BenQ FP241W 24in Widescreen Monitor - BenQ FP241W

By Riyad Emeran

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Editors choice
BenQ FP241W 24in Widescreen Monitor

Summary

Our Score:

10

A lot of LCD monitors have problems with greyscale gradation, but the FP241W had no such issues. The 256 level intensity ramp DisplayMate test showed an incredibly smooth transition from the upper to lower ends of the intensity spectrum, without even a hint of green or pink creeping into the midrange, as is often seen on other screens. Likewise, the 64 step greyscale test showed no issues with colour ingress, while the FP241W didn’t suffer from any compression issues at either end of the intensity spectrum.

Colour performance was every bit as good, with the 256 level colour intensity ramp displaying a smooth transition from high to low, with the red green and blue channels all looking as pure as they could be. Likewise, the colour scales test was spot on, with no compression at the high end and every single colour falling off uniformly at the last block.

The stand is probably the best I have seen on any monitor. Bizarrely, it doesn’t look like it would be particularly steady, but it is in fact rock solid. Despite the fact that the stand plants the FP241W to your desk, it takes up a minimal amount of room – I’ve actually seen stands on 19in monitors take up more desk space. There’s also no denying that the stand looks sleek and stylish and matches the screen itself perfectly.

The stand offers a full range of movement, as you’d expect with a 24in widescreen monitor. There screen can be raised and lowered vertically, and I have to say that I’ve never encountered a stand with better damping than this one – you really can slide the screen up and down with the pressure of a single finger. When you push the screen down to the very bottom of its movement it locks into place – there’s a button at the rear of the stand which will release it for vertical movement once more. If there’s one criticism it’s that I couldn’t set the screen as low as I would have liked.

The panning movement is every bit as smooth as the vertical movement, with the rubber feet on the stand keeping it clamped to the desk while the screen pans on the central column. The screen will also tilt forwards and backwards, helping ensure that you find that elusive, perfect viewing position.

Jesper G

August 20, 2008, 12:04 am

Ok Its 2008 now... Is this still the best 24" monitor around? Really?? I read the review about the Dell 2408WFP, it seems to have some small (?) afflictions. I can not find this monitor on Benq´s homepage. Is the FP241WZ an update of this one, with the same excellent performance? Please answer this question pleeeeeeeeeeeaaase!!!!

Hans Gruber

August 21, 2008, 4:56 am

Yes, it's the same model but with the improved 'black frame insertion' motion smear reducing model. so technically better. LCD tech suffers from persistence in pixel switching - ie - they can't quite change colour fast enough and so there's a faint ghosting left behind. Inserting a black frame (faster than the human eye can really detect) is meant to kill this light residue off a fair bit so fast moving action doesn't display ghost artifacts. I'm using the original but am a lot less than 100% impressed with it. It does however have very good colour reproduction, contrast, black level support and is mighty bright. I personally don't have any problem with the above ghosting described though it does affect some more than others, however for standard definition material (I view tv on the monitor at times too) it can suck big time, especially for sports. Watching the football is not do-able which is pretty disappointing for a 'perfect' monitor really.





I don't think BenQ's technical support division is up to much though. The first monitor I had had significant banding and in attempting to sort this (relatively minor) issue out, they sent me two duds (DOAs) and then a screen that's even worse than the one I started out with. On top of the colour banding I now have a nice under-the-screen dirt mark permanently smeared so it can't be cleaned off plus regular intermittent monitor black outs, which is a very disconcerting effect when you're busy playing an online game and people are trying their best to kill you.





The 10/10 score needs to be taken into context by the offerings of more recent models, and particularly by other manufacturers as I don't think BenQ have even matched this level of performance let alone beaten it. The new Dell's with a very wide colour gamut range look good (the higher price usually signifies greater specification).





I'm not completely unhappy about this monitor (who could be?) but BenQ really need to sort their technical repair sub-contractors out to get the credibility of a reliable company. I've fallen into melancholy since I'm aghast and now apathetic with their defective support department. Giving up is easier.

Jesper G

August 22, 2008, 4:19 pm

Thanks Azro!





"The 10/10 score needs to be taken into context by the offerings of more recent models, and particularly by other manufacturers as I don't think BenQ have even matched this level of performance let alone beaten it."





