Home » TVs & Audio » Portable Audio » Bowers & Wilkins Zeppelin Mini » Bowers & Wilkins Zeppelin Mini

Bowers & Wilkins Zeppelin Mini - Bowers & Wilkins Zeppelin Mini

By Riyad Emeran


  • Recommended by TR
Bowers & Wilkins Zeppelin Mini


Our Score


Review Price £299.00

One thing that I did notice about the Zeppelin Mini is that it doesn’t respond well to low bit-rate sources. Whereas I can happily stream Napster through my original Zeppelin via a Sonos ZoneBridge with reasonable results, pumping the same feed through the Mini via my PC’s USB port was less than satisfactory. The sound produced is almost painfully harsh, with the Mini highlighting all the shortcomings of a 128kbps source file. Of course with any decent audio device you should feed it the best possible source, and sticking to high bit-rate files means that you won’t have a problem, but this is an area where the original Zeppelin proves that it’s slightly more versatile than its new sibling.

The Zeppelin Mini ships with exactly the same egg shaped remote control as the original Zeppelin, which offers control for power, play/pause, skip forward/backward, volume and input source. Neatly hidden along one side of the Mini itself are controls for power and volume, so you can control everything directly if you don’t want to use the remote, or happen to lose it.

Some might complain that the Zeppelin Mini doesn’t have a built-in clock or radio, but that’s not really the route down which Bowers and Wilkins is travelling. Most of the iPod docks you find stuffed with features like clocks and radios, do so at the expense of far more important aspects like build and sound quality. The Zeppelin Mini and the Zeppelin before it are all about getting the best audio experience from your iPod, full stop!

Unsurprisingly, the Mini isn’t as expensive as the original Zeppelin, but you still wouldn’t consider it cheap. With a price tag of £299, it definitely sits at the top end of the iPod dock market, but like its big brother, it goes a long way to justifying that price. That said, if you are looking for a high-end speaker dock for your iPod, I’d still suggest stumping up a bit more cash and going for the original Zeppelin, it really is worth it. If however, you simply can’t stretch that far, don’t have the space or are particularly keen on the digital iPod connection and USB connectivity, then the Zeppelin Mini won’t disappoint.

The Zeppelin Mini has so many uses


Bowers and Wilkins has proved that it can produce superb iPod sound quality in a smaller chassis, while adding a few new features along the way. The Mini isn’t as aesthetically striking as the original Zeppelin though, and it doesn’t excel aurally to quite the same level, but considering its size, it does an amazing job of filling a room.

Bear in mind that if you have a library full of low bit-rate files, the Zeppelin Mini will highlight the limitations of those tracks, so it’s best to stick to high quality sources to get the best results. Given the choice, I’d still buy the original Zeppelin over the Mini, but there are many reasons why someone may prefer the smaller and cheaper option.

Scores In Detail

Sound Quality

Our Score

Previous page


February 1, 2010, 3:06 pm

I demoed both before xmas before settling on the full size Zepp - for £80 more the sound was much more dynamic and room filling. Not to say the Mini was bad but more suited for smaller rooms.

"The ability to stream music via USB gives away the fact that unlike the original Zeppelin, the Zeppelin Mini has an integrated DAC."

are you sure about this? I am using the optical input on the Zep from my HTPC - so digital into the Zep via Toslink to mini-Toslink cable.


February 1, 2010, 3:59 pm

@HSC: Yes, I'm the same. I have my Zepp stuck under my TV and use the mini TosLink connected to the Optical out of my TV. Much better than the TV speakers of course :). So yes, the Zepp must also have an integrated DAC & Decoder.

The only thing that is a little annoying about my Zepp is that the Iphone always complains about it not been compatible, yes fair enough you can just click the don't go into Airplane mode, but still annoying, but I blame Apple here, surely my phone should just come up with this message once, or have the ability to turn the nagg off.

One thing I really find the Zepp useful for is recharging my Iphone, sometimes when the Iphone battery get too low if wont recharge, and this is using Apples original wall socket charger, stick it in the Zepp and it's fine.


February 1, 2010, 7:24 pm

Nice product if space is limited in your house.

I'm still very happy with my originalZepp :) Kinda disappointed that they've kept the same pebble remote (btw - the remote is upside down in the pic).. For the £400 i spent on my zepp, i'd have expected something a little more from the remote. Still, it does the job and doesn't effect sound quality ;)


February 1, 2010, 11:29 pm

Never understood the bashing of coverflow. Covers are how I think of my albumns, and great for prompting an ooh I haven't listened to that in a while


February 2, 2010, 1:49 am

@HSC & Keith – You’re both absolutely right, the original Zeppelin does have a built-in DAC for use with the combined analogue and optical auxiliary input. However, it does NOT take a digital signal from a docked iPod.

When you’re using a docked iPod, the Zeppelin is receiving the analogue line-out signal from the docking connector, so the DAC inside the iPod is still being used. Given, this is still far better than the quality you’ll get out of an iPod headphone jack, but if you believe that the iPod DAC is lacking, you can’t take it out of the equation with the original Zeppelin.

