specs
Quick Glance
Screen Size (inches) 3.25
Operating System BlackBerry
Touchscreen Yes
General
Operating System BlackBerry
Height 112.5
Width 62.2
Depth 14
Weight 160
Available Colours Black
Display
Touchscreen Yes
Screen Size (inches) 3.25
Screen Resolution 360x480
Battery
Talk Time 360
Standby Time 280
Storage
Internal Storage 2
Camera 3.15
Camera Flash LED
Front Facing Camera No
Connectivity
Charging/Computer Connection microUSB
3.5mm Headphone Jack Yes
3G/4G Yes
WiFi Yes
Bluetooth Yes
Misc
GPS Yes
App Store BlackBerry App World

NeilBolts

December 2, 2009, 10:23 pm

I've had the new storm 2 for a month or so now and I have to say I am bitterly regretting my decision. It freezes on me approximately every other day, the battery lasts a day at most, in terms of reception and making/dropping calls, my old N95 8gb was far superior. I cannot wait to get rid of it. Rubbish!!!

noTHINGface

December 3, 2009, 1:03 am

I think I'm most upset by the fact that it isn't an iPhone... Though it's cheaper to tether of course.

farki80

December 3, 2009, 3:31 am

I have to agree. The Storm and Storm2 has been a disaster to use. Everyone complains about Nokia's S60 UI, but the Blackberry UI is even way behind in both usability and flashiness.

Malderon

December 3, 2009, 8:09 am

I'm always defending my poor Storm. I really think that it just takes some getting used to. Complaining about usability is way off the mark to me, I can type much faster than on any other touchscreen keyboard (its a matter of getting the settings right), and I find the menu's etc to be very finger friendly and common sense (I'm not sure being behind in "flashiness" is such a bad thing, see TouchFlo)





Wi-Fi is the big omission for me on my Generation 1, I don't think I will be upgrading to a Storm2, I will probably be moving to android as I'm an open source fan, and think android will get more third party support but the Storm if you get the right firmware on there, and give it a bit of time then it really is a competant handset. I know alot of people had faults and signal dropping, but mines reliability and call quality have been first rate - maybe I was just lucky.





Anyway to anyone thinking of getting a smartphone on Voda, I would suggest you take the Storm2 seriously, especially if for example you need the corporate email integration.

Ed

December 3, 2009, 2:18 pm

@farki80: I have to disagree strongly that the Blackberry UI is behind in usability. It is quite simply excellent. Things are intuitively laid out, it's neat, and it's fast. S60 is still far, far behind.

Keithe6e

December 3, 2009, 2:50 pm

@noTHINGface: Though it's cheaper to tether of course.





Well, it's not any cheaper, it's not the phone that dictates tethering rates.. :)

farki80

December 4, 2009, 7:55 pm

I guess we can agree to disagree. I find Blackberry UI to be archaic as you do so with S60.

mandyearl

December 5, 2009, 12:59 am

The Blackberry GUI is way behind any mobile OS currently on the market, even none-smartphones. You only need to use the contact, calendar and messaging applications to know what I mean. It really is like using an old Word Perfect software.





The OS itself may be powerful but so it Windows Mobile. UI wise, RIM is way behind everyone - even Microsoft.

Zero

December 5, 2009, 3:46 am

When referring to far behind? Far behind who and what? Whats it not got to make it far behind? Please don't mention a Iphone

Vince

December 18, 2009, 4:26 am

I'm using a Blackberry 8310 at the moment, having previously been very anti-Blackberry. I'm converted to it - it's not full of bells and whistles but it works very well indeed and has a lot of basic features I wish any of my previous phones had.





However, I really really really really really (yes really) hate the newer UI on things like the Bold/Storm. I've had a look a few times now and it really isn't what I wanted. A truely horrible change and utterly unintuitive.





Right now a Nokia N97 + Blackberry 8310 will be the way it is for the forseeable.

Ed

December 18, 2009, 4:52 am

@Vince: Not really sure what you mean with regard the UI. I've not used any Blackberrys prior to the Bold but having had a quick look at some videos of the 8310, it appears that the new OS is just a visual revamp but functionally the same.

matt10

March 31, 2010, 11:05 pm

i havent actually got a bb storm 2 yet but am hoping to get one. I think all the bad reviews regarding it breaking are down to people not treating them properly. othyer issues are in my view one offs and i think its just damaging a good phones reputation. Some things like the surepress technology are things you have to either get use to, or just dont get the phone.

comments powered by Disqus