Asus Eee PC 1000 - 40GB SSD Linux Edition - Asus Eee PC 1000

Andy Vandervell

By Andy Vandervell

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

So, bearing in mind that the Eee PC 1000 is everything that's good about the Eee PC 901 with nearly none of the drawbacks, is this the 10in netbook you should buy? In this instance it's only a qualified yes. It is, after all, superior to the Wind thanks largely to its battery life, but it's hard to escape the feeling that this isn't the version of the Eee PC 1000 you should be buying.

To begin with it's the most expensive Eee PC to date, with an SRP of £369. That's £40 more than the proposed price of the MSI Wind and £70 more than the 901 that Asus tells us now has an SRP of £299, less than the previously quoted £319. More importantly, however, it's £20 more than the 10in Windows Eee PC, the 1000(H), which has an SRP of £349.

Notwithstanding the extra durability of an SSD, the larger 80GB mechanical drive of the 1000(H) arguably suits the usage model of this larger form factor much better. If the 901 is perfect for casual computing, Internet browsing, listening to music and watching the occasional video, the 1000 and its larger keyboard and screen makes it ideal for more demanding users. Users that want to use it as their main computer outside the home and want to write large volumes of emails and documents as well as listen to music and watch videos. Such users are bound to gravitate toward the more capacious storage of the 1000(H) and are unlikely to pay more for an SDD, unless they're very careless.

Ultimately, less is not more, especially when it costs more to have it. Indeed, this configuration is likely to be further undermined by the Eee PC 904. This, just to confuse matters further, will be an 8.9in model but in the 10in chassis with speakers surrounding the screen, as with the original Eee PC 701. It'll run Windows, utilise an 80GB HDD but also like the original 701, use the 900MHz Intel Celeron CPU instead of the Atom. This is obviously a disadvantage but with an SRP of just £270 it'll be a compelling option and unlike Atom based versions, whose availability is patchy at best, is likely to be more readily available.

Verdict

Though excellent in almost every respect, the price is a little too dear given that the Windows XP version of the same machine will retail for £20 less and feature a larger hard drive. If you fancy the form factor over the 9in 901 and lust after SSD storage it will serve you exceedingly well, but at this price it's not the one we'd recommend buying.

Overall Score

8

Scores In Detail

  • Performance 9
  • Value 7
  • Features 9
  • Design 8

paul king

July 10, 2008, 12:22 pm

Yes the 40gb in linux going to be big i think as you can always format and install XP if you like. and powered by the New ATOM Processor and having wireless N land and bluetooth built in webcam i can not see the point in buying any higher priced notebooks for surfing checking email and internet. ive just placed me pre order at ASUS eeepc www.asusnotebooks.co.uk hopefully saying they will have me stock middle of JULY.





Ill comment again once fully tested and used see if it is the deal Paul King

Nadz

July 10, 2008, 2:01 pm

I wanted to ask, Is the Storage in the Eee pc 1000 a full 40GB SSD or is this split into a primary and secondary 8GBG and 32GB??

Andy Vandervell

July 10, 2008, 2:08 pm

It's split.

Spode

July 10, 2008, 2:12 pm

40GB is plenty of storage. Hell, I'm happy with the 4GB on the 7 series!





I think paying 㿀 to upgrade from hard drive to SSD is a reasonable price - much better than the Macbook Air upgrade.





Having playing with the MSI Wind - I find this form factor strays slightly from what was the original point of the EeePC - it was never meant to be a complete laptop. It'll be interesting to see if it's as easy to carry as the 7 series - which feels like I'm taking a book on the train.

Nadz

July 10, 2008, 2:13 pm

Do you know what the Sizes of each SSD are if they are split?

Nadz

July 10, 2008, 2:16 pm

Sorry again Andy, Ive read in other places that the secondary SSD used in both the 901 and the 1000 are not fast SSD's and when compared to the 1000H 80GB HDD there isn't much difference. Did you notice this? Or were you happy with the overall performance of the 1000?

Andy Vandervell

July 10, 2008, 2:53 pm

You'd be hard pressed to notice any real difference in my opinion. After all, these kinds of machines aren't really intended for their high performance, so any differences in that performance is near non-existant.

Skobbolop

July 10, 2008, 3:07 pm

love the bigger size keyboard, and this is really the form factor i've been waiting for. Hope it will be available in Denmark soon, though i doubt it :(





Can't decide wether to get the windows og linux version. the SSD isn't faster?. It's just more reliable?