The Zeppelin Mini on the other hand pulls the digital stream direct from the iPod’s docking port, thus bypassing the iPod’s internal DAC and using its own. I think that I was so hung-up on the fact that the Mini can stream digitally from an iPod, that I forgot that the original Zeppelin could decode an optical digital input. In my head I had decided that the reason the original Zeppelin wasn’t pulling digital data from the iPod was a lack of internal DAC.

Streaming digital audio via USB is potentially more reliable than using optical digital anyway, since there’s less chance of jitter causing a problem. That said, when I spoke to Bowers and Wilkins out at CES I was told that the company is close to perfecting an asynchronous digital connection, which should eradicate jitter giving you a completely clean digital signal from any source. Once something like that is available, it won’t matter whether your music is stored on a disc, on a computer or on a NAS appliance, the quality of signal will be identical.

Horace Coker

February 2, 2010, 1:52 am

"So, if the most important thing to you about an iPod dock is that it looks like an airship, you may be slightly underwhelmed by the Zeppelin Mini." It's sentences like this that make make TR reviewers stand out from the crowd! Keep it up!!


February 2, 2010, 2:01 am

@overthere - I agree that CoverFlow does try to recreate that feeling of browsing your record collection, but for me it just seems like a waste of time if I know what I want to listen to. Curiously though, at the weekend I found myself browsing my CD collection on the shelves, finding something I wanted to listen to, then playing it on the iPod docked in my Zeppelin :)

prag fest

February 2, 2010, 3:41 am

I've been curious to see your review of this. I have an original zeppelin and absolutely love it, so didn't hesitate to pick up one of these. Even taking into account realistic expectations given the reduced size and speaker arrangement, I was massively disappointed with the sound it produced, sending it packing back to John Lewis a couple of days later. Strange, I found the sound stage very small and the whole thing terribly tinny, it didn't sound anywhere as good as a friends bose sound dock thingy.

Not only that, the damn blue LED flashing frantically on the front drove me crazy (had it sitting on my work desk) and the iPhone dock adapter seemed to wedge the phone in so tight I kept missing calls because I couldn't prize the thing out in time. To add insult to injury, thought it was way overpriced at £300 quid too.

Rant over.


February 2, 2010, 3:02 pm

Hi guys - I know a little off topic, but I'm interested in the idea posted above of taking the optical output from my TV and putting it into a Zepplin sat beneath it.

Could anyone who's done this please answer a few questions for me ?

1) Does this just use a normal optical cable of the type used to connect (for example) a DVD and AMP ?

2) Would the Zep perform ok sat on a shelf beneath the TV facing directly into the room ?

3) When the iPhone is docked and playing, can it be remote controlled via the Zep remote ? For example forwarding a track, pausing, etc.

Just thinking aloud, thanks for any advice.


February 2, 2010, 3:45 pm


1) Does this just use a normal optical cable of the type used to connect (for example) a DVD and AMP ?

Yes it uses normal optical cable, it takes a mini TosLink, so if your cable is normal TosLink you will want a TosLink to Mini TosLink adapter.. eg http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module...

2) Would the Zep perform ok sat on a shelf beneath the TV facing directly into the room ?

That's were I have mine..

3) When the iPhone is docked and playing, can it be remote controlled via the Zep remote ? For example forwarding a track, pausing,

Yes, also on you Iphone you get some extra options for controlling Bass too.


February 2, 2010, 8:13 pm

whilst i was looking at the bigger zepplin dock and commenting on a few of its flaws, the sales assistant informed me that the B&W rep, who setup the zepplin display, had told them a newer version of the dock would be out this year around september time. Has anyone heard about this?


February 2, 2010, 9:18 pm

Thankyou for that information Keith. Very useful. Especially interesting to know that I can remotely control the docked iPhone from the Zep handset.

On the top of a Zep-2 coming out, well the present one has been out over 2 years now, but September is a long long time away still.


February 2, 2010, 10:34 pm

@AJ / Keith - Are you talking about the Zeppelin or the Zeppelin Mini?

The Zeppelin Mini definitely does not accept mini-Toslink whereas the Zeppelin (airship)does. (The Mini's aux in is 'line-in' only and not fibre optic, whereas the Zeppelin could double as both.)


February 3, 2010, 2:58 pm

@Dan, AJ just asked for the Zeppelin not the mini, and my previous comments before were related to the DAC of the airship model. :)


February 26, 2010, 11:38 pm

Any chance of the B&W P5 headphones being reviewed? They sound interesting to me (no pun intended!)


October 16, 2010, 6:40 pm

still struggling to see why no internal battery is present. if you love quality hifi your likely to have one at home which will play ipods beautifully anyway.... so surely portability and inbuilt power source has to be a major factor with these units!? Or is hoiking cables, plugs and extension leads around still the way to go? Even a detachable battery pack that doubles as a base would be just the ticket...?? Also 'zeppelin mini' terrible name, it isn't a zeppelin and isn's a mini zeppelin either. Maybe the B&W 'doink' would be a better name? ;o)

comments powered by Disqus