Asus Eee PC 1000 - 40GB SSD Linux Edition - Asus Eee PC 1000

Andy Vandervell

By Andy Vandervell


Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

Sticking to what's new, let's take a closer look at the keyboard. Even in this larger size there are still a few compromises to be endured. For example, whereas on the Wind the right Shift and cursor keys sat slightly further left than is typical, Asus continues to simply place the Shift key the other side of the Up key. Neither solution is ideal; withdrawn cursor keys would be the best option, but we're out of luck here. Asus' solution does have one benefit, however, as the full stop and comma keys aren't half-size, as they are on the Wind. Ultimately, each has their problems but they're ones you'll get used to in time.

What's more important is the general typing experience and if you want to use a netbook - presuming these even qualify - for more regular typing, the Eee PC 1000 should fit the bill nicely. Keys have a reasonable level of travel and response and are obviously larger and easier to type on. Unlike the Wind, the Eee PC has the left Ctrl key in the right place (i.e. outside the Fn key), but what it gives with one hand it takes with the other since the Return key isn't the large UK style one as on the Wind, but a smaller US type one. Overall, in the keyboard department both the Wind and Eee PC 1000 have their advantages and disadvantages, so they both come out fairly even.

This evenness is continued in the screen. It seems likely that both the Wind and the Eee PC 1000 use the same screen, but even if they don't there's little to choose between them. Here the screen is brighter than the Wind's and is also marginally brighter than the one used in the 901. Text is sharp and very readable even at small sizes and video looks fine. We'd add, too, that the larger size does (arguably) add a greater degree of viewing comfort, even if the actual resolution is exactly the same.

Audio was a particular strength of the 901 and this remains the case with the 1000. It still astounds exactly how good the speakers, which are hidden away beneath the front edge, really are. For such a small machine they reach indecent volumes and sound surprisingly rich; good enough that you'd happily listen to some music or watch a video without a set of headphones. In addition, if you opt for the Windows edition, you benefit from Dolby Sound Room and the virtual surround sound headphone technology it brings with it.

Other advantages include Draft-N WiFi and the custom Linux OS of the Eee PCs, which remains a simplistic joy to use. It creates a near non-existent barrier of entry for even novice users, coming with pretty much everything you need to start being productive immediately. Of course, when it comes to tinkering and customising it isn't quite as strong and this is a consideration, particularly for the potential "power user".

Speaking of "power users", one thing they'll continue to enjoy in the Eee PC 1000 is superb battery life. Asus has made the six-cell 6600mAh battery, first seen in the 901, standard across the range and though the screen is slightly larger, we still managed just over four and a half hours on a single charge with wireless enabled and brightness set to the maximum allowed. Were one to turn off all wireless radios you should be able to achieve results in excess of five hours and these figures currently blow all competition out of the water.

Previous page
Next page

paul king

July 10, 2008, 12:22 pm

Yes the 40gb in linux going to be big i think as you can always format and install XP if you like. and powered by the New ATOM Processor and having wireless N land and bluetooth built in webcam i can not see the point in buying any higher priced notebooks for surfing checking email and internet. ive just placed me pre order at ASUS eeepc hopefully saying they will have me stock middle of JULY.

Ill comment again once fully tested and used see if it is the deal Paul King


July 10, 2008, 2:01 pm

I wanted to ask, Is the Storage in the Eee pc 1000 a full 40GB SSD or is this split into a primary and secondary 8GBG and 32GB??

Andy Vandervell

July 10, 2008, 2:08 pm

It's split.


July 10, 2008, 2:12 pm

40GB is plenty of storage. Hell, I'm happy with the 4GB on the 7 series!

I think paying 㿀 to upgrade from hard drive to SSD is a reasonable price - much better than the Macbook Air upgrade.

Having playing with the MSI Wind - I find this form factor strays slightly from what was the original point of the EeePC - it was never meant to be a complete laptop. It'll be interesting to see if it's as easy to carry as the 7 series - which feels like I'm taking a book on the train.


July 10, 2008, 2:13 pm

Do you know what the Sizes of each SSD are if they are split?


July 10, 2008, 2:16 pm

Sorry again Andy, Ive read in other places that the secondary SSD used in both the 901 and the 1000 are not fast SSD's and when compared to the 1000H 80GB HDD there isn't much difference. Did you notice this? Or were you happy with the overall performance of the 1000?