Andy Vandervell

July 10, 2008, 3:11 pm

Yeah, that's about right and obviously it's smaller as well.

Nadz

July 10, 2008, 3:23 pm

Hi Andy, Did you manage to find out what sizes the primary and secondary SSD in the 1000??

Andy Vandervell

July 10, 2008, 3:28 pm

They're as you said, with 30GB free on one partition and 4GB free on the other after the OS.

mjaffk

July 10, 2008, 4:17 pm

'Split' means one can actually merge the two partitions and make it one? Anyways, having read this review, i think i'll opt for the 8.9in version. I really liked my times with Sony TR, 10.3" notebook feauturing, iirc, 1280x768 resolution. Having a 1024x768 at 10" in 2007 is just wrong! Smaller sizes and weights make 901 more student bag-friendly than anything else; an external monitor and keyboard will do for writing long texts and for all the finger-and-eye-consuming applications (at home i have an ancient tower w/ 17" crt which will also do).





P.S. I believe the wide chassis of 1000 would fit even 11 inches--note the large space wasted around the screen.





P.P.S. Andy, thanks for the review, it's awesome--as usual.

Andy Vandervell

July 10, 2008, 4:23 pm

Many thanks, clearly we're like minded too. :)

Skobbolop

July 10, 2008, 4:34 pm

I wouldn't mind a 8.9" Eee pc, but the larger keyboard is really important for me. During lectures and stuff I wanna be able to write relatively fast...





is it possible to change the harddrives later on?

Andy Vandervell

July 10, 2008, 4:55 pm

Can't see why not. There's still space for a 1.8 inch drive and it's easy enough to access.

Xiphias

July 10, 2008, 6:41 pm

The comparison shots are interesting but including a full sized keyboard (numpad-less would be best) for comparison would have made it easier to see how much of an improvement the wind/eee1000 was from the 901.

Diggerless

July 10, 2008, 9:23 pm

If I went for the Linux version, and then installed xp pro, would the Dolby Sound Room functionality still work, i.e. would the sound quality still be as good? Is it a software application too?

Nadz

July 11, 2008, 4:46 am

Hi Andy, If I was to install a 1.8" HDD would I need to remove the current 40GB SSD or can I have both in the 1000??

Maleraka

July 11, 2008, 11:13 pm

The asus website and press release for the new models (http://usa.asus.com/news_show.... shows that the 1000 can have up to 2GB RAM but I can't find any more information about this on other websites.





Would this extra memory really be worth it in this machine? Where can I find models that include it or is the RAM sold seperately?

Andy Vandervell

July 12, 2008, 3:46 pm

@Diggerless - Dolby Sound Room ONLY works on Windows XP, so yes that's the case. Sound quality will certainly be as good and even without Sound Room it is very good.





@Nadz - Yes, you would have to remove the 40GB SSD.





@ Maleraka - As far as I know there are no plans for 2GB models, so it would be an upgrade you'd have to do yourself. On Linux I don't think it would be worth it, but under Windows it may be useful if you're a heavy user.

mjaffk

July 16, 2008, 4:25 pm

And what about the eee 901? Is it possible to swap it's ssd drive for a 1.8 one?

Andy Vandervell

July 16, 2008, 5:58 pm

No, it's doesn't have the space as far as I'm aware.

Chris Philpot

July 17, 2008, 12:48 am

Au contraire - it's been done via a 1.8" ZIF drive using a nattily placed connector within the stock 901. Have a look at:





http://forum.eeeuser.com/viewt...





There's a very clear instructional video at some point in the thread, but perhaps it's best to read it through to see if it's for you. :-)

Richard 4

July 17, 2008, 4:40 pm

Hello, I have been looking to get get a new smaller laptop for a while now. I started looking at the Asus eee pc 900 series, then the 901 series and now the 1000, the only problem is that I need windows, and like a few comments on here about being a student and needing the bigger screen completely understand. Question is that do you think I will be able to install xp on there with no problems, I mean in the way that everything will still work? Of course after downloading all of the drivers from the web site, thanks.

Lilian

July 28, 2008, 1:49 pm

Does the EEE PC 1000 support WPA2 encryption? I need to enter a username and password in order to connect to the university network.

comments powered by Disqus