynamic DNS portal, such that you don't need to register with a third-party service in order to gain entry to your NAS remotely - it's a small touch, but a neat one.

It’s a system simple enough that most users shouldn't have any problems, without verging as close to patronising its users as the Netgear Stora. Further, while the feature set isn't quite as rich as the QNAP TS-219, nor the UI quite as snazzy, this is reflected in the £100-odd lower price.

The QNAP NAS, for example, offers three USB ports and can have a webcam connected to it. Conversely, the only function the Duo's USB port can serve - other than accommodating USB storage - is to hook up a USB printer, which can then be shared over a local network.

Also good is the bundled Memeo AutoBackup software. As you might guess, this backs up your data automatically. What's particularly noteworthy here is the smart placement of files into appropriate folders, saving you the effort. It's not flawless - if you're particular about how your files are arranged this isn't for you - but it's a damn sight better than performing the same process manually. If you're a Mac user, Time Machine support will be good news.

Other NAS devices offer more functionality - Netgear's ReadyNAS range supports third-party plugins, for example - but for a little under £200 you can't expect such luxuries. Those features the LinkStation Duo does offer work without any problems. What more can we ask for?


The feature set and performance of the Buffalo LinkStation Duo are hard to snub, especially given its reasonable asking price.

Overall Score


Scores In Detail

  • Value 8


January 8, 2010, 11:13 pm

Hi Hugo - Nice to see your still around.

I was talking to a friend the other week about how the rate of news stories had decreaed of the last year then we realised we hadn't seen a news article wrote by you for ages and they were mostly from. We came to the conclution you'd left the site.

Show how much attention I really do pay.


January 9, 2010, 3:37 am


I have a lot of .wav files that are DTS encoded will they stream from this bit of kit. They don't from a ReadyNAS Duo just get white noise, they stream ok from a Windows Home Server to my Pioneer SC-LX72.


January 9, 2010, 3:26 pm


Hi, I have one of the original Linkstations - 'steam' powered ;) ....and have DTS encoded wav files streaming. Surely its about the decoder end of the chain not the stream source? Which is, after all, just a digital stream like any other data. You get white noise because your not decoding the stream locally these units do not have decoder software they are just 'dumb' NAS boxes.


January 10, 2010, 3:36 am

@gunholio: FYI, Hugo's been part of the reviews team for several months now. You can find him in the MP3, NAS, and sporting goods departments.


January 10, 2010, 1:53 pm

great review, looks like a sturdy little NAS... any word on whether it is compatible with +2tb drives? it's one of the qnap few caveats that i'm looking to circumvent!


January 11, 2010, 4:39 pm

@trukspin: The ReadyNAS Duo shouldn't have any issues playing DTS encoded WAV's, apart from being a decoder issue like @Chocoa said maybe it could be bandwidth, have you enabled Jumbo Frames on your NAS?. The ReadyNAS is a fantastic piece of kit and with SabNzbd installed means it's the only device I need to have on 24/7.


January 11, 2010, 9:50 pm

so if you put all your music on this and use it as a itunes server does it show up like a shared libary on another computer or is it added in so you can sync from it?


January 12, 2010, 2:06 am

@Ed: Ok. Thanks. I read pretty much all the new, but cherry pick the reviews.


January 13, 2010, 2:27 pm

Does the drive come with 2 x 500gb or 1 x 1tb?

What would you choose between Netgear Stora MS2110 and Buffalo LinkStation Duo?

Dean Apiagyei-Williams

January 26, 2010, 3:46 pm

Just to share the love... I found the 2TB version of the Linkstation Duo on Ebuyer for around £165 INC VAT!!!! - http://www.ebuyer.com/product/...

Richard London

May 11, 2013, 3:36 pm

OK until it breaks - then replaced with refurbished unit.
I bought my Buffalo in November 2010 and reasonably happy with it. Shortly before the warranty period ended the drive failed. I returned it to Buffalo who sent a replacement. The replacement was a refurbished drive and during the process of copying my files onto it this replacement exhibited an error. At this point the warranty period had expired and Buffalo would do nothing further for me. Really you should expect to get around 5 years out of a drive before it might fail. Do a search of the internet for other unhappy Buffalo customers before you consider purchasing this.


June 6, 2013, 11:40 pm

Exactly two years old unit failed, very light usage remained mostly off, yet it died. Buffalo recommended replacement of entire unit at my cost of course.

Angel Vardum

June 9, 2013, 8:16 pm

Stay away from Buffalo NAS devices.

I have an older LS-W1.0TGL/R1 model, which has died on me today, after a few years of very light usage -- good thing I kept a backup of it, so I lost only a fedw files. But even before it died, it was pure disappointment.

Impaired usability: It's a network attached storage, supposed to stay up to serve files on demand. It has an "auto" setting for it, but I could not make it work from multiple computers. So when I need a file for my Mac, I had to run upstairs and turn on my Windows computer, so that It would wake up the NAS. Silly. Startup time for the device from the "auto" mode is close to one minute - way slower than to plug a portable USB drive.

Dismal performance: the documentatino did not specify the throughput, but it has two disks in RAID 0 array, and is equipped with 1G ethernet -so I thought I would get around a hundred megabytes per second out it - yet in reality I could not get anything more than 10MB/s. Contacted their support - they said it's weird, recommended firmware update, which I did, but nothing seemed to help.


August 30, 2013, 2:37 pm

Completely disappointed. I have the Pro Duo LS and it is NOT user friendly. No operating instructions. Poor setup instructions. Tech support is excellent however but be prepared to spend time on the phone trying to configure your device the way you want it. Pain in the bum!

comments powered by Disqus