Andy Vandervell

July 10, 2008, 2:53 pm

You'd be hard pressed to notice any real difference in my opinion. After all, these kinds of machines aren't really intended for their high performance, so any differences in that performance is near non-existant.


July 10, 2008, 3:07 pm

love the bigger size keyboard, and this is really the form factor i've been waiting for. Hope it will be available in Denmark soon, though i doubt it :(

Can't decide wether to get the windows og linux version. the SSD isn't faster?. It's just more reliable?

Andy Vandervell

July 10, 2008, 3:11 pm

Yeah, that's about right and obviously it's smaller as well.


July 10, 2008, 3:23 pm

Hi Andy, Did you manage to find out what sizes the primary and secondary SSD in the 1000??

Andy Vandervell

July 10, 2008, 3:28 pm

They're as you said, with 30GB free on one partition and 4GB free on the other after the OS.


July 10, 2008, 4:17 pm

'Split' means one can actually merge the two partitions and make it one? Anyways, having read this review, i think i'll opt for the 8.9in version. I really liked my times with Sony TR, 10.3" notebook feauturing, iirc, 1280x768 resolution. Having a 1024x768 at 10" in 2007 is just wrong! Smaller sizes and weights make 901 more student bag-friendly than anything else; an external monitor and keyboard will do for writing long texts and for all the finger-and-eye-consuming applications (at home i have an ancient tower w/ 17" crt which will also do).

P.S. I believe the wide chassis of 1000 would fit even 11 inches--note the large space wasted around the screen.

P.P.S. Andy, thanks for the review, it's awesome--as usual.

Andy Vandervell

July 10, 2008, 4:23 pm

Many thanks, clearly we're like minded too. :)


July 10, 2008, 4:34 pm

I wouldn't mind a 8.9" Eee pc, but the larger keyboard is really important for me. During lectures and stuff I wanna be able to write relatively fast...

is it possible to change the harddrives later on?

Andy Vandervell

July 10, 2008, 4:55 pm

Can't see why not. There's still space for a 1.8 inch drive and it's easy enough to access.


July 10, 2008, 6:41 pm

The comparison shots are interesting but including a full sized keyboard (numpad-less would be best) for comparison would have made it easier to see how much of an improvement the wind/eee1000 was from the 901.


July 10, 2008, 9:23 pm

If I went for the Linux version, and then installed xp pro, would the Dolby Sound Room functionality still work, i.e. would the sound quality still be as good? Is it a software application too?


July 11, 2008, 4:46 am

Hi Andy, If I was to install a 1.8" HDD would I need to remove the current 40GB SSD or can I have both in the 1000??


July 11, 2008, 11:13 pm

The asus website and press release for the new models ( shows that the 1000 can have up to 2GB RAM but I can't find any more information about this on other websites.

Would this extra memory really be worth it in this machine? Where can I find models that include it or is the RAM sold seperately?

Andy Vandervell

July 12, 2008, 3:46 pm

@Diggerless - Dolby Sound Room ONLY works on Windows XP, so yes that's the case. Sound quality will certainly be as good and even without Sound Room it is very good.

@Nadz - Yes, you would have to remove the 40GB SSD.

@ Maleraka - As far as I know there are no plans for 2GB models, so it would be an upgrade you'd have to do yourself. On Linux I don't think it would be worth it, but under Windows it may be useful if you're a heavy user.


July 16, 2008, 4:25 pm

And what about the eee 901? Is it possible to swap it's ssd drive for a 1.8 one?

Andy Vandervell

July 16, 2008, 5:58 pm

No, it's doesn't have the space as far as I'm aware.

Chris Philpot

July 17, 2008, 12:48 am

Au contraire - it's been done via a 1.8" ZIF drive using a nattily placed connector within the stock 901. Have a look at:

There's a very clear instructional video at some point in the thread, but perhaps it's best to read it through to see if it's for you. :-)

Richard 4

July 17, 2008, 4:40 pm

Hello, I have been looking to get get a new smaller laptop for a while now. I started looking at the Asus eee pc 900 series, then the 901 series and now the 1000, the only problem is that I need windows, and like a few comments on here about being a student and needing the bigger screen completely understand. Question is that do you think I will be able to install xp on there with no problems, I mean in the way that everything will still work? Of course after downloading all of the drivers from the web site, thanks.


July 28, 2008, 1:49 pm

Does the EEE PC 1000 support WPA2 encryption? I need to enter a username and password in order to connect to the university network.

comments powered by Disqus