But I don't understand why the reviewers of this site keep referring back to this display as the one the other brands can not beat (see the recent review of the Dell 2408 for example)? Does not the newer offerings bring more to the table (wide gamut, new technology..) that puts this Benq display in the shade? I would like the reviewers comment on this as well. Two years in technology development is like normal millennium

Hans Gruber

August 23, 2008, 10:51 am

Best place to ask is in the TR forum, Jesper G. You can read through the (long) BenQ FP241W thread and weight the pros and cons yourself. I doubt you'd be unhappy with the monitor if you bought it, but that would rather depend on the price you paid.





http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/ar... TFT Central is a good place to go if you wish to get updated info on any popular TFT (LCD) monitor. Here I've linked you the Dell TR reviewed and note Dell have since issued two or more firmware revisions, updating the monitor's internal software and thus dealing with some of the issues the monitor was purported to display (pun slightly intended). The BenQ FP241W series were NOT problem free and pretty much had a million people griping about some issue (however significant) or other. There's a magnum opus of a thread over at the http://www.hardocp.com/ forums all about this monitor. I've recounted my own problems with it and you should not expect absolute perfection from a monitor unless you really go very high end indeed with an Eizo or similar with proper colour calibration built in.





It all depends on what you want your monitor for, a general do it all monitor like the Dell or BenQ or absolute colour accuracy as with NEC, Eizo et al's professional range. Scout about.

Msat

November 10, 2008, 6:58 pm

I have bought this monitor after reading the reviews here and it was a real dissapointment.


First it is so slow you can't really use it for gaming. I haven't had the chance to compare it with another LCD but as first impression, it's just too slow for gaming.


Second, as it comes out of the box, the contrast and brightness are so high, the picture is distorted. I had to put both brightness and contrast to 0 (zero) before I could start using it.


Third, it can not make a true red color. The red on this monitor is orange. So for graphics sucks.


And YES I have benn trying all kind of calibrations. It's just not it. I wouldn't give it more than 6 on a 1 to 10 scale.





Control buttons, are on a side so if you need to do adjustments on it you need to turn the screen so you can see the labels on the buttons. It's really inconvenient.








I am selling it and will go for a dell ultrabright. My laptop is a dell with ultrabright screen and it's a dream. If they made the 24" screens as good as the screen on my laptop, I'll be more than happy.

James 9

December 20, 2008, 10:52 pm

About two years ago I bought this monitor. I cannot afford to upgrade my PC so am going to get a PS3 / X-Box 360. As the monitor has no speakers, does anyone know how I can connect the screen (via HDMI) and my Logitec X-530 to, for example, a PS3; I have read about a Logitech games consol adapter which I do not have - would that still work as it was meant for the PS2?





Thanks,





James

Cros

January 14, 2009, 10:56 pm

James:


A PS3 can be set to output sound on a "regular" sound cable while still outputting video through HDMI. Video and sound settings are separate, so there would be no problem for you to get the sound through a regular PC sound system or similar.

Ian 10

March 10, 2009, 3:40 am

Hi,


I'm looking at getting a 24" widescreen with HDMI so that I can attach an Xbox 360 Elite as well as my PC to it. I was wondering how you reckon the BenQ FP241W shapes up against the NEC MultiSync 24WMGX3, and if there are any other alternative 24" monitors with HDMI.





Thanks


Ian

Vacationer

April 22, 2009, 10:54 am

I got BenQ FP241WZ - a bit newer model. As a photographer I can give 9 for image quality. I don't like tones in-between black and white and sometimes in-between some colour and white. On white side it's giving to you a some kind yellow tone. I'm not black and white photographer so it's not a big problem to me. I think for designers that ghostly yellow can be annoying too...


Full HD movies and games looks just stunning.


When I bought a monitor I paid 𧼮 and it's came faulty with some spot on the screen. I called to BENQ and it was changed in few days (15 days policy after purchasing).


I'm using monitor 8 - 12 hours a day and after almost 3 years I got on the screen some ghostly lines. There is a few some kind lines or liny mark on 2x5 inch area that you can see sometimes and very hardly. I see it maybe a few times a month when I'm working with pictures. I don't know causality of this failure but because it's almost not troubling me I'm don't bother about it.

comments powered by Disqus